Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 733 Where can I buy one?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Dalton MA, USA
    Posts
    66

    Default

    I am in the market for a new G4 probably the 733 or 800...Are there any 733s for retail anywhere.. I have seen a bunch on EBAy but would much rather by from a store....Also I have been told to wait a few weeks on buying a G4 because prices are going to drop because the of new releases...Is this valid or am I just wasting time.

    Nick

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Default

    Take a look, someone on this forum just bought a 800 and had trouble finding anything out there. Amazon has had some and prices don't look excellent right now. When Apple has had some ref'd units, they go in a day. If you can afford to wait, do so, even older models will start to show up as users 'trade-up' and sell their current models.

    I'd look at the new low end model but no one knows exactly when.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Something to think about i- if your needs require L2 and L3 cache use - the 733 has no level 3 cache. So if your programs use L2, L3 caches get big en's. I wish I would have waited a bit - got my QS733 in Feb. - but I am really happy.

    You'll Have fun.
    Randy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    109

    Default

    check out:
    http://www.smalldog.com http://www.powermax.com
    both have refurbed sections

    subscribe to: http://dealmac.com/

    checkout my post: http://www.macgurus.com/ubb/Forum21/HTML/000299.html

    Snag that puppy when you find it!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Sam\'s Clamdisco, CA
    Posts
    254

    Default

    If you are (or are good friends with) a student, the QS 733 is still available in the Apple education store.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Dalton MA, USA
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Well, I v'e found a 733 and a 800 the difference between the two is $200. I s it worth me spending the extra $200 for the 800mhz..we'll I even see a difference. I will primarily be working w/ Digidesigns ProTools and all I want is more plugin power...will 66mhz help that much...Any feedback is appreciated as always.

    NIck

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Do you know if the 800 has a bigger cache or a L2 and L3 cache that the 733 is lacking? It speeds things up. I can't find my link with those specs.. I will keep looking. If it has the L3 cache and a few more MHz I would spend 200 more bucks. 200 Bucks is mo RAM?

    Someone else might know if your "Digidesigns ProTools" apps would even make a differernce between the 2 machines. Each application is written differenty and may vary as to the effectiveness of it. I guess if the computer has the "basic needs" you should be good.

    my 2 cents
    Randy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    OK - Just found this at Apple. http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=43155 It says there is no L3 caxhe. So it is a MHz issue now.

    Good luck
    Randy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Dalton MA, USA
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Well,
    I settled for a 733 from Apple'S Education Store.. From the benchmarks tests for ProTools...it doesn't seem that 66mhz more makes that much of a difference...I'll put that $200 towards Ram...and why is Apples Ram so expensive $140 for 256mb is there something special about it? Anyways thanks for the help

    Nick

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •