Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: 10.4.11 won't start-up

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Question 10.4.11 won't start-up

    I have 10.4.11 installed on my DA.
    Works really well ....but have a snag.
    It's pluged into a surge protector.

    I was screwing around back behind the PC and inadvertently hit the on/off switch to the surge protector.

    Then like a dumb a$$, I pushed the power button to fire it up again.
    Not realzing that I had shut the surge protector off!

    So, what happened was that I drained all the power from it.
    Now it wont start up !!!!!

    I unpluged EVERYTHING, including the battery.
    It sat all night unpluged, but still won't fire-up.

    Would it need a new battery?
    Would the power supply be shot?
    logic board?
    Did I end up frying something?

    Got any answers .... anyone?
    I'm stumped ...again!

    thanks, h

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,787

    Default

    So what eactly does it do......nothing at all? No lights, no sounds?

    If you get absolutely nothing, need to figure out if you are getting power. Are you sure you are getting power out of the UPS? If so, you might consider checking for power out of the PSU. I wonder if there is a fuse or circuit breaker in the PSU....

    So anyway, I would think you need to confirm power is coming out of the PSU first. You will need a meter for that and a chart for power leads out of the PSU.
    Last edited by unclemac; 03-10-2008 at 12:40 PM.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,818

    Default

    Agree with uncle, you need to make sure you're getting power out of the UPS.

    Worse comes to worse, plug the DA in a normal surge protector (or wall) and see if it starts.

    If it doesn't start, one quick and dirty thing to try is resetting the PMU:
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=86760

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Default

    No lights, no sound, no power button light, no little red light that was always on inside the box when it was pluged in(standby ligt?).

    Hit the cuda switch(5-10 sec.)

    The surge potector works because other things are pluged in it,
    Tried a wall outlet...same.

    So where can I find a PS? And whats a resonable price?
    So where do I find the right wires to test?
    I asume at the plastic connection that leads out of the PS right before it gets pluged into anything? yes/no?

    And which color wires are I looking for?
    Is ther a diagram?

    I have a meter!

    Is it possible that I could have fried something by unpluging the power switch while it's running?
    I don't see how thats possible ....but who knows.

    Didn't Brane or someone convert a PS, but had to screw with DC wires?
    Something to that effect..... if you remember that thread ...kindly give me a hint at whee I'm to look.

    Who sells PS if thats the problem?

    Thanks,h

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,123

    Default

    Last place I bought a PS was from www.galaxyhp.com David runs the place and takes pretty good care of us. I think he is around $180 for a DA power supply these days.

    Rick
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    1hr N/W of LA LA Land
    Posts
    3,318

    Default

    I've modded a couple of PSUs for airflow/noise, but never done the ATX swap.

    The problem with swapping an ATX supply into an ADC Mac is you need to provide power to the 28V ADC circuit to boot the machine, and ATX supplies don't have a suitable voltage available. You don't need a lot of current to boot if you're not using the ADC, but the voltage has to be in the ballpark.

    $180 for a PSU is kinda steep, but if you don't have the modding skills it's probably your best option.

    I seem to remember seeing a fuse inside the PSU while I was in there, but I could be wrong. I've slept since then.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,787

    Default

    I changed out the fan in the PSU in my DA, and I thought there was a fuse there too....but I can't swear to it.

    Would be worth pulling the PSU apart to see....nothing to lose if you plan to replace it anyway.

    This is even more pricey, and has a nice 30 day warranty!
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,787

    Default

    Some clues and links (and wild goose chases ) in this thread.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    1hr N/W of LA LA Land
    Posts
    3,318

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by unclemac View Post

    This is even more pricey, and has a nice 30 day warranty!
    You could buy a whole 'nother DA for less than that.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Default

    Uncle mac, I checked out those links .... hope- a -hope.

    Brane, I found a NEW PS for $185.00 .... to my door.... I can handle that.
    Plug and play.
    I don't think I'll buy a used unit .... too many mods would have to be made for the GIGA heat issues.
    Besides .... I know what I have with this one ...... then again maybe crap-ola!

    I'll pull the PS and see if theres a fuse of some sort.

    uncle mac... one thing that sticks out is the comment about the IDE connection.
    Also about unpluging HDs, DVD burner and others.

    THANKS!
    I'll be back,h

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Default

    Forgot to ask .... who knows if there is a fuse in the PSU?

    This sounds like a $50.00 question from Apple ... if I call that is!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Angry

    Well, here we are a couple of hours later... no go.
    Took the PSU out, didn't see any kind of fuse or I'm blind... could be.

    Noticed some burned spots on a circuit board, but those were there from before I installed my GIGA, but they could be burnt a little more ....I don't know.

    Unpluged the SCSI cable from the card.
    Unpluged the power cables to the HDs.
    Unpluged the IDE cables and power cables to the DVD and ZIP.

    Pluged it in....no go!

    Last resort that I can think of is..... check the wires with a meter.
    See if it is any good or not.
    Somebody please come up with the correct color of wires to test.

    Thanks everyone for the input!

    Later,h

    PS. DA sitting on my work table ... next to a large hammer....hummm

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,818

    Default

    The PSU/Mb wiring diagram is here:

    http://www.outofspec.com/frankenmac/wire.shtml

    Might try checking the one labeled +28V (although I think it's actually 24V for some reason). Without that Mac no bootie.

    Where are you located? Nicolas (another Mod) informed me of German dealer that sells modified ATX PSUs and/or cables+adapters you can use in a DA.

    I have one but the PSU is locked at 220V (no good for US), and it uses a 'brick' to supply the necessary +24V to boot the DA. Actually thinking of restoring the stock PSU....

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Default

    hey eric, thanks for that link, but I'm afraid thats a little more than I can handle ...right now.
    If you know of some mac guru thats got a APL9841-338 volts.
    I'm interested!

    Tell me more about the guy that has the ATX unit.... if possible.
    Does he have a web site.

    My adress is Champaign IL - 61820 - USA.

    I was up all night screwing with this .... went to bed and all I could think of was this crapola.
    After about six hours of trying to get to sleep....that was a no go .... got up....not only tired but pissed.

    There just has to be someone here that wants to sell one or the whole box.

    Did you see that link on XLR8 your mac site about making a Mods to Mirror Drive Door Power Supply for DA/QS Towers.... looks intersting.
    Don't know where I got it, but one of the post on this thread lead me to it.

    Guess I'll get on Ebay and see whats what.

    "help me Mr. Wizard"

    thanks, later

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    1hr N/W of LA LA Land
    Posts
    3,318

    Default

    The mainboard in my DA's PSU is warped, and discolored from heat. It's warped so bad that I covered the inside of the case on the board side with electrical tape to prevent it from shorting if it should warp more. It shouldn't though since it's now much cleaner, and cooler running than before I got it. It seems to work fine, but then I leave the thing on pretty much 24/7.

    I'm not certain, but I seem to remember there being a bus type fuse inside the PSU.

    A brand new PSU for $185 seems like a fair price, but still kinda hard to swallow when I've seen whole machines selling for near that.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Default

    Check this out ... what you think?

    I found a PSU for $115.00 to my door (used - eBay).

    Specs on the side of the PSU are the same as mine, except for one minor detail.
    It has two letters in the bottom right hand coner that mine doen't have?
    says....21...could that mean the wattage.... as in 210 Watts?
    Every thing else matches!
    The date is different of course ... I'm thinking it came after mine?

    Check it out if you have time.... eBay-Apple G4 22-pin Power Supply - AC Bel API-9841 Item number: 120232340707

    Seller: ( 9465)
    Feedback: 99.6% Positive
    Member: since Mar-03-01 in United States

    For sale here are 22-pin Power Supplies that are in good working condition, pulled from various G4 Power Macs. These units were tested and are guaranteed against DOA. These units have various Apple Part Numbers, but have the same model number API-9841.
    So he says.......duh!

    His feedback rating is fairly impressive.
    Has a seven day exchange if its bad.
    Doesn't list the wattage.

    But, you never know, I would first pop the box and see what kind of condiition
    its in.

    Doesn't say if it's for a DA.
    Counldn't it also be for a Gigibit?
    Which would be less wattage yes/no?

    Brane would know ...... over?

    So I emailed him and told him of my concerns.
    We'll see what comes back.
    If theres no answer I'll be looking else where.

    One last time: If I can't get ANY lights showing, sound, HDs spinning fans ...dead quiet after all I've checked, is it the PSU?
    Not the logic board? ... comments please!

    You might want to read this post again before making any snap judgments!

    later,h

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,818

    Default

    When I get home I'll double-check my PSU. It's sitting in a box.

    Oh about that German site:

    http://77.37.14.119/index.php/cat/c2...-supplies.html

    Too costly for you order direct I would say compared to that used PSU you're looking at.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Default

    eric, I'll be waiting .... Thanks!
    I would much rather buy from a member.

    later, h

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default Wattage

    Haz,

    Look here at this Apple Link. Find the computer you want "click it" and near the bottom of the page on the right it lists the wattage.

    Gigabit says 220
    DA - 338
    QS - 360
    QS 2002 - 360

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,818

    Default

    Sorry, in a bit of rush right now. Fastest thing was to take a photo of the label on my DA's Apple PSU:


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •