Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Epson SCSI Scanner to USB ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Question Epson SCSI Scanner to USB ?

    Have an old Epson 1200c scanner that has a USB port for windows and a SCSI port for mac.
    I's a really good unit. Scans the image three times for each RGB color.
    It's been in the orrigingal box for about ten years.

    Just want to use it with my MDD, using 10.4.11
    How would i go about this.

    Maybe a converter for the cable /or box.
    ..........will have to come up with some kind of software.

    The original software was for os 8 & 9.
    Can this even be done ??????????

    All members well come for comments!

    Thank you, h

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,142

    Default

    You are not going to get ANYTHING to adapt it from SCSI to USB or Firewire. The company making that chipset, that was used by everyone, no longer makes it. People with multi-thousand dollar Imacon scanners have been desperate for a while to find something, nothing out there.

    If you can run it on USB you can probably use VueScan or other driver. Otherwise, time to toss it.

    Rick
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    991

    Default

    Maybe an old SCSI PCI card, if you can find one. Say on ebay? Don't know if that could be a way, just a thought about it. Does anyone know?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Virginia... where one Democrat CAN make a difference
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    According to this that scanner works with the original bondi blue iMac which means that USB port is available to the Mac. However it's probably a USB 1 port and will likely be much slower than it was as a scsi device. You will need to find a driver, I doubt there was ever an OS X driver made for it but there might be a TWAIN driver out there that would work
    Damien,

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Wink

    Thanks for posting.
    You got my old dried fried brain pumping again.
    Used it with my 9600 ... but sold it.

    I remember, I have a MDD dual 1.2 with OS 9.2 and X.4.12 on it. Use it for emergency only.
    Also have the Twian driver burned to disk ..... somewhere.

    I'll be back after I get it running .... hopefully.
    Wiil be awhile.

    Merry Christmas! h

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Default

    That's OS 10.4.11 not 12.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,787

    Wink

    WHEW!!!!!

    I have been looking everywhere for 10.4.12.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •