View Poll Results: What Mac do you use?

Voters
54. You may not vote on this poll
  • PowerMac G3

    4 7.41%
  • PowerMac G4

    23 42.59%
  • PowerMac G5 PCI/PCI-X

    12 22.22%
  • PowerMac G5 (DC) PCIe

    7 12.96%
  • MacBook/MacBook Pro

    6 11.11%
  • MacMini (PPC/Intel)

    3 5.56%
  • iMac/eMac

    6 11.11%
  • "OldWorld" Mac

    5 9.26%
  • iBook or PowerBook G3/G4

    6 11.11%
  • Waiting for Mac Pro "G6" (Intel)

    1 1.85%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30

Thread: What is your primary Mac?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb What is your primary Mac?

    I thought it would be interesting to see what people are using as their primary Mac. (And to see if I can focus in on why anyone is having trouble voting in pool - woops! poll! (too hot to go outside anyway).

    Results will not be public, and you may make more than one selection.
    (The poll on WD Raptor was single choice and public.)
    Last edited by TZ; 05-28-2006 at 11:38 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Mt. Holly, NJ USA
    Posts
    247

    Confused

    well I can't vote for a start
    Tom Babb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Virginia... where one Democrat CAN make a difference
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    I can vote

    My mac is a Rev A G5 dual 1.8 pci-x model
    Damien,

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    1hr N/W of LA LA Land
    Posts
    3,320

    Default

    G4 Gigabit Ethernet with GigaDesigns dual 1.6.

    I use my Pismo quite a bit these days too, but the tower still rules.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,352

    Default

    Hello TZ,

    good question, a week ago I would say the quad but by now I am more and more using the SuSe Linux box.

    Regards

    Nicolas
    Custom Configurations! Rad Hacks and Mods!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    220

    Unhappy

    Well I'm on my B&W G3 right now and it says I can't vote right under the poll.
    I spend most of my time on a G5 DP 2.5 but at home I'm still running this B&W G3 with a Sonnet G3/500 upgrade.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    220

    Default

    I just noticed I can't do very much here
    Posting Rules
    You may post new threads
    You may post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts
    Anyone know why? Only forum I belong to that I can't edit my own posts, let alone put up a picture.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb Appologies to all

    There is a 5 minute time limit on editing a post. Not that you can't. Moderators can edit their own posts beyond the 5 minutes.

    I think the limit on Storage Review is more like 2 minutes! and I never seem to make it back that quick.

    Can't see why and haven't found documentation or if it would require updating forum software to current version (unlikely).

    Something is wrong though

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Mt. Holly, NJ USA
    Posts
    247

    Smile fixed

    thanks TZ!
    Tom Babb

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    220

    Default

    Nice work TZ glad you figured it out.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    silicon valley, usa
    Posts
    461

    Arrow

    I have a hard time choosing between my PowerMac G5 and my PowerBook G4.

    The hours spent with each Macintosh is about equal. I'm always pleased with the one I'm behind at any given moment. My 7 commodity x86 hardware boxes are not as nice to touch, regardless of the OS (VMware ESX, Red Hat and Windows XP).

    There's something ineffiabley nice about the look and feel of Apple hardware that you just can't find with an Inspiron laptop or Zen music player.
    haiku:
    I can't remember
    the last time I restarted
    I love OS X

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    silicon valley, usa
    Posts
    461

    Arrow

    There's something ineffiably wrong about not being able to edit my own post for spelling errors.
    haiku:
    I can't remember
    the last time I restarted
    I love OS X

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Unhappy

    We (someone let's hope are going to work on or look into the editing and time-out issue, unfortunately it may not happen today but be part of the upgrade to newer version of forum BBS software from V.bulletin.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    200

    Default

    running a good old Imac G3 400MHZ 10.4.3 my second is a 266 G3 biege Tower

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    951

    Talking About to edit.....

    First, I can't really say which I use the most.
    I'll always be running my 9600 for Internet, Pro tools and small business issues.
    G4 is strictly for Adobe Photoshop and slow AE.

    I only thing I figured out on the edit issue is to compose in Word, edit, then copy paste into Gurus.

    Tackz about ten seecons more!

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Snellville, GA, United States
    Posts
    104

    Default

    Use my ridiculously-upgraded Power Tower Pro all the time. Planning to get an Intel Mac in the future for gaming and maybe to change my video work over to. Still keep the PTP for everything else. It just feels so personalized to me now.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,352

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tylor
    Use my ridiculously-upgraded Power Tower Pro all the time. Planning to get an Intel Mac in the future for gaming and maybe to change my video work over to. Still keep the PTP for everything else. It just feels so personalized to me now.
    Yep, can understand that was hard sellin' my G4 MDD, a lot of work and money to get the noise and temp down. Was a long way to my G5.
    Also have a 8600 full of goodies in a closet.

    1. Dual 2GHz: Won't start at all
    2. Dual 2.7GHz: Cooling system dies
    3. Quad: No problems but way to powerfull for the things I am doing at home
    4. Dual 2GHz: GREAT, silent, fast and still under AppleCare

    Regards

    Nicolas
    Custom Configurations! Rad Hacks and Mods!

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nicolas View Post
    Yep, can understand that was hard sellin' my G4 MDD, a lot of work and money to get the noise and temp down. Was a long way to my G5.
    Also have a 8600 full of goodies in a closet.

    1. Dual 2GHz: Won't start at all
    2. Dual 2.7GHz: Cooling system dies
    3. Quad: No problems but way to powerfull for the things I am doing at home
    4. Dual 2GHz: GREAT, silent, fast and still under AppleCare

    Regards

    Nicolas
    My Primary machine is a Powermac G4 Quicksilver 2002 800 mhz, its slow as cold syrup when processing my canon 5D files, waiting on the next Mac Pro...been waiting awhile....

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    39

    Default

    My Primary machine is a Powermac G4 Quicksilver 2002 800 mhz, its slow as cold syrup when processing my canon 5D files, waiting on the next Mac Pro...been waiting awhile....

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Sorta center to left on the ball of confusion
    Posts
    44

    Talking Old stuff: Powermac 7600 all modded up.

    However have recently bought some G4s in a surplus buy from our Univ of NC, and am going to have a modded up Quicksilver before too much loonger.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •