Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Uninterruptable Power Supply

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    46

    Default Uninterruptable Power Supply

    Hi-

    I need to buy an Uninterruptable Power Supply for my new ProMac. How do I find the power draw on the ProMacs? I'll need a unit big enough for that, an Eizo LCD monitor, a few other items. Any favorites to recommend?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    It should be in the info/specs.

    Look through this Google search for tools or here.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Does my monitor need to be hooked up also, or does the UPS know how to save my work and shut down without my saving manually via a monitor?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    Look up the FAQ for UPSs.
    In the Mac Pro FAQ is the power BTU also.
    (there is even a direct link)

    I do have two ups, but that was from before.
    The biggest issue is on wake from sleep for some reason, due to the PSU, which is 'grabbing' too much.

    The Mac Pro even fully loaded while running won't top much above 450W and you normally want to be at 50% just to be safe.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Thanks TZ. Seems like the 1500 is the way to go.

    Can't seem to navigate to either of the FAQ's you made reference to.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Under the Midnight Sun
    Posts
    656

    Default Apc 1500

    JJL, if you have not ordered a 1500 yet, send me a note. We have two APC units here, both 1500's (one is a Smart UPS with USB control) the other is not.

    I would be willing to sell one or both.

    Robert
    MacBook Pro Uni 2.4GHz with express card slot

    iMac G5

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    46

    Default

    eMail sent

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Thumbs up The 1000 or 1500

    I bought the RS 800VA I like it. I run 2 G4's modem/router a monitor. Works well... no real backup time ~20 minutes but my needs are protection only. Take a look at APC help and info.

    rguising has the deal.

    Yes, connect the monitor.

    If I was doing it again I wouLd defiantly get a 1000/1500. Then during electric outages if I was not computing I could run a/some small lights, radio and such around the house instead.

    The two attachments are complements of Kaye and his system. Dug from the FAQ's.

    Randy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •