MacGurus Technical Forums     Free Shipping on Burlys            
Free Shipping            
Burly Port Multiplier - Burly Firewire - Burly Dual PM
Online Store About Us Store Policy Home

Store Index

Memory
 MacGurus RAM
 MacPro Upgrade

SATA (Serial ATA)
 Host Cards
 Burly Enclosures
 Cables
 Hard Drives
Thunderbolt
 Thunderbolt Storage
USB
 USB 3.0 Storage
Solid State Drives
 Crucial SSD
RAID
 iStoragePro SAS RAID
 Quad Interface RAID
SuperDrive
 Burly DVD-R Burner
 DVD Burner
SCSI
 SCSI-Firewire Adapters
 Cables
FireWire
 Single Drive Enclosures
 Multi Drive Enclosures
 Host Cards
 FW 400 Cables
 FW 800 Cables
Enclosure Parts
 Burly Parts
Hard Drives
 SATA Hard Drives
 Notebook Hard Drives
MacBooks
 Express34 Cards
 Momentus Drives
Special Deals
 Specials&Closeouts


Rick’s Blogs
 USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt
 SATA III
 Burly Maintenance
 Why a Burly?


Tech Guides

Guides to Acceleration
 Building a Photo Database
 Storage Acceleration
 Photoshop Acceleration.pdf

Storage Guides
 DeskTop Drive Setup
 Preparing New Drives
 Move Users 10.5 - 10.6

Port Multiplication Guide
Roll Your Own SATA
Hot Swap SATA Guide
Motherboard Layouts

Go Back   MacGurus Technical Forums > The Beginning > Repair and Troubleshooting Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2012, 05:16 PM
boardmanvideo boardmanvideo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default Drives are unmounting themselves somehow

I have 3 Burly Enclosures with barracudas (1tb and 2tb). All are JBOD.
For over a year i've had no problems of drives unmounting/ejecting themselves.
Now I have 2 drives that unmount on a regular basis. Swapped cables, swapped slots/enclosures. I have not tried hooking up to firewire enclosure since somehow I stripped the darn screws. Yeah I know I'm an idiot.
I'm trying to backup the 2 drives but it fails during copy due to unmount.

Anybody have the same problem?


OSX 10.6.8
PCI 1095 controller with latest driver
Energy Saver (Don't put drives to sleep) Video Editor


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2012, 06:38 PM
ricks's Avatar
ricks ricks is offline
Guru Forum Ruler
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grangeville, ID USA
Posts: 8,434
Default

How interesting - if it was systemic it would be a problem with all the drives. It is just these 2 drives that dismount? And they have dismounted even when they are installed in a different bay, a drive bay where you don't ever see a problem?

First, make sure the eSATA card is in slot 3 or 4 - not slot 2.

Open Apple System Profiler, go to Extensions under Software and make certain that the driver for the card is correct. It should read SiliconImage3124u.kext version 2.1.4

It may be worth the effort to take those two drives out of their trays and install in the internal MacPro trays. Worth it to see if the issue is the drives themselves.

Thanks for posting. We'll figure it out.


Rick
__________________
Molôn Labé!

"I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin


MacPro 8 Core Westmere, pair of 23 inch Cinema and a LogiTech Laser moose
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2012, 02:38 AM
boardmanvideo boardmanvideo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default

The card is in slot 4 and the driver is 2.1.4

No other cards except the graphic display.

I suspected the drives right off the bat.

Most of the media is already backed up so I'm not panicking yet.

I really need to get the the drives out of the tray and mount them somewhere else. Just like you said.

I have no idea how those 4 screws got so tight. I might have to tap them out.

Thanks for your help.


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2012, 11:45 AM
ricks's Avatar
ricks ricks is offline
Guru Forum Ruler
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grangeville, ID USA
Posts: 8,434
Default

Hope you are having good luck with the screws. Be a real pain to strip the philips slots.
__________________
Molôn Labé!

"I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin


MacPro 8 Core Westmere, pair of 23 inch Cinema and a LogiTech Laser moose
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2012, 06:10 AM
boardmanvideo boardmanvideo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Now it seems I have 2 other drives that are unmounting. After rendering all night I found 2 new drives in the same enclosure are unmounting.
I noticed the left indicator light in the tray is lit up on 3 drives now.
Could I have a failing slots within a enclosure? It is over 3 years old I believe.


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-01-2012, 09:25 AM
ricks's Avatar
ricks ricks is offline
Guru Forum Ruler
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grangeville, ID USA
Posts: 8,434
Default

The only way I know to test is to remove all the drives from the enclosure. Then take one known good drive and test each drive bay one at a time. Keep things simple. Insert in bay 1, test, dismount and move to bay 2 and so on.

One other thing to try. Reset the firmware on the Port Multiplier board inside the Burly. With it shutdown, pull the cover off the enclosure, then unplug the power connector from the PM board, wait 5 seconds and plug it back in. This is the yellow, red and 2 black wires with a white connector.

Rick
__________________
Molôn Labé!

"I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin


MacPro 8 Core Westmere, pair of 23 inch Cinema and a LogiTech Laser moose
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2012, 09:52 AM
boardmanvideo boardmanvideo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks Rick, I'll both suggestions. What does the left light indicator mean?


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2012, 11:55 AM
ricks's Avatar
ricks ricks is offline
Guru Forum Ruler
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grangeville, ID USA
Posts: 8,434
Default

Green light is just power. Amber light is drive activity.

Drive activity gets its signal direct from the drives in Burlys made since 2007. At that time SATAII drives came out and activity was added to the drive. Different model/firmware drives will send different signals to the lights. They are a good indicator of what might be happening only if they change from the normal behavior for that particular drive. Mixing drives can give different light behavior is the only point.

Rick
__________________
Molôn Labé!

"I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin


MacPro 8 Core Westmere, pair of 23 inch Cinema and a LogiTech Laser moose
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-2012, 01:34 PM
boardmanvideo boardmanvideo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks Rick. I'll run some tests tonight and let you know.


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-14-2012, 07:02 AM
marrand marrand is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: maryland
Posts: 504
Default

Saw this in macworld today, but didn't know where to insert my questions.

Is it true that external drive slows down the mac when it spins up?

What does it mean to "eject" an external drive, say FW in a Burly? I understand unmount, but eject?? Does it stop spinning?


MacPro 5,1 6core Westmere 2012, 10GB Ram, SnowLeopard 10.6.8 on SSD, many apps; 3 bays full. G4 MDD 1.25 dual, 10.4.11, many apps, 2 bays full. G3 DT, 500MB Ram, OS9.1.1
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-14-2012, 07:50 AM
Damien's Avatar
Damien Damien is offline
Guru Forum Ruler
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Indiana's token liberal
Posts: 2,754
Default

Unmount and eject are the same thing as far as I know.

And yes if you have a drive mounted but spun down it will slow the mac down while it waits for that drive to spin up. The Mac seems to want to spin up a drive for any/every reason too.
__________________
Damien,


Core I7 Mini, 512GB SSD/2x Core2 Duo Mac Mini/PowerMac 8500g3/B&W G3 with G4 500 processor, iPhone, iPad
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-14-2012, 10:25 PM
unclemac's Avatar
unclemac unclemac is offline
Guru Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: on the landline, Mr. Smith
Posts: 7,467
Default

I have always assumed that the OS waits to check/access a drive while it mounts....and it has to spin up first, so there is a pause while the drive spins and then mounts.

Just part of the Finder. As an example, back before 10.6, if you clicked on a broken link to server or network share, the Finder would send out a search party for 120 seconds. Spinning wheel when while it searched. Only way to stop it was to force quit the Finder. Apple finally changed it, so now it looks in the background......and you don't have to stare at the beach ball for 2 minutes.

Seems as though the Finder waiting to access a mounting drive is similar, though not nearly as bad.
__________________
"Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin


Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-15-2012, 03:14 AM
Damien's Avatar
Damien Damien is offline
Guru Forum Ruler
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Indiana's token liberal
Posts: 2,754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unclemac View Post
Seems as though the Finder waiting to access a mounting drive is similar, though not nearly as bad.
That's basically it. How bad it is depends on how slow your drive spins up. Ejecting the mounted drive (even if you don't turn it off) solves this during usage but it will still perform the same behavior at shutdown... your mac spins up the drive so it can shut it down.
__________________
Damien,


Core I7 Mini, 512GB SSD/2x Core2 Duo Mac Mini/PowerMac 8500g3/B&W G3 with G4 500 processor, iPhone, iPad
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2011 MacGurus
All Rights Reserved