Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 41 to 47 of 47

Thread: I need a new router help me out

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    991

    Default

    Wifi can't be faster than the hard wire connection, it connects to.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ricks View Post
    That's where you route the cat5 to put another WiFi router.

    As far as using a WiFi extender, you would need to plug it into different places and see where the newly created blend of coverage holes and overlaps leaves you.
    When my brother takes over my house and I build a much smaller one on other side of garage... we will need to do this. Now I got a dumb question...

    I assume you use a cat5 from one router to another right? if not where do you get a second cat5 from?

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    220

    Default

    Am I the only one who uses their Mac as the home wifi router? I never could understand why anyone would buy one when it's built in.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Virginia... where one Democrat CAN make a difference
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by almaink View Post
    Am I the only one who uses their Mac as the home wifi router? I never could understand why anyone would buy one when it's built in.
    Tried that once. Range was about 1/3 what you get from a dedicated device. Much less power. Old house, lead paint and aluminum siding means if I want signal all over I need power
    Damien,

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,142

    Default

    Yes, you would have to run from one router to another. First router has its WAN port connected to your internet service provider line. Second router gets its connection from one of the LAN ports on the first router to its WAN port. Second router makes its own local network. You end up with 2 (or more with multi freq WiFi routers) separate LANs.
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Thumbs up Got it

    Thanks Rick

    almaink - I have tried using my iMac as you mention. I don't get the range I need and can from a router.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,787

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Damien View Post
    ....lead paint
    Ok...now I get it.

    It's all starting to make sense now.

    Better than tin foil hat shielding, and a tasty snack too!
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •