Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: SATA & OS9.xx

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,044

    Default SATA & OS9.xx

    Hello Rick and Laurie,
    Thanks again for the SATA PCI card.
    I purchased the power connector, installed power, interface cable etc.
    And nothing...Drive not recognized in Drive Set-Up.
    The card is shown in ASP , the drive is spinning up fine.
    ??? confused ???
    ....This is a Maxtor 100 GIG 8Mb cache SATA drive.
    I use OS9.xx exclusively. Is that the problem or ???
    Do I need a newer version of drive setup.
    Or should I sell the whole thing and get an ATA drive.
    Of course I know the obvious answer is to upgrade my OS,
    but I still have a few issues going that route.
    In any case,
    Thank You,
    David
    The more you know, the more you know you don't know.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    I used an original SeriTek in 7300, Beige G3, and B&W, but with 10K 36GB Raptors. So it should work, even with 9.1. I used Drive Setup 2.07, SoftRAID 2.2.2, as well as whatever Disk Utility was 3 yrs ago.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    ex-Cupertino, CA, USA. Now HU+SRB (Europe).
    Posts
    163

    Default Known bug in Drive Setup

    Quote Originally Posted by Macaholic
    Hello Rick and Laurie,
    Thanks again for the SATA PCI card.
    Drive not recognized in Drive Set-Up.
    The card is shown in ASP , the drive is spinning up fine.
    David
    This is a known bug in Drive Setup. It sometimes will insist a perfectly supported drive is "unsupported". I was able to trigger it with genuine Apple SCSI drives on Apple SCSI bus, so don't blame us!
    Fortunately you can easily work around by either formating the drive under any version of MacOS-X or using a third-party formating software. FWB is not a good choice because their formater has a bug, but you can use the old (MacOS-9 version) of SoftRAID even for the single drive. ATTO's older software is good because after formating with it and re-booting the Drive Setup will "consider" a previously "unsupported" drive.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,044

    Default

    Well it turns out I have a bad PRAM battery. I don't know if that would effect anything or not but I will replace that before proceeding.
    Note:The drive does not show up as unsupported, does not show up at all.
    I'll try later with Atto and Softraid and see if they see the drive.
    Otherwise I will be looking to trade the drive and controller for a similar IDE /
    ATA drive...

    Thanks for your help.

    Dave
    The more you know, the more you know you don't know.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    ATTO works, if the drive is on a controller that appears as SCSI. The only thing I would do if ExpressTools Pro even will, is to ERASE the drive (which is its way of removing any partitioning).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,044

    Rolleyes

    Well my friends,
    I am about ready to give up installing this SATA drive in my Sawtooth / OS9.xx
    I installed the new PRAM battery,
    Re-installed the OS and Apps I need..........
    Atto, Drive Set-up, and Soft-Raid do not see the SATA drive.
    I have not tested it with OSX.
    Perhaps the drive and / or the cables are bad.
    The card shows-up in ASP.
    And I hear the drive spin up.
    Damn , SCSI was easier...HAHA
    I suspect the Maxtor Drive is bad as it is a refurb. Though it was shipped in a sealed antistatic -bag.
    Perhaps I will try to return it...
    Currently I need something that works so I will ditch this project and search for a similar size IDE/ATA drive.
    I wish I had a way to test the suspect drive.

    Thanks All,

    David

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,787

    Default

    I ran SATA in a beige G3 years ago with the first Seritek card. Rock solid on a 24/7 backup server running 9.2. Also solid on various BWs and G4s that booted to 9. My money is on a bad drive.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,044

    Default

    update... Yep the drive is bad.
    Tested using 10.3,
    OS can see the card but not the drive...
    Thanks,

    Dave

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •