Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 93

Thread: Apple iMac "Core 2 Duo" 3.06 24-Inch (Early09)

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Thumbs up That's better...

    Much easier to view. That is really a nice looking area.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Some of the iMac, one test and several info.
    Power Fractal:

    G5 gets 1.3 seconds - 18800.3 MegaFlops
    About This Mac:

    ASP burning:

    ASP Graphics/Displays:

    ASP Memory:

    ASP HD:


    Am having some problems with screenshots on the iMac. They are very grainy, the text looks ugly, and they are too big, a lot of white space around them. Will have to investigate that problem. Also cannot access my Apple iDisk account properly. So I used one of my two USB Maxtor OneTouch hard drives to transfer the above files to my G5 and clean them up with Adobe Photoshop CS4. Still have yet to try Adobe Reader on the iMac.

    Best times for a very cold boot on the G5 currently from the startup bong is 58-60 seconds. Same situation on the iMac is 28 seconds. Only timed it once so far. k
    Last edited by kaye; 12-13-2009 at 04:48 PM.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    There is no Adobe Reader installed on the iMac. It uses Mac OSX 10.6.2 Quartz PDFContext, whatever that is, to create PDF documents and to read them. k

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    I installed Adobe Reader on mine.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,784

    Default

    Sounds right Kaye. Apple has not shipped Reader in ages....though you can grab it if you like. Preview does a good job and is very quick, though not as full featured (or bloated) as Reader.

    10.6 screen shots are different. I like using Jing for screen shots, but there are other great third party tools too.

    Or, you can turn off the annoying shadow manually in Terminal:

    defaults write com.apple.screencapture disable-shadow -bool true

    Reboot, and try screenshot again. If you want the shadow back on, kill the pref:

    defaults delete com.apple.screencapture disable-shadow


    Then rinse, repeat.


    Oh, and Grabbing with Preview (File/Grab/Window) will not give you a shadow by default.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    thanks Unc, all good to know. I tried Jing on my G5 and it was fine. Will try on the iMac. k

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Boise
    Posts
    988

    Default

    Reader migrated over from Tiger.

    Reader not supported on this MAC, is what the finder pops up.

    Then there is:
    Adobe warns of critical Flash and Air vulnerabilities

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Have installed Jing (free version) on the iMac. Have run Cinebench R10 once and here is what I get:
    CINEBENCH R10
    ************************************************** **
    Tester : kyum

    Processor : 3.06GHz Intel Core2 Duo
    MHz : 3060MHz
    Number of CPUs : 2
    Operating System : OS X 32 BIT 10.6.2

    Graphics Card : NVIDIA GeForce GT 130 OpenGL Engine
    Resolution : <1920x1200>
    Color Depth : <Millions>
    ************************************************** **

    Rendering (Single CPU): 3558 CB-CPU
    Rendering (Multiple CPU): 6693 CB-CPU

    Multiprocessor Speedup: 1.88

    Shading (OpenGL Standard) : 6445 CB-GFX

    ************************************************** **
    G5 gets
    Rendering (Single CPU): 2011 CB-CPU
    Rendering (Multiple CPU): 3665 CB-CPU

    Multiprocessor Speedup: 1.82

    Shading (OpenGL Standard) : 2848 CB-GFX
    ************************************************** **
    Quite a speedup for the iMac. Have not yet installed the Gurus 8GB memory nor the FW800 stuff. k

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Thumbs up Sweet

    Looks good Kaye. These Intel Core2 Duo's seem nice. I did not take much time testing or comparing my iMac to my Dual 1.6 G4 Giga.

    I could feel the difference and never missed the noise the fans made in my G4 tower.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    I gave up on the wired mouse. Been using Kensington trackballs with two other computers. Ordered another (same model) Trackball for total $69.09 and it works fine. But I have been connecting so much USB that I'm getting nervous. Ordered another iHub7 today, USB powered hub, $45.87 with tax and ground shipping. Arrives tomorrow. k

  11. #31
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    1hr N/W of LA LA Land
    Posts
    3,317

    Default

    Lots of ProTools engineers love those expert trackballs. I use an Orbit myself. I can use it for hours without any problems.

    I have a M$ wireless mouse that I use with my Pismo sometimes. It's one of the few mice I actually like, but I'm still a trackball guy.

  12. #32
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Tested the HD last night:
    QuickBench(TM) 4.0 Test Results
    2000-2007 Intech Software Corp.
    Test file created on Tuesday, December 15, 2009 at 6:33:21 PM
    Test Volume Name: Macintosh HD
    Test Volume Type: MacOS Extended
    Test Volume Size: 931.192 Gigabytes
    Test Volume Free Space: 919.670 Gigabytes
    Allow Disk Cache Effects: Enabled
    Read Cache Delay: 30 milliseconds
    Write Cache Delay: 20 milliseconds
    All reads and writes performed sychronously

    Standard Test Results:
    Test Cycles: 1

    Transfer Size Sequential Read Sequential Write Random Read Random Write

    4 KBytes 20.571 MB/Sec 23.868 MB/Sec 0.707 MB/Sec 10.929 MB/Sec
    8 KBytes 55.707 MB/Sec 36.377 MB/Sec 1.503 MB/Sec 17.824 MB/Sec
    16 KBytes 86.847 MB/Sec 57.579 MB/Sec 3.007 MB/Sec 25.124 MB/Sec
    32 KBytes 129.150 MB/Sec 84.578 MB/Sec 5.753 MB/Sec 28.388 MB/Sec
    64 KBytes 168.673 MB/Sec 115.008 MB/Sec 11.369 MB/Sec 38.166 MB/Sec
    128 KBytes 205.468 MB/Sec 142.650 MB/Sec 22.202 MB/Sec 41.074 MB/Sec
    256 KBytes 232.072 MB/Sec 110.664 MB/Sec 36.531 MB/Sec 110.843 MB/Sec
    512 KBytes 245.645 MB/Sec 111.221 MB/Sec 49.362 MB/Sec 72.489 MB/Sec
    1024 KBytes 254.492 MB/Sec 179.996 MB/Sec 70.724 MB/Sec 81.028 MB/Sec

    Standard Ave 155.403 MB/Sec 95.771 MB/Sec 22.351 MB/Sec 47.318 MB/Sec


    Large Test Results:
    Test Cycles: 1

    Transfer Size Large Read Large Write

    2 MBytes 263.052 MB/Sec 181.991 MB/Sec
    3 MBytes 174.661 MB/Sec 183.015 MB/Sec
    4 MBytes 153.505 MB/Sec 144.386 MB/Sec
    5 MBytes 139.064 MB/Sec 132.966 MB/Sec
    6 MBytes 130.903 MB/Sec 126.345 MB/Sec
    7 MBytes 123.162 MB/Sec 119.599 MB/Sec
    8 MBytes 122.006 MB/Sec 105.870 MB/Sec
    9 MBytes 119.289 MB/Sec 116.728 MB/Sec
    10 MBytes 115.613 MB/Sec 112.835 MB/Sec

    Large Ave 149.028 MB/Sec 135.971 MB/Sec


    Extended Test Results:
    Test Cycles: 1

    Transfer Size Extended Read Extended Write

    20 MBytes 117.591 MB/Sec 101.841 MB/Sec
    30 MBytes 111.752 MB/Sec 100.412 MB/Sec
    40 MBytes 109.278 MB/Sec 103.758 MB/Sec
    50 MBytes 106.815 MB/Sec 97.655 MB/Sec
    60 MBytes 109.385 MB/Sec 104.324 MB/Sec
    70 MBytes 107.839 MB/Sec 102.464 MB/Sec
    80 MBytes 101.879 MB/Sec 96.556 MB/Sec
    90 MBytes 104.804 MB/Sec 99.666 MB/Sec
    100 MBytes 106.199 MB/Sec 104.200 MB/Sec

    Extended Ave 108.394 MB/Sec 101.209 MB/Sec

    Looks like QB does not use the Snow Leopard HD size calculations. No matter, either way the HD is about 1.24% used.
    Macintosh HD is a WD Caviar Black
    1TB, SATA 3Gb/s, 32MB Cache, 7200 RPM
    Capacity: 1 TB
    Model: WDC WD1001FALS-40K1B0
    Revision: 07.00K07
    File System: Journaled HFS+
    Nice drive. Working on getting my Gurus Store purchases installed today. k

  13. #33
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    I purchased both a FW800 case kit and 2 sticks of memory for 8MB total. What I needed was:

    1. Burly Single Bay Firewire Hotswap SATAII Drive Enclosure MGBurly1FWHS $254.00

    2. LCD Bay [Add $21.50]
    Firewire Burly. I have another Burly currently backing up Da Boss's iBook G4 with a Firewire 800 to 400 converter.

    I already have a Seagate 1.5TB in a Burly Single Bay SATA enclosure (with LCD) so my thought was to put the drive tray with Seagate into the Burly because it would go directly in. The firmware of the Seagate is SD17 (I don't know whether that is good or not) but firmware does not matter with Firewire 400 or 800. Obviously the Gurus Store has other less and more expensive FW800 solutions but I already have much of what I wanted.

    The Burly will be plugging into a NitroAV and all of the ports look like 9-pin FW800. So I wanted a Granite Digital cable to connect 9-pin out of the 9-pin Nitro port into 9-pin FW800 iMac port. Needed:

    9 pin to 9 pin 1394B 6ft GD4941 $47.45 GD4941
    Memory for iMac - Apple iMac "Core 2 Duo" 3.06 24-Inch (Early 2009) Specs (MB420LL/A)
    Supports 1066 MHz PC3-8500 DDR3 SO-DIMMs (1066 MHz DDR3 SDRAM) so I needed:
    4GB DDR3 1066MHz PC3-8500 SO-DIMMs 204 pins 4GBDDR3-8500SO $315.00 2 $630
    my iMac RAM
    Purchased all from the MacGurus Store. Arrived in 3 shipments. Unpacked and working on putting everything together. Thanks very much Laurie and Rick! k
    Last edited by kaye; 12-17-2009 at 08:44 AM.

  14. #34
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Xbench Test score 183.64
    My G5, most of the scores were using a RAM Disk, up to a score of 413.46 with 8GB RAM. The one comparable to the iMac with no RAM Disk used testing a Maxtor boot drive, 38% full, 8GB RAM, score 144.27. k
    Last edited by kaye; 12-17-2009 at 08:33 AM. Reason: G5 info

  15. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    OK the 8GB Gurus memory is in


    That little screw in the center of the RAM access door was in so tight, made it difficult to loosen. Then the black plastic RAM tabs are very slippery, had to use needle nose pliers to pull the RAM loose. But it works. k

  16. #36
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    How do I tell if this machine will run Windows Vista in 64-bit or only in 32-bit? k

  17. #37
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,784

    Default

    That's a big 10-4 on both the RAM cover screw and the RAM tab thingies.

    Why do they torque that little screw down like that??

    Do you want to do Bootcamp or VM software?
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  18. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Well Unc I have Fusion 3 which has both 32-bit and 64-bit. I have also looked at MS Windows 7 Home Premium which includes 32-bit & 64-bit versions. I want to run X-Plane in Windows and more than satisfy the system requirements. X-Plane can do either 32-bit or 64-bit. And it will run on either Snow Leopard or Windows 7.

    The one con I see on the net is that 64-bit may screw up my Mac system preferences. And I am a total newbie at Windows. k

  19. #39
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Decided to try it anyway. k

  20. #40
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Couple of photos of the iMac, its temporary location, and other stuff:

    You see the Gurus Burly and the NitroAV on the left, the keyboard has an iSkin ProTouch Keyboard Protector Sonic color, further right the Kensington Trackball, and then the Kensington MasterPiece Plus w/ Remote. The Macally iHub7 (USB 1.1) has been removed because my Maxtor/Seagate USB 2.0 does not like USB 1.1 at all. I can keep the iHub7 as a backup for my G5. I plug the Maxtor into the G5 front port USB 2.0.

    So the last item on the right rear is a Belkin USB 2.0 7-Port Hub temporarily robbed from the G5. Everything USB is plugged into the Belkin except the keyboard which is plugged into a USB 2.0 port on the back of the iMac.

    I changed the Finder prefs to show the hard drives on the Finder screen:

    k

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •