Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: 10.5 & g4

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Question 10.5 & g4

    Looks like there's no way around some software that I need.
    Will 10.5.x install on my G4 MDD?

    thanks, h

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,142

    Default

    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Talking

    Thanks!
    Just picked up 10.5.4 retail install disk from eBay.
    Hope I have no troubles.

    later, h

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Question

    I installed 10.5.8.
    Wanting to make a copy to use and keep the original
    for future use.
    How would I go about it, because it's too large to fit on one DVD?
    Only way I see is to compress it.
    What's the answer I'm looking for?

    Thanks, h

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,142

    Default

    Double Layer DVD?
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Default

    The install disk is 7.24 GB.
    The desktop HD is 12.72 GB.
    Which do you say I would want to copy?
    Can you be a little more specific?
    How do I go about copying to two DVD?

    If I had a external back-up HD I could just copy to that.

    h

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    991

    Default

    How about just getting another HD and putting it into your MDD. I've got an extra drive in my QS Dual 1 Ghtz and my DA.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,142

    Default

    Unfortunately, I have never even considered copying an OS install DVD to another DVD. I have no idea if there are any tricks or security features built in to prevent that.

    Double Layer DVDs are twice the capacity of standard single layer, but your burner has to support that.

    Around here we are always swimming in hard drives. It is what we do after all. So over the years I have developed a dreadful habit to use one for a backup whenever needed. It wouldn't even occur to me normally to use a DVD. So my knowledge is somewhat limited.

    R
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Virginia... where one Democrat CAN make a difference
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    It used to be that Mac OS X (which is unix) bootable installer DVD's were damn hard to copy. Something I remember about not allowing it to mount to the desktop but I don't remember very well. This was in the OS X and 10.1 days. I'm with the rest, grab an extra HD and use a clone tool to clone your main drive
    Last edited by Damien; 02-28-2012 at 07:45 AM.
    Damien,

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Default

    That's what I'll do!

    Be back later, h

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,818

    Default

    Hmm, I think hacking the DVDs -- back in the day -- were a bit more tricky. It was easy to end up with a coaster.

    A direct DVD to DVD copy shouldn't be that hard or problematic. Apple's DVDs don't have much if any copy protection on them if I recall.

    I've certainly made disc images of them either with Disk Utility and sometimes with Toast to make .iso images. VMWare Fusion is happy with .iso images.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Default

    I used two different macs to make a copy.
    Put install disk in my Powerbook ... did a Target Disk Mode to the G4.
    When I opened the install disk (Powerbook) on G4 desktop .... it made a image on the G4 desktop.
    Then I opened Toast and dropped the image on Toast.
    Put a clean DVD in G4 and burned two disks.
    First one burned and verified .... second burned, but didn't verify.
    I opened it .... looks ok to me.

    I'll try and install them when I put in a old HD for back-up. Later today.

    What does .iso image mean?
    I see that in toast.

    Eric .... are you using toast for os 10.5.8 or which version?

    later, h

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Virginia... where one Democrat CAN make a difference
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    .iso is just a unix image file extension. Like the mac image file is .dmg
    Damien,

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,818

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hazkell View Post
    Eric .... are you using toast for os 10.5.8 or which version?
    I'm pretty sure it was using Toast 8 with both 10.5 and 10.6. I recently got a copy of Toast 11 which I first installed under 10.6.x and now Lion.

    I just used the "Disk Copy" feature of Toast to make a physical copy of the Install DVD (or a disk image) without Target disk mode. When making a physical copy of the install DVD, I let Toast read and write to the same drive. In that case, Toast will read the Install DVD and cache the copy on the HD; it will eject the install DVD when it's done caching; then it will prompt for a blank disk to write to.

    I'm not sure why you put the computer in Target Disk Mode to make the copy. You can copy any Install DVD/CD (even those not meant for your computer) with Toast.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Default

    Used TDM, because I was trying to figure out how to read from the install disk then write to a blank DVD ..... me stupid.
    I'll give your way a try.

    Thanks, h

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    I used an app called SimplyBurns not real long ago. Quick and easy it used only one CD/DVD drive. If I remember right I used it once... I backed up an OS disk and then lost the CD/DVD. I am bad at using a burner much mostly a few music CD here and there.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Default

    I'll see if I can find a copy on the internet.
    Thanks, h

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Free download right here.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •