Thread: Recommend some benchmark tests

Talking Recommend some benchmark tests

Hello all,

I just got a GD 1.8GHzDP that i'm going to install in my G4 466MHz (Dig. Audio) .

I would like to do some before/after comparison tests and post the results here but i'm new to all this and not really sure what I should do. The only test i'm aware of is Xbench which i'll try. If anybody else has a test (thats not too complicated) i'd be more than happy to try it and post the results here.

Also i'd like to upgrade my system drive, to a larger/faster SATA, in the near future. Is it ok to install the new processor first or should I wait until I get my system drive upgraded to install it?

Thanks, Jason

466 to Dual 1.8! Hang on to something that's securely fixed to the planet. This you're going to like.

As for benchmarking, XBench does a pretty good job, you'll be able to A-B the 466 and the Dual 1.8 and see how you rack up against similar rigs (only useful in a p**sing contest). Others may have some more general benchmarking methods to suggest.

A useful comparison in ProTools LE is the DaveC test. It's a way of testing and comparing performance in PTLE. Although it's not based on a real-world scenario, it is a way of max'ing out the CPU in PTLE.