Thread: Raid not mounting

Confused Raid not mounting

Hello all,

I have been running a 4 disk sata striped raid for about 5 months with no problem.
    Yesterday the raid would not mount. In disk utility, it shows one slice offline and the other three as failed. I did notice that one slice seems to be s.m.a.r.t. recognized at one point, then I hear a click in the G5 and then that drive is not recognized. Right now all slices are S.m.a.r.t available, but no way to mount raid set.

Here is the console:

Aug 14 15:50:57 localhost kernel[0]: Got boot device = IOService:/MacRISC4PE/ht@0,f2000000/AppleMacRiscHT/pci@7/IOPCI2PCIBridge/k2-sata-root@C/AppleK2SATARoot/k2-sata@0/AppleK2SATA/ATADeviceNub@0/IOATABlockStorageDriver/IOATABlockStorageDevice/IOBlockStorageDriver/Maxtor 7B300S0 Media/IOApplePartitionScheme/Apple_HFS_Untitled_1@3
    Aug 14 15:50:57 localhost kernel[0]: BSD root: disk3s3, major 14, minor 12
    Aug 14 15:50:57 localhost kernel[0]: AppleRAIDSet::addMember() detected expired sequenceNumber (1) for member CB70D1B9-50ED-48B6-A595-BAD37E3F4EFB
    Aug 14 15:50:57 localhost kernel[0]: AppleRAIDSet::addMember() detected expired sequenceNumber (1) for member 6ABBAC99-473B-4CCC-B8FB-85ABE8A09465
    Aug 14 15:50:57 localhost kernel[0]: AppleRAIDSet::addMember() detected expired sequenceNumber (1) for member 588D4A48-B385-4760-AFE8-9217CE728CA9

Thanks,

Mac G5 2.0 dual 2.5gb ram OS 10.4.6
    Sonnet eSata 4x4 - just updated driver to 2.03 with no luck
    Internal 4 drive Raid- Maxtor 7B300SO
    Apple Raid

Mounting 4 extra drives inside a G5 is not the safest long term data investment you can make. Good way to cook off a drive. Best thing you can do is get those drives out in an enclosure where you can control the cooling and power supplied to them.