Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: G5 IDE Compatibility

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    79

    Default G5 IDE Compatibility

    Will a G5 run with an IDE/ATA drive on a ACARD PCI card?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,618

    Default

    Good question. I would guess yes, as long as you can find a card that has updates that support new(er) OSes.

    I helped a customer a few years back that had an upgraded G4 QS with a Siig ATA card that was having hardware issues. Turned out to be that a software update (....10.4.something...) was the issue. The card needed a firmware update or two....which took a while to hunt down from both Siig and Acard. Once patched, it was happy again.

    With the price of drives so low, how about putting your ATA drives in an external case, and going with a new SATA for your G5? You would feel the speed bump of a new drive vs. an older ATA drive.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    79

    Default G5 IDE Compatibility

    Thanks,

    I have a 500 GB SATA Drive. I just wanted to clone it off of my current ATA drive.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,618

    Default

    Would it be more useful, after the cloning is done, in FW case?
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    79

    Default

    More useful in an external firewire? I do not know the pros or cons for an external vs an internal configuration.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,352

    Default

    Hello,

    some ATA controllers shown as SCSI gear to the OS other are non bootable.

    Cloning a system from a SATA HD to such a controller can render the clone unbootable. Check that before killing the source.

    Regards

    Nicolas
    Custom Configurations! Rad Hacks and Mods!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •