Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: No Power iMac

Confused No Power iMac

Bear with me, I am new to macs but I have a collected a bunch of stuff lately and the jewel (if it will work) is an Graphite iMac DV special edition, 400mhz slot loading machine with one problem. It will not power up. I do not know the history of this machine. Here is what I know, unit appears intact, currently no keyboard (got one coming from a friend), 1 memory card installed, no airport card, Li bat was flat, I replaced it and reset the PMU, no luck, fuse next to power suppy OK.How do I check the power supply itself? I get a faint sound like a capacitor charging when I plug in but no sound beep, humm, glow, etc when I press the power button , nor when I press and hold the power button. I am looking for any help to troubleshoot the problem so I can decide if it is worth fixing. How can I test the the system ot find the problem??

Default You should be very aware...

And perhaps you are (since you have it apart). CRT's, any... can be deadly dangerous, even when unplugged.

Its not worth the chances of touching something which can kill.
    MacBook Pro Uni 2.4GHz with express card slot

iMac G5

Hi, I assume you have all the service manuals to work with.
    If not let me know.
    Imac,s are as buggy to work on as laptops IMHO.
    My trusty 333 went south a few days ago, and I had to re-assemble several times,(reinstall-RAM modules,reinstall-CPU module, etc.)
    Up and running again now.
    Best wishes,

Dave

Unhappy

Could be bad...

Check this thread out, plus all the links in it.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

No Dave I have no service manuals, that would be something that would be very useful. It was a pain to figure out how to get all the layers of the case off. After the fact it would have been simple if I started in the right place.