Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Cheetah in a 7300

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    178

    Default

    Hi, I've been offered a 9.2g Cheetah (10,000rpm) for my 7300. At present it has a 2gb standard drive - what am I going to have to add to fit this into the machine and can I keep both drives fitted?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
    Posts
    1,333

    Default

    You will need a Miles2 card since the Cheetah is likely an LVD model. That will include SoftRAID and the appropriate internal cable. You will also need a drive sled and some screws so that you can put it in to the lower bay in your machine (I'm assuming that you only have the stock hard drive + CD-ROM + floppy on that machine)

    Chris

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    178

    Default

    Thanks once again Chris, unfortunately I am not going to have any spare slots for another card so I guess I am going to have to pass this one up. Could you advise what the best option for an additional internal scsi drive would be?
    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
    Posts
    1,333

    Default

    Bummer - ...

    well - your next best shot is the narrow 'Cuda that the 'Gurus have...model:ST318417N
    http://www.macgurus.com/shoppingcart...dseagates.html

    that would be plug and play right into your lower bay - just make sure that your SCSI ID doesn't conflict with either your CD-ROM, or your original drive (use Apple System Profiler to get the current settings) and also ensure that your LAST device is terminated.. This should be easy since the stock drive is at the end of the chain so just make sure termination is off on your new one.

    Just be sure to get a real narrow drive and not a SCA drive, the pitfalls of which are legion...

    Chris

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    178

    Default

    Chris, thanks for the advice - does this mean that a Fujitsu 9.1gb SCA drive with an 80 to 50 pin adaptor should be avoided?
    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, CANADA
    Posts
    1,333

    Default

    General consensus on the forum is to avoid the SCA + adapter route if at all possible. Even if the drives were free, you still have to buy a GOOD adapter (as opposed to a generic one) and you may still run into problems...

    Better off going for the narrow Barracuda, IMO

    HTH

    Chris

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    178

    Default

    Ok, you win, many thanks for saving me from myself!!

    Best wishes

    Tony

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    wherever I hang my hat
    Posts
    3,575

    Default

    couldn't agree more.

    I wish vendors would stop flogging SCA drives to the clueless masses.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    178

    Default

    Is this deprecating response aimed at me or the sellers?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    693

    Default

    The sellers. If you do a search for SCA drives on the Forums, you will see that we have advised and consoled about 20 people in the past few months who were working with SCA drives that they either got on eBay, secondhand, or were sold outright.

    We want to help you with what you've got, and we just hate SCA drives b/c of all the hassle associated with them and the havoc they create when people retail them without mentioning that they are old, crappy, and designed for hot-swappable server setups.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    178

    Default

    Thank you.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Default

    ...which is why I stopped sending people to one seller. They look for "narrow" drives and get SCA or 68-pin to narrow adapters - and very few "real" narrow drives. It needs to be in bold red when they do (at least hypermicro systems does when they do).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •