Results 1 to 20 of 28

Thread: G5 dead? power button flashes 3 times

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    152

    Default G5 dead? power button flashes 3 times

    Hello Everyone.
    I have G5 2 ghz dual core tower. I was running disc utility and when I came back to check the machine, my Apple Studio display was black and the power button was flashing 3 times about every 3 seconds. I noticed the power button on the tower was also flashing the same way. I re-booted - same thing. Unplugged for 24 hours, hit the reset button on the logic board, plugged in and rebooted..... same thing...machine powers up, fans come on and then nothing, still 3 flashes on the power buttons. This is my first G5 and I have never had trouble until now. I'm not sure what the 3 flashes means.... anyone ?

    Thanks as always...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    The zap the pram and such might bail you out if you can't figure it out. Reset RAM, PCI Cards, pull power... try again

    or....


    Zap the PRAM. On Startup hold the (command + option + P + R) keys. Hold them until you hear the first startup "bong/chime" and keep holding them for about 3-4 more "bongs/chimes".

    Apple info ideas=

    Open Firmware reset -

    Hold the Command+Option+O+F keys during startup. This will put you in the Open Firmware Interface. At the end of any text you will get a '>' prompt. At that prompt type:

    reset-nvram -Hit Return
    set-defaults -Hit Return
    reset-all -Hit Return

    That should cause a reboot.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default Also Voodoo greentree fix - 2 versions

    Guru Greentree fix

    - remove the CPU
    - press the CUDA for 30 seconds or so
    - remove the PRAM battery!
    - unplug the power cable
    - press the power button to discharge any left over power (this might not actually be necessary)
    - let it sit with no PRAM battery for a while. I'm not sure exactly how long... probably an hour is good, but if you're patient, you∂ can leave it overnight.
    then put everything back together and try the upgrade again.

    ------Another-------

    Remove ram. remove power cord. remove battery. Reset cuda/ PMU, push pwr button. insert pwr cord and boot yes without ram if you get a beep then ur back in business. put ram back in. if not as above but press pwr and cuda together. have had this issue with a good few G4's and this always fixes them. if not. then leave overnight with pwr out. battery and ram out and when you come in in the morning press pwr button on front one last time. then pwr up. Good luck

    ------Another-------
    So, these would be the steps:

    1 power off, leave plugged in
    2 remove all ram
    3 remove all cables, including power
    4 press mobo reset button (PMU reset)
    5 press power button (still with no cables plugged in)
    6 plug in power, press power button (you should get the no ram indicator - 3 beeps)
    5 Power down and reinsert ram
    7 plug in power, power on

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    152

    Default

    thanks for the quick reply. I tried to zap the pram but no chime at all.... same thing. I will do all the other steps when I get home..... I will report back tomorrow.... thanks again everyone....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,142

    Default

    Here's the Apple diagnostic code chart for the G5.
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2652

    Place to start.

    Rick
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,787

    Default

    3 beeps means it does not like the RAM (listed on the link that Rick provided).


    Pull and reseat RAM; swap out and test each pair if you have more than 2 sticks installed. Verify the proper RAM installation for your Model (varies....)

    If you can't get any of your RAM to work.....need to scrounge/borrow/buy some more to test.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •