Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Do I need more memory for Mountain Lion

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    39

    Default Do I need more memory for Mountain Lion

    When I switched from Mac Lion to ML it started behaving very abnormally. Applications became slow. When searched for the solution I got two fixes either to increase RAM or use a drive cleaner.

    Which way to go?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    When your computers running open and check this...

    Look in Applications Folder --> open the Utility Folder --> open the Activity Monitor then click the System Memory in will display your used, active, inactive and remaining memory or RAM.

    How much does your computer have now?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,787

    Default

    Short answer: yes.

    Long answer: depends on what you are doing, and how much RAM you have. I would say 4GB is the new minimum, and power users will want 8GB or more.

    My iMac at home running 10.8 has 6GB, which seems very adequate for average use.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Thanks for reply.
    Yes, 4GB is the new minimum for ML machines but I already have 6GB of memory. So, I think there is no need to upgrade it. Let me see if some Mac cleaner can fix the issue.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,787

    Default

    So, are you out of RAM, or is the issue elsewhere?
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Yes, it works. This Mac cleaner regained me about 1GB of space and almost fixed the issue.

    Although not exactly like my new Mac but much better than the slugging Mac. The application I used also shows the amount of space than can be cleared ,while scanning.

    Here are the attachments of screenshots.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •