Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: New used G4

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chicago, IL 60610
    Posts
    339

    Default New used G4

    Hello,

    I just received a G4...semi-swap, semi-gift...all the way fun!

    I'm not sure which model it is and would like to soup it up a bit.

    I think it's of the 400MHz vintage...blue plastic front, the motherboard has a copyright date of 1999. 4 RAM slots (none are populated), ATI Rage 128 video card (and I am sure out of practice as I can't tell if it's an AGP or PCI slot...it's not as long as the other slots). The three bigger (PCI) slots are labeled 33MHz and the smaller one (with the video card) is labeled 66MHz. On the back is written "Family Number M5183".

    I'm wondering which RAM chips I should use and how much RAM can be put into the thing. How amenable and meaningful would a CPU upgrade be? I'd like to use the thing as a test box for OS X server.

    Thanks in advance!

    Iver

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Virginia... where one Democrat CAN make a difference
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    Sounds a lot like a PCI Graphics G4 If so then PC 100 ram should do the trick
    Damien,

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Yes PC100. PC133 works fine too. My friend/neighbor put PC133 in his G4 PCI Yikes and it worked fine. The link below will show photos of the back of them both - they look different.
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=58418

    Good score,
    Randy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    I eventually upgraded my B&W to Crucial PC100, then later to PC133, also from Crucial, and sent the PC100 to my Beige G3. Probably limited to same 1GB RAM. Even some cpu upgrades are labled "B&W and Yikes."

    Radeon 9200 (PCI) is fine, or take a slight hit in video and put SeriTek in the 66MHz slot where you might get the best I/O.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,789

    Default

    Thougth all of the 400s were AGP.....if so, it should hold 1.5 Gigs of RAM. Apple System Profiler would tell you AGP or not for sure, if you have an OS loaded.

    If you can round up a CPU of about 1 Gig (or more) you will be very happy with it. If it is AGP, should be plug and play for any of the 7455s, or you need to do a simple firmware update for any of the cool running, low power drawing 7447s, like our favorite Gigas.

    Just about any PC100 or PC133 works OK in the older G4s in my experience....as long as it is 8ns. If you need new, Gurus is always tested for the model it is sold for, and Crucial is a safe bet too.

    If you can get the CPU up to about 700Mhz, Server should run just fine, at least for testing and light use. Older versions, especially 10.2 are just slow, so ironically 10.4 Server is easiest on slower hardware. Less buggy too.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •