MacGurus Technical Forums     Free Shipping on Burlys            
Free Shipping            
Online Store About Us Store Policy Home

Go Back   MacGurus Technical Forums > General Hardware and Software Discussions > RAID

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2009, 07:36 PM
schalliol's Avatar
schalliol schalliol is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Bloomington, IN, USA
Posts: 226
Default Pull Out MBP Optical Replace With HD for RAID 0?

I have a late 2008 15" unibody MBP (2.8GHz) with a 320@72 and a 48GB ExpressCard SSD. I use the SSD as the boot volume, and it seems a bunch faster than the HDD. I almost never use my optical drive and my laptop's data is backed up whenever I'm on network. Does anyone know if I can remove the optical drive and put in another HDD for a RAID? I assume since they're both SATA the answer is yes, but I'd have to figure out how to mount it mount it. Ideas?


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2009, 08:45 PM
unclemac's Avatar
unclemac unclemac is offline
Guru Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: on the landline, Mr. Smith
Posts: 7,585
Default

Yes!
__________________
"Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2009, 08:56 PM
schalliol's Avatar
schalliol schalliol is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Bloomington, IN, USA
Posts: 226
Default

Wow, that is AWESOME. Thanks!


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2009, 12:28 PM
rwm's Avatar
rwm rwm is offline
Guru Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NW Montana
Posts: 8,073
Cool That's really cool

I agree it's never seen that. Thanks, Unc


2.9GHz QuadCore i5, 21.5" iMac, 8GB RAM, 1TB Fusion Drive, 1st gen iTouch dead Dual 1.6 Giga an IcyDock and my Guru's Burly
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2009, 12:32 PM
schalliol's Avatar
schalliol schalliol is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Bloomington, IN, USA
Posts: 226
Default

Yeah. I'm torn. Right now I am really enjoying using the expresscard as the startup and application volume, and I am debating whether it makes sense to put in another matching Hitachi 7200 320GB drive and RAID 0 it for documents or do something else. I really like the seek times of SSDs, but getting a pair of SSDs would be really expensive. My documents aren't that huge on the road, but I still find I wait on the drive. Hmmmmmm....


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2009, 12:21 PM
schalliol's Avatar
schalliol schalliol is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Bloomington, IN, USA
Posts: 226
Default

Ok, so I'm going to do it. I'm going to put in a 500GB Segate 7200 and pair that with the Hitachi 320 7200 I already have in RAID 0 with SoftRAID. I know I should balance the drives, but this way I'll have another volume available I can use for Windows boot camp in case that proves useful. I backup regularly, so I'm not too worried about the increased risk from the stripe. I'll keep the ExpressCard SSD as a backup and am trying to think the best move for that. Ultimately I think the RAID 0 between these two drives will outperform the SSD (certainly in sustained activities). Thanks!


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2011 MacGurus
All Rights Reserved