Thread: I KILLED 2 Ext HDDs - Help !!!

Default I KILLED 2 Ext HDDs - Help !!!

Hi All and Happy New Year.

Not sure where this should be posted but hopefully someone will point it in the right direction.

I have two external HDD, one 1 TB and one 2 TB that both lost their data on the same day. The external docks are a USB 2.0 Aluratek 2 bay Duplicator/Dock or USB 2.0 Thermaltake single bay Dock. These were my backup and copy of backup drives.

Let me explain:

Both drives were formatted as exFAT on a MAC MINI, mid 2010, running the most current update of Mountain Lion. ExFAT was used as both drives were going to be read/write accessible to MAC and Windows computers. I’m new to MACs and very old regarding Windows and my reading lead me to believe that exFAT was the way to go.

On the 2 TB drive, I have no idea what happened, it just showed up as no data after connecting it to the MINI. The 1 TB drive was incredibly slow to show files and it wasn’t responding. I had prepared a different 1 TB drive with ‘Mac OS Extended (Journaled)’ formatting to copy the exFAT drive contents to and eliminate some duplicate data. The 1 TB exFAT drive only had about 14% free space and I wanted a backup copy in MAC’s native language.

Do to the 1 TB exFAT not responding, I let the MINI’s Disk Utility check and repair the drive. The message reported (going from memory) something like “an entry was found beyond the allocation table / and was corrected. Great, problem solved….NOT. Now the 1 TB exFAT shows no data and all the space as “free”.

I’ve been careful to not write anything to the disk, I hope, but have analyzed it with an EaseUS software package that checked the drive and it seems the files are there. They want close to $100 to buy the software but I have heard horror stories about the claims made from recovery software companies and spending $$$ for nothing.