MacGurus Technical Forums     Free Shipping on Burlys            
Free Shipping            
Online Store About Us Store Policy Home

Go Back   MacGurus Technical Forums > The Beginning > Repair and Troubleshooting Tips

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2011, 12:47 PM
jkbrode jkbrode is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Default Unmountable Harddrive

I could seriously use some help with sorting out how to get access to my old macpro hard drive.

I had a ton of problems with my old drive and swapped a new drive from my other pro hoping to be able to swap some of the files across to the new clean drive. Now I have no way to mount the old drive and get the files I need.

I tried it in the second bay and now have an SATA cable and none of my macs can see the drive at all.

Is it a mounting problem? IS there any diagnostic software that I can use to recover the files?

I can clean the drive when I get a few things but I need the files.

Any help is greatly appreciated.


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2011, 01:56 PM
rwm's Avatar
rwm rwm is offline
Guru Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NW Montana
Posts: 8,073
Default

It sounds like the hard drive might have been going bad when you swapped it out. Maybe not. How is your Macbook pro working with the new drive? What was the other drive doing/acting? crashes? slow? any grinding noise?

Do you have any external cases to put the drive in. Like FW our USB. How much data is on the drive?

Do you know what TDM Target Disk Mode is? This is often a good way to "grab data"

There should be ideas and some options. The less you mess with it until attempting data retrival the better. Trust me. I got in a hurry and killed a drive that was slowly working... but working.


2.9GHz QuadCore i5, 21.5" iMac, 8GB RAM, 1TB Fusion Drive, 1st gen iTouch dead Dual 1.6 Giga an IcyDock and my Guru's Burly
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2011, 02:33 PM
ricks's Avatar
ricks ricks is online now
Guru Forum Ruler
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grangeville, ID USA
Posts: 8,631
Default

Need more information.

Both drives are now inside your MacPro?

You are now booted to a drive that came out of another MacPro?

If you run Disk Utility does it see both drives?



Rick
__________________
Molôn Labé!

"I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin


2013 MacPro, Areca 5026 Thunderbolt RAID, pair of 23 inch Cinema and a LogiTech Anywhere MX laser moose
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2011, 02:36 PM
rwm's Avatar
rwm rwm is offline
Guru Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NW Montana
Posts: 8,073
Default

Quote:
Is it a mounting problem? IS there any diagnostic software that I can use to recover the files?
Hopefully it will. Diagnostic software is usually for drive "repair" actual data "recovery" can be expensive.

Hopefully between FW, USB or TDM you can get your data. How are you attempting to access the first or problem drive?


2.9GHz QuadCore i5, 21.5" iMac, 8GB RAM, 1TB Fusion Drive, 1st gen iTouch dead Dual 1.6 Giga an IcyDock and my Guru's Burly
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2011 MacGurus
All Rights Reserved