Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast

Thread: Movie Formats

Unhappy Movie Formats

Perhaps someone can help me or point me to where I can get such help.

I plan to convert my old 8mm celluloid movies to digital, and there is one outfit which claims they modified their telecine machines to handle 8mm. Their offers talk about raw files, high definition, transfer rates, and stuff I just started learning. I plan to ask them questions, but before I do I prefer to learn more so I can understand their answers.

Their High Definition Transfers turn me on, but I am a bit confused. All their 1080p transfers will be delivered as QuickTime .mov files, in JPEG-A format, which of course will play nicely on any reasonable computer. They are 50GB/hr.

But then they floor me: "The higher data-rate file types (component, animation or raw) require more powerful computers, and are recommended only for professionals with very fast computers that employ a high-speed RAID". Say what?? I particularly like the component 4:2:2 (290GB/hr), but are they saying this file won't show on my 8core G5 (2008)? What do they mean by "high data-rate"? Their outputs will be returned on external hard drive. I do not have RAID.

My plan is to use iMovie to arrange various sections and add titles, then use iDVD to make DVD high definition movie, burn it on DL disk, and watch it on my 40inch LED TV. If I target only one hour per disk, i.e. 7+ GB/hour, will I still preserve the high definition? Do I have to use the high-rate type or will the plain .mov files be enough?

My worry: high definition image of a blurry/ dirty image will still be blurry/dirty. If the frame by frame scanning in their souped up machines displays a faulty image, all I will have is high definition faulty image. But that's MY problem. The help I need is some hints on using .mov outputs vs. the high-data rate variety. How much will I gain from the latter? And what's the difference?

marrand