Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 41

Thread: eSATA card recommendations for a Powermac G5

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4

    Default eSATA card recommendations for a Powermac G5

    I was wondering if anyone can recommend a PCI-X eSATA card that would actually work in my early 2005 PowerMac G5 (2.7GHz dual processor) running 10.4.11?

    I write "actually" because I recently purchased the LaCie 2 Port eSATA PCI Card (130823) and after a few days of working fine hooked up to a Calvary 1TB USB 2.0/eSATA external drive (CAXA3701T0), it started to shut down my entire workstation unexpectedly and repeatedly.

    I ran disk diagnostic software, did hardware tests, and was ready to call the Apple Store for service when my wife tapped me on the shoulder and said "Um, maybe it's that card you put it." Smart girl.

    After removing the card and rebooting, the system is running fine.

    So...any recommendations? Could it be a voltage problem? I installed as per LaCie's specs (switching jumper cable positions on card) and it's just not behaving nicely.

    Would love to keep using a drive with an eSATA hook-up to take advantage of the speed, instead of keeping it plugged into a lowly USB port.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Others will provide an answer. LaCie has a bad rap on this site as far as PCI cards like that go.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I did try the card in the other open slots and got the same results - unexpected shutdowns, then some weirdness where icons would look corrupt and menus would be unresponsive.

    No info at the LaCie site and I'm still waiting for word from their Tech Support department. In doing some research, it seems LaCie cards are not recommended.

    As mentioned in the original post, was wondering if it could be a voltage problem perhaps? That would fit in with the shutdown issue. I know only the Apple website forum (link below) it states:

    "Your Macintosh has three expansion slots, labeled 2, 3, and 4, which can accommodate expansion cards up to 12 inches long. Depending upon the model of your Power Mac G5, you can install either PCI or PCI-X cards.

    Maximum power consumption for all four expansion slots (the three PCI expansion cards and the AGP card) should not exceed 90 watts (W)."

    Inside your Power Mac G5

    Saw this online and after speaking with their sales support, I was "assured" it would work, but who knows:

    http://www.satasite.com/esata-sata-ii-4-port-raid.htm

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,125

    Default

    We only carry a couple of PCI-X cards, the best one being the Lycom 4X. It is also the cheaper of the bunch. Same chipset as the card as what we use in MacPro. Really fast and definitely compatible.

    Rick
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4

    Default Thanks Rick.

    Will definitely need to take a close look at that card.

    You know, this was posted by a member from another Mac forum, and I'm wondering if there's any truth in it. What do you think:

    "Don't bother with eSATA on PowerMacs, especially if you were hoping for hotpluggable storage. OSX seems to have this pig-headed mentality that SATA = fixed drive, and I read a lot of dramas with SATA cards of all kinds under OSX, be the machine PowerPC or Intel based.

    If you'd bought a USB+eSATA external drive because it was cheaper than a FireWire enclosure, only to spend more than the difference on a SATA card, then your head's screwed on sideways.

    Sell the card, extract the drive from the Calvary enclosure and put it into a Vantec NexStar 3 NST-360UFS case (or something else nice that uses an Oxford chipset). Your Mac will love you. You can then pass on the gutted Calvary carcass to some poor PC user who still thinks eSATA is a good idea."


    Thanks again!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,125

    Default

    External drive functionality is nearly perfect on Macs. Whoever said different is talking from a position of abject ignorance.

    Hotswap is much better with eSATA than with Firewire.

    I think you are reading the wrong places. The important consideration is usually WHO wrote the code for the card. Half baked PC developers who dump their junk on the Mac without any effort towards proper compatibility leads to lots of junk out there.

    However, some generic stuff can be really good, such as the Lycom boards we buy - and test thoroughly, I might add. We make sure we know every detail on the cards and parts we carry. They will work as advertised.

    Rick
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,787

    Default

    I have not seen what that poster is complaining about, on any eSATA. In fact, I have seen more of that sort of wonkiness with USB, at least on older Macs.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hello again.

    Took a look at the specs for the Lycom card. They seem very similar (if not identical) to those for this card:

    http://www.satasite.com/esata-sata-ii-4-port-raid.htm

    What are the differences between the two, exactly, outside of the price?

    Thanks!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,125

    Default

    How would anyone know? Might be identical, might not. Seen the card with several different firmware on them. Don't even have to go look at the other site to know I don't know.
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    16

    Default lycesata in germany

    Hi Ricks,

    sorry for my not perfect english, but iīm from germany.
    I visited the USA 4x (total 1 year), but last time was 25 years ago.

    Two months ago i built up my old G5 and i just bought that LaCie-eSATA-Card. Now i must read here, that this card is crap and i should go for another eSATA-Card.
    So far i did not try out the LaCie, because i just got the eSATA-Case yesterday and i still have to put a hdd in.

    Because you are a Macguru, i follow your words and now iīm looking for another eSATA-Card.
    So i searched for the lyceSATA in Germany and found it in some internet-shops. But they say, that it is only working in a windows-pc.

    For example:
    http://direkt.jacob-computer.de/lyco...52.html?ref=25

    What do you think? Should i just try it?
    Is ist just a question of the right driver?

    There is another card from another manufacturer, which looks identical:
    http://www.amazon.de/Addonics-ADS3GX...8351062&sr=8-5

    Thanks for your help already, the informations in this forum were a big help for me.
    Patrick

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,125

    Default

    The Lycom card is just fine. and the Addonics card is a Lycom card with Addonics name on it. You can find Mac drivers and pretty much drivers for any operating system at Silicon Image at this link.

    That is a perfect card as long as you run it on PCI-X Bus! DO not run an a PCI bus - which means do not install in a G4 Mac, or a G5 that only has 4 ram slots. The Silicon Image 3124 chipset will not work right on any plain PCI Mac. Works great on PCI-X Mac - which means a G5 with 8 ram slots.


    If you have a PCI mac (G4 or G5 with 4 ram slots) then you want the Sonnet card.


    BTW, your english is superb! ANd welome to MacGurus. Hang out here any time.

    Rick
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    16

    Default difficult to find - litle confusion

    Hi Ricks,

    Thanks for your quick answer and your kindness

    First of all: it's a G5 with 2x2,5 Ghz and PCi-X (8 RAM slots)
    I also have a second G5 with 2x2 Ghz and PCI (4 RAM slots), which was not running correctly last time. But hopefully i can solve its problem, so i have another alternative.

    Besides of that i have two eMacs (for my small private Internet-Café) and a 24" intel-iMac (2x2,8Ghz) for real work (Graphics, Video, little bit 3-D)
    The rebuilding of the G5 is because to have alternatives, if work is getting more or if my iMac makes troubles (what i surely hope never will be the case).

    Speaking now only for the faster G5, as long as i donīt know, if i get the slower one working.
    First i got a ATI X850XT to change the 9600XT (128MB).
    Then i bought more RAM. My goal is always maximum RAM.
    Just not sure, if i should expand the 4 Gigs in my iMac to 6 GB. I still think, pairwise is better in this case.

    Next was a 1 TB Samsung F3 as system volume. It is SATA 600 but it seems to work correctly so far.
    For the 2nd bay i can choose between a 1,5 TB Samsung F2 Eco Green (SATA 300) or a 2 TB WesternDigital 20EARX (SATA 600).

    The former owner of the G5 had a already a FW800 PCI-X card installed. And at last i purchased the LaCie eSATA-Card.
    I was thinking about putting a second GraphicCard in the last PCI-X slot.
    I still have a 9200 Mac-edition (128MB) in an 8600 Powermac which is not in use anymore.

    But then i read in the G5-Specs, that all cards in AGP&PCI(-X) slots together may not use more than 90 W power at all.
    Problem is, that it is almost impossible to find out, 'cause the manufacturers seem to keep these values as their secrets.
    After long search i found informations, that the X850XT alone is already taking 72 W. If that's true there would be not much left. ATI 9200 takes about 15 W. But this is more a guess than really knowing.
    All in all, with the X850XT i get too close to the 90 W limit

    Also i heard, a 2nd GC in PCI-slots could slow down my whole system.
    Third negative point: the fan of the X850XT would be at least half covered with another card if i use all 4 slots.
    If this would be the only problem i could throw out the FW800-card, because i donīt have that much (exactly 2) external FW800-drives.

    But i think of using an extern USB-graphic cards with HDMI output to connect to a third monitor, in this case a 40"-TV.
    Do you have any experiences with G5 and these extern video-cards?

    But more important than that is the right eSATA-card.
    The sonnet card is too expensive for me.
    Taking a closer look to the lycesata (ST-134E) at the Jacob-Shop i found out, that even on the lycom homepage the say, the ST-134E is a pci-card with eSATA 150.
    But it looks exactly like the card you offer and exacty like the addonics card, which is eSATA 300 and PCI-X.
    That PCI(-X) stuff is really confusing a little bit.
    Nobody even really knows, if the LaCie-card is PCI or PCi-X.

    Should be not the big problem for me, as long as i have PCI-X slots.
    But it should be better eSATA 300 and (most important) run correctly.
    If it has 4 connectors i donīt really need port multiplier possibilities.
    (i am a one-man-office)

    I already got me the driver you recommended using with the lycesata you sell. Should work on my G5s with any PCI(-X)/eSATA-card with Silikon Image Chip. Or is this a wrong guess?

    I was now searching long time for PCI-X eSATA with 4 extern ports here in germany, but so far i cantīt find exactly your lyceSATA. Besides of the Addonics I only found these:

    http://www.ebay.de/itm/Raidon-SC-SAT.../200822325367?

    www.heise.de/preisvergleich/672446 (the same as above?)

    www.heise.de/preisvergleich/202641

    http://www.amazon.de/Dawicontrol-DC-...dp/B000U3HLNG/ (hard to say?)

    But now i found one, it looks like as if this might be your card, although there is no picture. It says only:
    64-105 Lycom PCI-X Raid5 SATA II-Ext.4P, LP 56.40€
    ( http://business.lieske-elektronik.de...ItemNo=64-105I )
    They have in not in stock, they say they can order it.

    So first i might try to get that card on ebay for a good price.
    If not, i can ask that lieske-elektronik, if they can order the card.
    If it is he right one, but i think so.
    In third case i grab the Addonics, if its still there then.

    Do you think, that it's a good plan?

    Thanks a lot!
    Greetings from Bavaria,
    Patrick

    And sorry for that jungle of eSATA-cards and questions.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    16

    Default Lycom-cards

    Hi Ricks,

    Thanks for your quick answer and your friendly welcome.

    First of all:
    It is a G5 with 8 GB RAM (PPC 7.3, 2 x 2,5 Ghz), so it must be PCI-X.

    I found another seller in germany who sells the Lycom card, PCI-X version, eSATA300. But he has two different order numbers and prices:

    http://www.business.lieske-elektroni...ItemNo=64-105M
    http://www.business.lieske-elektroni...ItemNo=64-105I

    There are no pictures, but i asked them already, whatīs the difference. Still waiting for their reply.
    But this should be the card you sell, if it has 4 extern ports.

    There is an auction at ebay germany running, but looking at the price now i donīt think it will get cheaper as the Addonics from the amzon-seller
    But i think, this card looks good, too:

    http://www.ebay.de/itm/Raidon-SC-SAT...-/200822325367

    Looks like this card, but has a different manufacturerīs name on it:

    www.heise.de/preisvergleich/672446

    Chipset is Sil 3124-2CB364, seems to be a silicon image chip. Is that right?

    Thanks for your help!
    Greetings from Bavaria and Oktoberfest,
    Cheers,
    Patrick

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,125

    Default

    If the card you are looking at links a driver, then you can tell from the driver which chipset. The SIlicon Image 3124 chipset is what is used on the PCI-X card. It is a SATAII chipset. That chipset is also used on PCIe card.

    There are older SATAI chipsets - they should list a driver that is different from those on the 3124 page at SI.

    That is why I gave you the link to the Silicon Image driver page for the 3124. Allows you to double check that the card is indeed the one you want.

    Rick
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    16

    Default 10.5.8

    This card at the "heise.preisvergleich" then has the right chip. The card at ebay looks the same, but i just asked the seller, if he knows, what chipset it has.

    The problem with all the drivers on the lycom-site you linked for me, that there is no one for 10.5.8. The same with version 2.0.3
    My system is 10.5.8.

    Will i have problems with eSATA combined with 10.5.8 on a G5?
    At least with certain devices?
    Or is that just a problem for people, who had the card and the driver installed, before they updated to 10.5.2?

    The cards from the first two links are sold out and wonīt be available in future.

    Sorry for my slow synapses in this case
    I donīt get enough sleep in the past few weeks.

    Best regards,
    Pat

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,125

    Default

    2.0.3 is perfect for Tiger through Leopard (10.5 through 10.5.8). That will work fine.

    If you get stuck we can mail you a card.

    Rick
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    16

    Default Silicon Image SteelVine

    I hope i donīt misunderstand. You want to say, that you still have these cards in stock and you may sell me one?
    I was already thinking about this option, because 108 $ is about 86 €, so it is affordable and your card looks like the best. Itīs the original where all the other cards are more or less copies from, i think. I was not sure, if you still got some cards, because this thread is from 2010.

    But shipping costs would be rather high. Let me see, if i get that card at ebay in 3 days, maybe we can come back to this.
    I got the answer from its seller about the chipset in his card:

    Silicon Image SteelVine Si I 3124 AC8HU QH4898.1-1 0636 AD03AX2

    Sounds good, if i didnīt get you wrong. Still unsure, if understand everything 100 percent. But i think, this is a working chipset for my G5. Please correct me, if i made a mistake.

    Thanks a lot anyway, best regards,
    Patrick

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,125

    Default

    We keep those in stock. No problem. Using mail is pretty reasonable cost compared to other methods.

    Rick
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    16

    Default Paypal?

    But you donīt seem to have paypal. And i never owned a credit dard in my whole life :-) Its too dangerous for me, because i always spend everything as soon as possible, if i have the possibility. Therefore i never had a minus at the bank.

    So paying without credit card and without PayPal would be a little difficult.
    Maybe i can find a friend with a credit card, but first i try to get that card from ebay. I think thats easier, the seller offers paypal-payments.

    He just wrote me, that the card was running in his G4 without any driver installed.

    Best regards,
    Pat

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,125

    Default

    You're right.

    Paypal has too many security lapses for us to use. If I remember right, eBay owns Paypal.

    Rick
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •