Thread: I messed up, Need Some Help with 15" 2008 Early MBP

Default I messed up, Need Some Help with 15" 2008 Early MBP

Hey everyone!! For my first post im going to admit I made a mistake while replacing a CD drive with an HD adapter off of Amazon. Im a Tech so im not exactly a noob when it comes to tearing down laptops and upgrading them but i definitely made a noob mistake. Here goes. While multi-tasking i was replacing the top portion of the laptop which contains Keyboard, touchpad, power button , etc and i didn't notice i was putting it on backwards. So as soon as i plugged it in, the ribbon cable got warm so i knew i made a mistake. Now the laptop will not boot of course.

My question is , has anyone had any experience with this and if so is there a resistor i can replace on the board some where? Also, i cant get an exact model number because i can not find the serial number anywhere (It seems it may have been peeled). Any help is greatly appreciated.

Model is 15" Early Macbook Pro 2008

Wish I had some advice that was useful. I passed over answering since I don't have a clue what component might have died. There are some Mac techs hanging around here that work enough inside MBPs that they might have some thoughts, but I doubt that anyone would have seen that specific set of circumstances.

You might be best advised to do a trade for a repaired board. There are a number of places that do that, swap you a board for a couple hundred bucks. We have done repairs on test machines here using that method (we can be really hard on machines that test, for instance CPU upgrades - although it's been a while since we did that! I age myself) Even hardware RAID cards and alpha testing strange contraptions is hard on motherboards. We have had our share of mishaps. I usually can find a rebuilt board to swap in.

Rick
    molṑn labe'