Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: B&W G3 keeps crashing...toss it or upgrade?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    arlington,vermont
    Posts
    826

    Default

    My kids have an old B&W G3 500 and it is $100 stock but for a pair of Ramjet 256MB pc100 CL2 chips. problem is it freezes all the time...curser locks up and they need to hot the restart button..it has bever been a rock solid machine but it is much less stable in osX than in os9. Right now it is running panther. I have tried many combination of ram and it is equally unstable with all of them, so i am not trying to decide what to do. I could replace the HD and or CPU...and or ram. or am I better off starting fresh with something else?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Is it upgraded with a 500mhz zif, or overclocked to 500mhz? That could be the source of your problems. If so, set it back to stock setting; also, any other PCI cards, peripherals attached? Make sure firmware, etc. is up to date. It's still a good machine-don't toss it yet

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Default

    Run DIMM First Aid in OS 9. See that all the RAM is identical, CAS2 Latency and all of it is 8 ns (125 MHz) PC100, and not a mix. When in doubt, look up the memory finder at Crucial for any Mac model. B&W is fusyy, and Panther the most of any. I think Apple now uses more of the memory, and is also doing compression of idle cache for files and windows. Compression os system memory is common, very efficient, but puts even more burden so that any RAM that was marginal may fail. OS 9 rarely used all the RAM all the time.

    Other Macs that had no trouble now find themselves with BAD RAM issues as well, so its across the board.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    arlington,vermont
    Posts
    826

    Default

    I think you hit something...I did find a link to the "jumper block mod" on xlr8 your mac" page and my speed jumper pin is set to 3 ( which is 500mhz) If I can find a way to move it to 4 I would be at (450mhz and may get to the bottom of this problem. I do not have anythign small enough right now to pull the jumper...but tomorrow I should be able to get a bunch of new jumpers to set it where it should go. I'll keep you posted.

    [This message was edited by tm311 on Tue December 23, 2003 PT at 20:28.]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,125

    Default

    ?Sounds like time to get Classic running? Dimm First Aid is THE way to figure out ram and Classic is just a few minutes away from being able to run. And 10 NS PC100 ram causes more crashes and corruption issues on the B&W than any other factor.

    ?Here's the page at xlr8 on the jumper settings for your B&W.

    Rick

    Quis Custodiet Custodes Ipsos?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    arlington,vermont
    Posts
    826

    Default

    I do have some pc133 ram floating around at work..I will try that? I treid for 10 minutes to get ramjet to sell me faster ram when I bought this computer...grrrrrrrrrrr! Thanks for the help Rick..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •