Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Burly invisible to LION upgrade

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    8

    Exclamation Burly invisible to LION upgrade

    Installed new 1.5TB drive in G5
    (kept old system on original startup drive for older apps that may not run on LION)
    Notice that none of my drives appear as icons on desktop.
    They do under "Devices" in the Finder window
    Foolishly dragged one onto the desktop thinking it would show icon: NO
    Bad move ..... it disappeared from "Devises" list in Finder window.
    How do I return it to list?
    ........ and here is the Burly box part:
    I have a 5 bay Burly box ..... NONE 5 of the drives appear on the desktop as icons

    Worse yet, none appear in Lightroom when I go to import files from them.
    (the drives from the G5 do)

    It would seem that the new system does not recognize the Burly box?!

    any help for both issues GREATLY appreciated

    FC

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    A few thoughts for you.


    If it shows in a Finder window then it is seen and mounted and working correctly.

    To see drive icons on the desktop you need to go to Finder, in the Menu bar under Finder select Preferences, then check the boxes on what you want shown on your desktop.


    You cannot install Lion on a G5, so you probably mistyped and meant a MacPro. In your MacPro is a PCIe eSATA host card. It needs drivers to work. Which driver depends on which card you have.
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    8

    Confused Correct you are .... More Coffee!

    I will try what you suggest, but I am more concerned with trying to get the LION drive to do some work.

    Here are the specs:

    Model Name: Mac Pro
    Model Identifier: MacPro1,1
    Processor Name: Dual-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 3 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 2
    Total Number Of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
    Memory: 10 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.33 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: MP11.005C.B08


    ATY,RadeonX1900:

    Name: ATY,Alopias
    Type: display
    Driver Installed: Yes
    Bus: PCI
    Slot: Slot-1
    Vendor ID: 0x1002
    Device ID: 0x7249
    Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x1002
    Subsystem ID: 0x7249
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Link Width: x16
    Link Speed: 2.5 GT/s

    the burly drives show as:

    SCSI Parallel Domain 0:

    Initiator Identifier: 255

    SCSI Target Device @ 0: , 1:, 2:,3:, 4: ...etc.

    but will NOT show up under "Devices" NOR will they show on the drive list in Lightroom when I try yo import data into Lightroom.

    Also, while running the old startup drive I could not create a folder on the new LION drive (Bay 2 of the Pro, the old system still on original drive in Bay 1)...but could drag & drop one.

    Once I had THAT folder on the LION drive I could create anew folder INSIDE that folder.

    After I rebooted with the LION drive the folders were nowhere to be found and were not found byLightroom either.

    Does LION not recognize the SCSI interface on the Burly? ....and why will it not create nor display folders that are on that drive?

    FC

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    8

    Default And .....as an end-around

    The original drive in Bay 1 of the Pro is running OS 10.5.8.

    Yeah, I know ... about time to get the upgrade!

    But, as these posts may prove: "Don't fix it if it ain't broke"

    I have made a Carbon Copy of this system on one of the hard drives in the Burly box ..... so I figured if I can't find the file I want with the new LION drive, I"ll just update the Carbon Copied 10.5.8 to Snow Leopard and run the new CS6 & Lightroom 4 on that.

    Easier said than done: the Snow Leopard install DVD will not list any of the 5 burly drives to update.

    Just when I think I have outsmarted this mac with an end-around ..... OY!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    I cannot assist without knowing what card you have installed. The only card you list is your graphics card. The Burly itself is irrelevant - it will run practically on anything. What matters is the driver running the PCIe card.
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    8

    Question Round one

    Set Finder prefs to include the missing drives & the main Computer .. LION drive is now listed and when clicked shows the folders with my image files while running Lion. what a rookie, thanks!

    OK.

    So you need to now what card:
    (bear with me ...... I'm not sure)

    ethernet:

    Type: Ethernet Controller
    Bus: PCI
    Vendor ID: 0x8086
    Device ID: 0x1096
    Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x8086
    Subsystem ID: 0x3499
    Revision ID: 0x0001
    Link Width: x4
    BSD name: en0
    Kext name: AppleIntel8254XEthernet.kext
    Location: /System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleIntel8254XEthernet.kext
    Version: 2.1.3b1

    USB Bus:

    Host Controller Location: Built-in USB
    Host Controller Driver: AppleUSBUHCI
    PCI Device ID: 0x268a
    PCI Revision ID: 0x0009
    PCI Vendor ID: 0x8086
    Bus Number: 0x5d

    Bluetooth USB Host Controller:

    Product ID: 0x8206
    Vendor ID: 0x05ac (Apple Inc.)
    Version: 19.65
    Speed: Up to 12 Mb/sec
    Manufacturer: Apple Inc.
    Location ID: 0x5d200000 / 2
    Current Available (mA): 500
    Current Required (mA): 0

    Does this help?

    if not direct me to where I can find the information you seek.


    As far as the Burly running on anything ...... It's not showing up when I run the new system at all ..... not as an option in the Finder prefs either.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    8

    Smile good news

    Lightroom, now that I have reset the Finder prefs is finding the folders with the image files!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    Burly will not show up until you have a driver for the SATA Host card. It is probably a Silicon Image based card, since it is showing up as a SCSI bus. No driver - no Burly.

    Has nothing to do with USB, Ethernet or Bluetooth - those are built in.

    Go back in your email purchase receipts from MacGurus. Or look online and identify the card that looks like yours. The drivers are at the bottom of the card sales pages.

    Rick
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    8

    Default Will do

    Thanks for your help!

    FC

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •