Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: G5 2.5 dying, no please save me; gotta work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    84

    Default G5 2.5 dying, no please save me; gotta work

    I presume I have a collection of symptoms that you gurus have seen before,
    so I hope you can give me some advice.

    Power Mac G5, 2.5 dual
    OSX.4.11
    70 gb raptor 7200 system disk + sata etc
    4 GB ram
    A perfect performer till now


    All tech tool pro tests passed immediately prior.
    all permissions and scripts were up to date.
    apple Disk utilities passed.
    pmu reset done
    battery shows full voltage
    Nothing will start it up now, no key combination.
    i get 3 blinks on the power button error code means...?

    Great, thanks for any advice.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    3 blinks means none of the RAM passed testing.

    You might try pulling and reseating it.

    Rick
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    84

    Default

    I did, thanks. Here is what happened:

    I have six sticks.
    Out they came and back in a new place went 2 from crucial memory.
    Everything WORKED !!!!!
    In went the next 2 from crucial.
    Everything WORKED, and well !!!
    Then the last 2, the original 2 from apple.
    Everything WORKED!!!
    Then the finder froze.
    OK lets get those 2 apple sticks out.
    now NO combination of the remaining 4 sticks from crucial works.
    NOTHING works. I got several iterations of the blinking threes.
    Eventually they went away. Now I get one chime and a black screen.
    Now what?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,317

    Default

    Try an Open Firmware reset.

    If you suspect the Apple ram, maybe leave it out, then....

    Start the Mac holding down the 4 keys Cmnd_Option_O_F until the OF command-line screen appears.

    type reset-nvram and press return...

    type reset-all and press the return....

    Let us know
    "illegitimis non carborundum"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    84

    Default

    hmmm,

    Could that old battery which shows full voltage passive test
    actually have this much affect on start up?
    Cuz this machine starts up after a little rest.
    I'm afraid to shut down now, but I might try OF.

    Thanks for your attention !

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    Or it could be what seems, with a little searching, to have been a rather infamous Apple soldering issue on the motherboard of G5s. Seems you are not the only one with these kinds of issue. A Google Search on this came up with a bunch of stuff like this:
    http://discussions.apple.com/thread....sageID=8701110

    Kind of puts a different perspective. The Apple three beep spec is for out of spec RAM. Your testing confirms that. But it could be motherboard issue as opposed to RAM.

    R
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,784

    Default

    Yeah, worst case scenario: bad RAM slots = new logic board........= $ (or newer Mac).

    I would say try to find any pair that is stable, and run it for a while. Keep track of which pair, and which slots (you may have a bad slot, or slots....)

    Takes some patience. You need to know that the best test there is - bar none - is that the box is stable and happy. So get a pair of sticks in a pair of slots, and get it happy for a long test period before trying to add/change.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Well, the slots the "bad" ram's were in are functioning at this moment.
    So all that pushing and tugging on the slots, doesn't that kinda reaffirm the possibility of those faulty solders? Yuck, I hate that kind of stuff.

    Do the slots have to be filled in order? Yes, pairs, but in order? They are numbered 1-4.

    But what about "resting" the computer to make start-ups occur properly
    as I mentioned below? What could that mean?

    Will Apple Genius bar test the ram's?

    Thanks folks, for your comments !

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,784

    Default

    Shutting down should not be needed nor cause problems.

    No, Apple will pull all third party RAM.

    IBM and HP do the same thing......as though any of them make RAM.

    RAM specs here.

    If slots are available and you want to install more memory, install additional DIMMs in a similar fashion: in pairs, one per bank, from the center outward.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    84

    Default

    I know I got the proper ram for 6 years on this thing, but if the bad ram is the apple original install, wont the genius bar test that? Without bringing in the computer. Even so, I'm not convinced its bad ram yet as this thing is not behaving normally yet.

    Also, I'm getting too much and variable mdimport activity. Does that mean anything?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    Test your RAM yourself with Rember. Then swap the RAM around and test again. The RAM in the first slot, where the OS and the applications are loaded, cannot be tested. So by testing - swapping - testing again we can get it all tested.

    Rember is better than any test a 'Genius' at Apple can run. Your issues are WAY beyond what your average Apple Genius is anywhere near able to deal with. All they can do is look in their manual and do whatever it says to try - and usually what an Apple service manual will state: test, replace this part, test again, try replacing this part. They do not have a real RAM test machine. And a decent test will run for hours. You cannot count on Apple to give much of a comprehensive answer except by luck.

    Rick
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,784

    Default

    Yup. Best you could expect is they will test and replace the OEM RAM, but you need to leave your G5 there, and they have to duplicate the problem. Zero help with anything else regarding third party RAM.

    As Rick said, your testing and patience will get you better results. And we can help.

    Oh, and RAM does go bad. Fairly rare, but it happens. If it ain't happy......it ain't happy. Simple as that. Little things that are hidden to the eye like static shock and power fluctuations can do any electronics in.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    84

    Default

    now i'm afraid to try the suspected ram, cuz i cant even run the computer to run rember when that stuff is in there. I'm afraid to even touch the board if the circuits have become that fussy.
    Doesn't it take a week or so to complete the tests?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    84

    Default

    now i cannot get any start up with any of my tricks;
    every ram combo gives me 3 blinkers.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    84

    Default

    I guess dying G5's are quite common with hot processors and modified
    soldering that compromises life expectancy:

    http://forums.macworld.com/thread/103827?tstart=0

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stevez View Post
    I guess dying G5's are quite common with hot processors and modified
    soldering that compromises life expectancy:
    This we knew. The trick is figuring out the issue and coming up with a cure your pocketbook can live with.
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    84

    Default

    are you seeing anyone have success with replacing motherboards?
    Because wont all boards have the same issue at one point or another?

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    84

    Default

    So I have one of your Burly boxes on my G5 earliest.
    What is the likely cabling (SATA type A) and how can i cable into a modern macbook or macbook pro to use my back up drives (serial ata)?
    Because it does not seem to fit into any usb or firewire port. It was an firmtec pci card.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •