Thread: Expresscard SATA host card questions

Question Expresscard SATA host card questions

Hi all,
    Christmas came early this year, and I just got a MacBook Pro with the Core 2 Duo!

I'm in the market for a SATA host card to fit into the Expresscard slot so I can use my existing hotswappable external SATA setup.

I've been looking around and it looks like CalDigit, WiebeTech and Sonnet all make cards, but I'm having trouble figureing out the difference between the cards.

Here are my questions:

1. Will any of the cards allow me to boot up from a sata drive attached via the card?

2. It looks like all three support port mutipliers, please let me know if I'm wrong?

3. Do all three support hot swapping drives?

4. Are there any other cards that I should be considering?

In my fantasy cost no concern world, I would have two hot swappable drives for my data (photos) and a RAID scratch disk of some flavor attached to the SATA card. I'm a photographer.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

catfell

I could be wrong, but I am not sure any of them are bootable. The Firmtek card would be the only one with that capability - but it isn't listed on their site.

Also I don't believe the Firmtek card has port multiplier capability, again, I could be wrong.

ALL external SATA host cards from Sonnet, Firmtek and CalDigit will be hotswap capable. They pretty much will always have that feature on an external SATA host card or the card will be fairly useless. Besides, hot mounting resolves some timing issues that caused problems with some hard drives not mounting reliably. Giving the cards hotswap ability made the timing less critical if the drive missed a request at startup.

I am not sure you will get enough bandwidth out of the Express34 slot to warrant a RAID for scratch. It may be that a single Raptor would give just as good results. Without testing there is no way to be certain though.