Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: do bigger monitors require bigger cards?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    84

    Default do bigger monitors require bigger cards?

    I have 2 22" monitors and one is going to become 30".
    Do I need to do anything performance-wise to ensure
    normal behavior with photosop family?

    NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 512 MB
    osx.8.2 16 gb ram
    2x2.26 GH quad core xeon 2009

    Thank anyone !
    steve z

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    I think you'll be fine. It should work fine. You might double check the maximum resolutions for the card and 30" monitor.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Thank you rwm,
    says native resolution = 2560 x 1600
    what else?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Look at this page NVIDIA Card here it should be the same as your NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 512 MB card.

    It says Maximum Digital Resolution iuus 2560 x 1600 so it should work well with it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    84

    Default

    thank you !

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,784

    Default

    The other place to check is over here.

    Down in the video section, here's what you need:

    By default, a NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 with 512 MB of GDDR3 memory was installed in a double-wide, 16-lane PCI Express 2.0 graphics slot. It has both a Mini DisplayPort and a dual-link DVI port.
    Dual Link is the term you are looking for. Earlier cards, at least in G5 days, not listed as Dual Link could not drive 30" at native rez.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default Thanks, Unc

    Yes, that is another thing I should have mentioned you'd need a dual-out card which yours is.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •