Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Sawtooth Sleep

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,044

    Default Sawtooth Sleep

    Not a major issue, but my Sawtooth G4 400 ( OS9.1 ) will not sleep because the finder says the case is open...
    I am sure this is a duhhh on my end but would like to fix it.
    thanks,
    Dave

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Question Strange

    Never seen that one. - Randy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    1hr N/W of LA LA Land
    Posts
    3,318

    Default

    Must be a sensor or switch somewhere.

    I remember seeing something about the case-open thing while researching PSU related stuff once.

    That helps a lot doesn't it?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,044

    Rolleyes

    I checked the latch several times and the case is closed...
    I looked for a relay , nothing...found nothiing in the service manual.
    Again, not a BIG deal, but I like everything right...../.
    Thanks...
    Dave

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,044

    Confused

    All is fixed ???
    Pulled the PRAM battery and restartedthe computer w/ no battery,
    The Sawtooth kept the correct date and time with no battery installed . ???
    Reinstalled the battery, restarted the computer via the internal button,
    (PMU / Cuda ) Reset time and date,
    All works fine now.
    What happened???
    Dave

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,044

    Default

    Well, not quite fixed yet,
    sleep still screwey,
    Arghhh...
    Dave

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,044

    Default

    Hmmm, seemed like a software problem and sleep became stable for a few weeks.
    Now I get the same message.
    "Computer can not be put to sleep because the case is open, Please close the case..."
    I repeted the previous "fix" with no success.

    Dave

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    1hr N/W of LA LA Land
    Posts
    3,318

    Default

    If you could find the thing that is supposed to signal that the case is open you may find the root of your problem. How would it know? Maybe it's a magnet like a Powerbook lid, but where would it be?

    Just playing WAG. I have little experience with sleep issues since my towers never sleep. They're either full-on or shut down.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    1hr N/W of LA LA Land
    Posts
    3,318

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Thumbs up Nice find...

    Good job Brane. What a funny quirk.
    Macaholic - I hope that helps.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,044

    Tongue

    Strange, I did not get an email regarding this thread.
    Great info and thanks.
    A big thunder-storm here today, yes Florida.( lightning capitol of the world ).
    Lost all power for a minute, the G4 restarted itself and went into sleep mode.
    Works perfect now, go figure...
    I have everythig on surge protecters, can't afford anything more.
    I do believe many problems I have ( and other's here Mac & Windoze) have here is due to voltage spikes from the storms.
    I regularly discharge the caps in my iMac by unplugging from AC and hitting the power button,
    This has restored my Cd drive many times when nothing else would work.
    I suggested this years ago and everyone thought I was crazy...
    Dave

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,044

    Default Fixed

    Upgraded to " Panther", This does not appear to be an issue anymore

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    1hr N/W of LA LA Land
    Posts
    3,318

    Thumbs up Cool.

    Welcome to the "one step behind" club.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,044

    Default

    Actually, I am in the 6 years behind club.
    It took me years to move from 8.6 to OS9.x
    Finally using OSX Panther.
    Tough to teach an old dog new tricks.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    1hr N/W of LA LA Land
    Posts
    3,318

    Default

    Yeah, when you look at it hardware-wise we are two generations back.

    At least most of the bugs have been worked out already.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •