Thread: SATA drive gone missing!

Exclamation SATA drive gone missing!

Help! My Baracuda 200 GB drive has disappeared. I was booting off of it using a Seritech 1S2 card. TechTool doesn't see it, Disc utility doesn't see it, Norton doesn't see it. (unless I'm using em wrong)

I have been booting off the Baracuda for 2 months and no problems. This morning the Mac was frozen. So I hit the reboot button and it rebooted but put me onto a different (previous boot) drive. This brand new SATA Baracuda doesn't show up on the desktop, can't be selected as a starup drive, isn't showing up in Disc Utility, Tech Tool or Norton, and I'm distressed. I just bought the drive like 2 months ago.

Here's what I'm running:
    Boot Drive (gone missing): Baracuda 200GB on Seritech 1S2
    Boot Drive (from before): ATA 75GIG
    OS9 Drive: 60GIG
    System: OS10.3.4
    Mac: Dual Processor G4 450mhz
    Ram - 1.5Gigs or so
    Uses: Photoshop Illustrator Final Cut etc.

I'd love to recover this thing and get my data back and go on with my life as it was before, but I'm more concerned about loosing a drive that is so new. This thing was supposed to solve my problems.

Anyone know what my next move should be?

If Disk Utility does not see it....that's not good.

Possible problems: cable/connection issue, failed SATA drive, failed SATA card, failed PCI slot/PCI conflict.

If you start the machine up open - careful not to touch anything - can you hear or feel the drive in question? Be sure the power cable is snuggly inserted. Is it making any noise - good noises or bad noises? No noise/vibration at all = unpowered or dead drive.

If the drive appears to be spinning up OK, check and recheck the cable connections. Try to rule out a cable issue: unplug and replug both ends of the data cable(with the Mac off or coarse), and also try the second channel on the SATA card. It is possible the data cable is bad, but no way to check without a second one.