Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Semi-Hot Rodding a 7200/120

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    169

    Default

    Ok, I have a 7200/120 here, and will accelerate.
    I have a Voodoo3 3000 PCI collecting dust, four 64MB FPM DIMMs, and a 2GB Quantum Fireball in it, and another one of those in my 8600/200 I can pull. I also have SoftRAID. Any lowly SCSI card I can hook these onto (7200 only has 5MB/sec SCSI bus) ? And for processor upgrades, all there is the $299 Sonnet 7200 upgrade (I paid that price for my 450Mhz Powerlogix G4 for my 8600!), so I may just find 1MB L2 cache somewhere and pop that in. Any other Semi-Hot rodding ideas for this lowly 7200/120?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    arlington,vermont
    Posts
    826

    Default

    Check with mark at softraid regarding the raid of 2 gig HD's if that is what you are thinking...i don't think it is recomended.....as for Hot roding.have you considered upgrading the Motherboard to a 7500? Its much cleaner upgrade path.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    936

    Default

    The upgrade path for the 7200 is totally dead-ended. I think you are approaching the point of no return. The mobo swap is the next step. That Voodoo3 is probably going to waste in that machine (no offense). There is only a 64 bit memory bus (instead of the 128 that the 7x00 ,8x00 and 9x00 series are capabe of). And the 601 chip in that machine is SO slow compared to even a similar 604e. The only cool thing that the 7200 does that the other 7x00's don't do is RCA/SVHS video out. That's what the brown 22-pin connector is for near the backl edge of the mobo.

    [This message has been edited by Dogstarman (edited 28 May 2001).]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    922

    Default

    I also did this - just for fun - on a 90Mhz 7200

    There is only a 64 bit memory bus (instead of the 128 that the 7x00 ,8x00 and 9x00 series are capabe of).
    From what I've seen the 7200 has the same data bus as any other vintage PCI Mac - 64bits. What the other macs (73/75/76/85/86/95/9600) allow you to do is to interleave. Some papers talk about this as if it was a 128bit bus, but I do not think this is technically accurate. Of course with the 71/8100s you had to install in pairs to get a '64 bit' data bus since they used 72pin SIMMs.

    And the 601 chip in that machine is SO slow compared to even a similar 604e.
    I would agree, but I think Mhz/Mhz the 601 is way better than a 603.

    The only cool thing that the 7200 does that the other 7x00's don't do is RCA/SVHS video out. That's what the brown 22-pin connector is for near the backl edge of the mobo.
    As far as I know only the 75/76/85/8600s have AV outputs (or inputs).

    I can not really remember exactly what I put in my system... but it was pretty cool. V3, 256MB RAM, 8GB HD (maybe it was LVD?)... that was one SCREAM'N 7200!

    I did upgrade one 7200 with a 7500 board... you definately have many more options - 8DIMMs vs. 4 and the CPU upgrade is key.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    936

    Default

    OK. I will just say that most PCI Macs sorta have "dual" 64-bit buses. The architecture allows for memory to be simultaneously accessed (interleaved). So while not AS fast as a true 128-bit bus, most of Apple's Developer's Notes and user's manuals refer to the bus as "widening to 128-bit when identical DIMMs are installed in correcponding locations". And regardless, the 7200 CANNOT interleave. So that's my 2 cents on that deal.

    "I would agree, but I think Mhz/Mhz the 601 is way better than a 603."
    -Right. That's why I didn't mention it. The 603 is a portable and Performa chip featuring a rich low-power set of features. Has anyone even seen a 603 on an upgrade card?

    The 7200 can support a separate video out stream. The other machine cannot unless they have the required hardware...as in 2 chips on the mobo. A separate stream consists of another display being used in conjunction with the built-in display connection. Usually, when a display is plugged into the SVHS outs (RCA outs were only on AV Macs....not the 7x00), the built-in display signal is cut.The 7200 has built-in features that allow it to use a plug-in connection on the mobo to have RCA/SVHS outputs. No inputs....just a second-stream output.The connector is a small rectangular one (NOT THE ONE BETWEEN THE PROCESSOR AND PCI IN A 7x00) between the soldered-on processor and the backplane of the mobo.

    Not to put down the poor little machine. I love them. And I have 2 sitting here. But like most of the folks here, a 7500 is a lot more welcome in the case.

    [This message has been edited by Dogstarman (edited 28 May 2001).]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Cordova, TN
    Posts
    2,428

    Default

    The 7200 only got character after Power CC modified it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    936

    Default

    Hee hee. Louie got that one right on! OK, I have to get outside now that it finally stopped raining here after almost a week. Cabin fever mus have set in. Enjoy the Holiday all!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    wherever I hang my hat
    Posts
    3,575

    Default

    i am not quite three sheets to the wind, but tacking hard in that direction.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •