Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: ATI 9600 Pro 256MB in a MDD dual 1.42 G4?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chicago, IL 60610
    Posts
    339

    Default ATI 9600 Pro 256MB in a MDD dual 1.42 G4?

    Hiya!

    I'm thinking of adding an ATI 9600 Pro with the 256MB to my G4 MDD/Buick 1.42 so I can run Motion (2).

    The spec of the 9600 says it should be used in a machine with a 300 watt power supply. I'm reasonably certain that the Buick has this, but I haven't been able to find a spec.

    Does this seem like a card that will work well in the machine?

    Thanks in advance!

    Iver

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    My MDD, originally a dual 1.25, came with a 400W PS. Later Apple offered a replacement 360W kit for the cost of shipping and at some point I believe started installing the 360W as OEM. There is a sticker on the PS telling all of the specs. k

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chicago, IL 60610
    Posts
    339

    Default

    Thanks, kaye!

    methinks this beast has got the power, and I'm not looking to add that much more hardware to it, so the 9600 should be cool.

    Why would they replace the 400 with a 360?

    I'll be following up on this. After Effects rocks, but Motion is something I gotta get into!

    revi/iver

    P.S. Merry Christmas!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,352

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by revi
    Why would they replace the 400 with a 360?
    Hello Iver,

    because of the noise the exchange PSU had other/slower fans.

    Only the first MDDs (867MHz, 1GHz, 1.25GHz) had the 400W, Apple changed this on the later models.


    Best regards

    Nicolas
    Custom Configurations! Rad Hacks and Mods!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chicago, IL 60610
    Posts
    339

    Default

    Hello Nicolas,

    Ah...so that's what people are referring to when talking about the fan noise on the MDD units! ;-)

    Mine's always been reasonably quiet so I wondered what the fuss was about.

    Upshot is, too, that I got the card, installed it today and all appears to be happy-happy. I don't know if it's just the power of suggestion...that I've convinced myself...but it does seem to be nicer than the nVidia card that was in there!

    I am very much looking forward to using Motion (and...drool, drool...someday Shake ;-)

    Thanks again for the advice!

    Iver

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,352

    Default

    Hello Iver,

    stupid question but why not the 9800?

    Performance wise the better card.
    Also there are some patches for 9800 PC cards (128KB and 64KB ROM), I have one here (109Euro including tax) but no time to test so far.
    A friend of mine bought the same card and it is running fine in his MDD.

    Best regards

    Nicolas
    Custom Configurations! Rad Hacks and Mods!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chicago, IL 60610
    Posts
    339

    Default Not a stupid question!

    Hello Nicolas,

    Well, I guess I went with the 9600 as I didn't know that the 9800 was compatible! It is $50 more, but I likely would have gone with it had I known.

    The 9600 seems to be working quite well, so I'm not bummed out. ;-)

    Thanks for the note, you've reminded me to be more thorough next time in my researches!

    Best,

    Iver

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Under the Midnight Sun
    Posts
    656

    Default Not all a bad choice honestly...

    Unless you are gaming the 9600 card (is it a 9600 256MB?) is a good choice.

    There have been numerous threads on problems (heat, power) and 9800's... I think you have a 'more' reliable combination.

    If it is the retail 9600 you also have the ability to drive a 30" screen (the 9800's cannot do this).
    MacBook Pro Uni 2.4GHz with express card slot

    iMac G5

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chicago, IL 60610
    Posts
    339

    Default

    Thanks for the info!

    I do think it's been a decent choice, though I haven't been pounding on the machine as much as I did before I got the card.

    Thus far, it's been a good card.

    Iver

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    19

    Default

    I bought a 9600 pro for motion exactly, but it didnt work. I have ta G4 1.42 and it would crash every minute, I even got 2 new cards from ATI thinking it was the card and it wasn’t. I think that ATI's 9600 pro is not fully compatible with the 1.42. So I think you would be better with the 9800 if it works.

    best of luck,
    Eric

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •