Thread: MacBook Pro Late 2011. Broken LED Backlit

Exclamation MacBook Pro Late 2011. Broken LED Backlit

Hi,

I'm trying to repair a MacBook Pro 13'' Late 2011. When I got it, the screen was cracked, and it had water damage.
    Just so you know, I've got some pretty good knowledge while working on Mac Hardware, as well as software, and I've been doing this for a while.

I opened it, cleaned up every bit of corrosion I could find on the motherboard with some isopropylic alcohol, and I put everything back in.

My diagnosis at that point was :
    - The computer receives power with or without the battery connected (With the Power Adapter connected, the light turns to green/orange depending if the battery is connected.
    - Fan runs fine
    - Startup Chime is normal
    - Screen does not light up.

After some more alcohol rubbing around the display connector, the diagnosis was the same.
    After a couple of tests, I've noticed that if I put my iPhone flashlight at the back of computer screen while booting, I was able to see the nice Apple logo when booting the computer, saw pretty much everything in the center of the screen while logging in, and I got to the desktop without any problem.
    Since I taught that the LED Backlit was broken, I tried to test the computer with another screen that I borrowed from a tech friend.
    The problem is, it came with the same result : I was able to see the screen with my flashlight, but still no LED Backlit.

So after this long story, my question is :

What's the diagnosis to make here ?
    1. Option 1 - Both screens Backlit are dead (Which seems a little hard to believe since my friend taught it was working)
    2. Option 2 - The display connector on the motherboard is half-dead since the backlit part isn't working.

If you got more option, I'm all ears. And in case of Option 2, is it possible to :
    - Take off the display connector of the motherboard