MacGurus Technical Forums     Free Shipping on Burlys            
Free Shipping            
Online Store About Us Store Policy Home

Go Back   MacGurus Technical Forums > General Hardware and Software Discussions > SATA and eSATA

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2012, 02:31 PM
Disc2 Disc2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 306
Default Solid State Drive file transfer

Hi, I'm just wondering if this cable thats included in the photo (below) can transfer everything from the computer to the SSD without any power supply? Does it work like a flash card when connected to a usb? Thanks
Attached Images
 


G4/D1.0-OS10.3marathon-1.5gb, G4/D1.42-OS10.4.3-1gb, G4/D1.25, OS10.3.9-1gb
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-2012, 03:54 PM
ricks's Avatar
ricks ricks is offline
Guru Forum Ruler
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grangeville, ID USA
Posts: 8,631
Default

Yes. Gets its power from USB.

R
__________________
Molôn Labé!

"I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin


2013 MacPro, Areca 5026 Thunderbolt RAID, pair of 23 inch Cinema and a LogiTech Anywhere MX laser moose
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-12-2012, 09:12 PM
unclemac's Avatar
unclemac unclemac is offline
Guru Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: on the landline, Mr. Smith
Posts: 7,582
Default

Should work with most any 2.5 drive. Never used this one, but other USB bridges.
__________________
"Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-12-2012, 09:17 PM
Damien's Avatar
Damien Damien is offline
Guru Forum Ruler
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Indiana's token liberal
Posts: 2,894
Default

How much data do you need to transfer?

Is there no chance of getting an SATA connection? If you are transferring several hundred GB's it could save you hours of waiting
__________________
Damien,


Core I7 Mini, 512GB SSD/2x Core2 Duo Mac Mini/PowerMac 8500g3/B&W G3 with G4 500 processor, iPhone, iPad
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-12-2012, 09:21 PM
Damien's Avatar
Damien Damien is offline
Guru Forum Ruler
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Indiana's token liberal
Posts: 2,894
Default

If this also refers to your other thread why don't you connect the SSD inside the MacPro transfer your files and then remove it to take to the mini
__________________
Damien,


Core I7 Mini, 512GB SSD/2x Core2 Duo Mac Mini/PowerMac 8500g3/B&W G3 with G4 500 processor, iPhone, iPad
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2011 MacGurus
All Rights Reserved