MacGurus Technical Forums     Free Shipping on Burlys            
Free Shipping            
Burly Port Multiplier - Burly Firewire - Burly Dual PM
Online Store About Us Store Policy Home

Store Index

Memory
 MacGurus RAM
 MacPro Upgrade

SATA (Serial ATA)
 Host Cards
 Burly Enclosures
 Cables
 Hard Drives
Thunderbolt
 Thunderbolt Storage
USB
 USB 3.0 Storage
Solid State Drives
 Crucial SSD
RAID
 iStoragePro SAS RAID
 Quad Interface RAID
SuperDrive
 Burly DVD-R Burner
 DVD Burner
SCSI
 SCSI-Firewire Adapters
 Cables
FireWire
 Single Drive Enclosures
 Multi Drive Enclosures
 Host Cards
 FW 400 Cables
 FW 800 Cables
Enclosure Parts
 Burly Parts
Hard Drives
 SATA Hard Drives
 Notebook Hard Drives
MacBooks
 Express34 Cards
 Momentus Drives
Special Deals
 Specials&Closeouts


Rick’s Blogs
 USB 3.0 & Thunderbolt
 SATA III
 Burly Maintenance
 Why a Burly?


Tech Guides

Guides to Acceleration
 Building a Photo Database
 Storage Acceleration
 Photoshop Acceleration.pdf

Storage Guides
 DeskTop Drive Setup
 Preparing New Drives
 Move Users 10.5 - 10.6

Port Multiplication Guide
Roll Your Own SATA
Hot Swap SATA Guide
Motherboard Layouts

Go Back   MacGurus Technical Forums > General Hardware and Software Discussions > RAID

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-30-2011, 06:10 PM
Min Min is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
Default New to MacRaid / MacRaid + Burlys

ok... i just picked up a new used macpro 5,1 with Lion (which I havent used before) that has a raid card and 4 1tb drives. Nothing appears to be raided together. I assume I can set that up through the raid utility... Im thinking I'll raid 2 of the drives together for a scratch disk. I work from my Burlys. I would welcome any other suggestions as to the best way to use the raids

The bigger question I have is, are there any issues with Lion and the Burlys? I plan to pull my Tempo E4P card from my older mac to hook up my 2 bay and 5 bay Burlys... am I right to expect no issues with the Burlys and an internal raid?

thx


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-30-2011, 06:44 PM
ricks's Avatar
ricks ricks is offline
Guru Forum Ruler
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grangeville, ID USA
Posts: 8,434
Default

You will have no issue, as far as compatibility with running multiple RAID types.

Can't help you with the Apple RAID card much as I never thought it was useful to build a RAID like that using the internal drives.. In my opinion, you need one drive that is not in RAID as a boot drive, and you need an identical drive as its backup. That takes up 2 of the internal slots. There are some who will set up a RAID 5 with the Apple RAID card and run the internal RAID volume as a server, with data and boot volume all on the same RAID5 drives. That setup doesn't seem to me to carry over well to a single user workstation and give any performance gains for the costs.

That's all just opinion, your results and choices will depend on what you want the RAID to do for you. You may have some needs I hadn't considered. We are always happy to help figure it out with you.

Rick
__________________
Molôn Labé!

"I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin


MacPro 8 Core Westmere, pair of 23 inch Cinema and a LogiTech Laser moose
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-30-2011, 11:53 PM
unclemac's Avatar
unclemac unclemac is offline
Guru Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: on the landline, Mr. Smith
Posts: 7,467
Default

Having set up several Mac Pros with the Apple RAID card, I can say I really like it, both hardware and their software interface. Used the RAID 5 option for the best compromise of a single large share, good performance, and some drive failure protection. As I recall, last box I tested, I was getting about 400MB/s throughput with 4 1TB HDs in a single RAID 5 config. No complaints.

Having said that, I don't think the card is worth the price to a do a couple simple stripes and/or mirrors, which can be had for free via software (Disk Utility) with no performance costs, overhead, etc. Though not common, should you have a problem with a RAID 5 array, there is little chance of recovery......so be sure you backup early and often. RAIDs (all of them....) are not a backup!

If you don't want or need a RAID 5, pull the card and sell it. New they run $700ish, so ought to fetch at least half that, if not more.
__________________
"Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2011 MacGurus
All Rights Reserved