Thread: Blue screen after start up

Default Blue screen after start up

Hello, I have a mac g4 os 10.2 after starting it it does the usual grey screen with the circle then goes to a blank blue screen,and will go no further,can anyone please help me out?Thank you for your time. Bobby

Welcome Bobby.

Have you tried any of the troubleshooting on this page?

It would also help if you could be more specific about which G4 you have, RAM, drives, cards etc.

Thank you im looking into all options now,i will post back when i get something,im a self taught mac user,thats why im kinda in a jam,i use photoshop illustrator,and streamline for handdrawn art i do,and when something like this comes up im stuck,so i am looking through all the info you provided,thank you for your time! Bobby

Ok things are progressing i got an active desktop and am beginning reinstalling some stuff like streamline,im having a problem getting the classic start up to work though do you have any tips on making this work? Thanks again. Bobby

I never use "Classic" myself since the one OS9 app I still use will only work when actually booted from a 9 system. I started classic once just to see what it was like, and haven't touched it since.

I've read that if you do use classic it's best to install 9 first, then X onto the same volume. I use a separate volume for booting from 9. Keeps things cleaner that way.

I'm not familiar with Streamline. Is that a Haxie? I'm also not into all the 3rd party OS tweaks. I like to run things lean, and mean.

When doing any software installs always repair permissions after each install, and make sure everything is OK before moving onto the next.

I don't use 9 much and I never have used classic except to test a few years ago. I still boot back and forth from OS9 to OSX if needed. I advise keeping them on different drives or partitions. No experience with Streamline. - Randy

Lightbulb