Thread: A desperate need for speed...

Default A desperate need for speed...

Seeing as the Mods are all speed freaks, I guess that this is the best place to ask this question!

I'm frequently running into time constraints when changing drives, mainly when customer's drives have tanked. The problem is that with so many people now having 500gb and upwards drives, restoring data is taking absolutely ages and I need to make some changes.

My Macbook Pro 17" 2.8 CTD is the workhorse but with no Thunderbolt - not that I could afford the kit to use with it - and no USB 3.0 I'm currently stuck using USB 2 or Firewire 400. There are precious few FW 800 caddies around for 3.5" drives and I know that even getting an Expresscard with USB 3.0 on it is fraught with complications.
    I have no experience with eSata but that's what I'm looking at to slash the reinstall times. There are various Expresscards with a single eSata port that supposedly work with Macs - no reason to disbelieve that - but what difference in performance would I get with eSata over FW 800/400?

The migration I'm stuck in the middle of - running best part of 4 hours still has 7 hours to go for 669gb! Customer was expecting his Mac back today, as I was, but that just is not going to happen. I have to get this sorted before I see scroll bars in my sleep... again!

The 3.5 enclosures I got from the boss do FW800, eSATA, and USB3. Having problems with them on 10.8, but from 10.6 back they do a consistent 40+ MB ps on FW800, and 100+ on eSATA on my old SeriTek 1V2E2.

Hi, thanks for the quick reply.
    What's causing the problem in ML? The card you mentioned is PCI so it's not in the MBP or Mini... and the others can't run ML... so how are you connecting the esata?

Yeah I got nothing with eSATA that will run ML. The SeriTek is in the G4 tower running 10.4. Writing zeroes w/DU produces a nice steady 115MBps.