Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Opening Quicksilver CD Drive with non Apple Keyboard?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default Opening Quicksilver CD Drive with non Apple Keyboard?

    Hey guys / gals

    Is there a keyboard combo, or can I setup a Function key to open my Quicksilver's CD Drive with the a Apple Keyboard? (NO EJECT....other than iTunes) That keyboard (and another mouse) came with the DA I bought. So I now have all my good hardware in the DA and setup like I want and am using my Apple Keyboard/mouse on it. Gonna go search on Apples site. Thanks, - Randy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    There is an option to put an eject item on the menu bar.

    System/Library/CoreServices/Menu Extras

    double-click on any of the items in there (Fax, Eject, etc) and it will now be available on the menu bar.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Thanks TZ, Post it if you remember ... I'll dig around. I am reading at Apple now. Damn this feels nice to have 2 stable computers again and better yet 2 - G4'S my ol' 7500/G3/500 won't have to cough and choke to load big pages or play poker. Randy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Virginia... where one Democrat CAN make a difference
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    Ardiem sounds like just what you need
    Damien,

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    System/Library/CoreServices/Menu Extras

    double-click on any of the items in there (Fax, Eject, etc) and it will now be available on the menu bar.

    I haven't used 7300 in 4 yrs now ;-( and retired Beige G4/500 even. A Blue G3/1000 serves as backup which seems to hold up fine so far.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    1hr N/W of LA LA Land
    Posts
    3,320

    Default

    F12?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Question I only have 9.1 but ... via my FW drive I can....

    System/Library/CoreServices/Menu Extras
    double-click on any of the items in there (Fax, Eject, etc) and it will now be available on the menu bar.
    I just remembered a little fact that the drive in it has 2 partitions. An OS 9.1 and some no longer needed backup on the other. But I can boot from my FW drive (Thanks Kaye!) open the optical drive door install Tiger on that old data partition. - That should work. - Randy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    F 12 -- Have not tried ... I just read about that at Apple and some on Ardiem. Seems like I would have hit F12 lastnight.

    I just forgot about the FW drive ... it can be on the move.

    Thanks all, - Randy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Thumbs up Good job TZ. Thanks!

    Just like that... System/Library/CoreServices/Menu Extras/Eject.menu

    This put an icon in the menu bar and enabled the F 12 key also. Randy

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,787

    Default

    You have to hold F12 down for at least a second; a quick tap will do nothing. Well, it will do whatever else you have F12 doing....

    I use it for expose and eject fine on a Kensington keyboard.

    Quick tap = expose
    hold = eject
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •