Page 3 of 17 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 332

Thread: G5 2.7GHz

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    I'm very suspicious of what he may have been running in the background on the new 2.7. He gives no specifics on practically anything, no testing methodology, whether ATI Monitor is running on all 3 machines (it gives a significant boost to my X800), etc. k

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    4x 36GB Atlas 15K II U320 in a Burly 4-bay, SoftRAID 3.20 Workstation 128KB stripe units, UL4D 133MHz bus with latest ATTO software, I ran QB five times yesterday and once this morning. The 3 best:

    Extended Test Size: 100 MB Read: 344.248 MB/sec Write: 378.737 MB/sec
    Extended Test Size: 100 MB Read: 342.676 MB/sec Write: 382.160 MB/sec
    Extended Test Size: 100 MB Read: 341.982 MB/sec Write: 385.181 MB/sec

    With 128KB stripe units, the empty RAID is 136.93GB.

    Other than disabling Spotlight, I made no attempt at reducing other background apps nor unplugging my FW drive and numerous things on USB as well as Ethernet and DSL going. Plus there is another UL4D on the 100MHz bus, not connected to anything yet. But there is polling going on.

    The drives are new and tight but are already showing signs of loosening up and getting faster.

    My next step is to connect my other 4-bay Burly with 18GB X15.3 U320 drives to the other UL4D and stripe the 8 drives with SoftRAID. k

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    Kaye,

    ZoneBench might be useful to give the drives a good workout, either individually, or as a set. Setup 7-10 zones and give each zone 10-20 iterations, along with any size test file.

    Your results seem to confirm ~96MB/sec per drive in writes. I don't know if you can eek out another MBps.

    Maxtor, ATTO and SoftRAID should be as proud of your work and testing as we are.

    Maxtor Product Manuals
    Atlas 15K II Product Manual 258 pages.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Thanks TZ and I'll do ZoneBench. Couldn't have done it without you tho. k

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    1,010

    Default

    Awesome numbers Kaye! Helluva a scratch disk.

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Thanks Boots. I did ZoneBench yesterday on 8x Atlas-X15.3 striped RAID and that combo races thru ZoneBench so fast that I could not put it in the background and let it do its thing, even at its max of 511MB file size. So I finally just let the drives idle. Sometime today I should have some results but writes yesterday were 565 and this morning are up to 584 and reads pretty solid stuck at 564.

    BTW, the X15.3 drives love a cold startup, always have. The Maxtors, I now startup the Burlys and go get a cup of coffee, because they prefer some warmup before they are all ready to go even tho the LED light show shows no activity and all noises from the drives have long since silenced. k

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    QB-100MB reads still stuck around 564 but writes up to 588, now with both Spotlight and Dashboard disabled. Will make one last try tomorrow morning but with FW, DSL, and all USB unplugged except keyboard and trackball.

    I don't know if it is Energy Saver or Cocktail, but these drives don't try to sleep, which is what I want. k

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,352

    Thumbs up Kaye, one word, GREAT

    .....another brave Mac Knight fighting against the evilness of SCSI to obtain the max. throughput, of the G5.


    Seriously,





    Regards

    Nicolas
    Custom Configurations! Rad Hacks and Mods!

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    Seems like you're hitting a ceiling almost. Maybe the RAID #2 of X15's on the other controller, holds back #1 of 15K IIs? Does that make sense?

    The best r/w numbers from just the X15.3 RAID alone is about 280MB/sec?

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Seems like you're hitting a ceiling almost. Maybe the RAID #2 of X15's on the other controller, holds back #1 of 15K IIs? Does that make sense?
    Definitely so TZ.
    The best r/w numbers from just the X15.3 RAID alone is about 280MB/sec?
    4x X15.3 (2-chan) UL4D-133MHz - 286/287 (SR3.1.3 64KB stripe units)

    In order to break 600MB/s in both read and write it is going to take 8x Atlas 15K II drives. No idea how much over 600, could be huge or could be small.

    Let me explain why I think so.
    4x Atlas drives on 2 channels yield 344 reads, 379 writes. Per drive, that works out to reads 86, writes 95.5. 6x86=516. Only 8x86 would yield greater than 600 reads. Same for writes, only 8x Atlas drives to exceed 600.

    The mixture of Atlas and X15.3 drives, I can see the LEDs for the Atlas drives winking on and off, waiting for the X15s with solidly on LEDs to catch up. The Atlas LEDs don't wink when it is only Atlas drives.

    4x X15.3 drives on 2 channels yields about 286 reads and 286 writes. Per drive, that works out to reads 71.5, writes 71.5.

    With the mixture of Atlas and X15.3 drives, per drive I am getting 70.5, writes 73.5, or just about what the X15s do per drive, or basically the speed of the slowest drives. We have heard that before with SCSI drives. Not knocking the X15.3 drives, I love Cheetahs, just an earlier version of U320 drives. never had a failure of X15.1, X15.2, or X15.3 models, bullet proof. The new X15.4 drives are in the 90+ range per drive. No long term experience with any of the Atlas drives series.

    Tomorrow I should have a summary of almost all of the tests I ran. k

  11. #51
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    Not just break 600, but possibly 740 with 8 Atlas 15K IIs. I like that no winking but more important, no I/O errors or problems with that mix.

    Someone might choose to use one RAID for one task and keep the other for 2nd operation, where you want fast scratch, and fast backup, or use each set for different program; or just very fast copy operations.

  12. #52
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    4x Atlas (2-chan) UL4D-133MHz and 4x X15.3 (2-chan) UL4D-100MHz

    QuickBenchª 2.1 Test Results File
    ©2003 Intech Software Corp.
    Test file created on Sunday, June 12, 2005 at 7:59:59 PM
    Test Volume name: 8xAtlas-X15

    Extended Test Size: 20 MB Read: 463.080 MB/sec Write: 635.626 MB/sec
    Extended Test Size: 30 MB Read: 520.426 MB/sec Write: 609.421 MB/sec
    Extended Test Size: 40 MB Read: 518.134 MB/sec Write: 545.456 MB/sec
    Extended Test Size: 50 MB Read: 532.867 MB/sec Write: 553.574 MB/sec
    Extended Test Size: 60 MB Read: 550.756 MB/sec Write: 574.910 MB/sec
    Extended Test Size: 70 MB Read: 559.879 MB/sec Write: 555.688 MB/sec
    Extended Test Size: 80 MB Read: 552.963 MB/sec Write: 593.119 MB/sec
    Extended Test Size: 90 MB Read: 557.693 MB/sec Write: 567.501 MB/sec
    Extended Test Size: 100 MB Read: 564.188 MB/sec Write: 587.727 MB/sec
    k

  13. #53
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Summary of some results, some saved, some not, but notes. Various stages of break-in for the 36GB Atlas drives, all Cheetah 18GB X15.2 U160 and 18GB X15.3 U320 drives fully loosened up. 10.4.1, SoftRAID 3.2 with Workstation 128KB stripe units, UL4D on 133MHz bus, all unless otherwise stated with latest current ATTO software, QB 2.1.1-100MB file size, reads/writes (rounded):

    1x Atlas 15K II (1-chan) - 89/91
    2x Atlas 15K II (1-chan) - 172/187
    4x Atlas 15K II (2-chan) - 344/385

    4x Atlas (2-chan) UL4D-133MHz/4x X15.3 (2-chan) UL4D-100MHz - 564/588

    4x X15.3 (2-chan) UL4D-133MHz/4x X15.2 (2-chan) UL3D-66-100MHz - 454/468 (SR3.1.3 64KB stripe units)
    4x X15.3 (2-chan) UL4D-133MHz/4x X15.2 (2-chan) UL4D-100MHz - 463/472 (SR3.1.3 64KB stripe units)

    8x X15.2 (2-chan) UL3D-66-100MHz - 280/245 (SR3.1.3 64KB stripe units)
    8x X15.2 (2-chan) UL4D-133MHz - 286/286 (SR3.1.3 64KB stripe units)

    Some X15.3 and X15.2 results with UL3D-66 or UL4D:
    4x X15.3 (2-chan) UL4D-133MHz - 286/287 (SR3.1.3 64KB stripe units)
    4x X15.3 (2-chan) UL3D-66-100MHz - 285/245 (SR3.1.3 64KB stripe units)

    4x X15.2 (2-chan) UL3D-66-100MHz - 228/232 (SR3.1.3 64KB stripe units)
    k

  14. #54
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    TZ has been urging me unmercifully to get an APC UPS and then once I had it to get it installed. A real pest. So I took his advice and purchased the APC Back-UPS RS 1500VA/865 watts http://www.apcc.com/resource/include...ase_sku=BR1500 and it is a winner as is the software, PowerChute PE v1.3.3, in 10.4.1. I purchased from http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...=78485&_LOC=US and not necessarily recommending ebuyer but I had purchased a scanner from them before with no problems and their price for the APC UPS was right. Shipping to me via UPS ground was $15 and this is one heavy box but very well packaged for protection by APC.

    Also at TZ's recommendation I purchased a couple of these http://www.microdaq.com/p3-internati...watt/index.php and they have a special price currently if you buy 2 or more. Works great, lots of choices for the LCD readout, I have it set for monitoring watts. The other will go to #1 son. My only gripe about Kill A Watt is that I wish the LCD was backlit. It tells me how many watts as I am adding more items daily, currently:

    Battery/Surge outlets
    ---------------------
    1. G5
    2. display, Apple 23" aluminum Cinema HD
    3. Granite FW400 LCD swappable tray case with IBM 180GB 180GXP-8MB drive
    4. Macally USB powered hub

    Surge outlets
    -------------
    1. USB scanner

    PowerChute PE puts a monitor in the Menubar which I have set for showing battery condition (100%), and modifies the Energy Saver Preferences with a bunch of stuff. G5 set Highest Performance in Energy Saver settings for both Power Adapter and UPS. They are separate settings within Energy Saver.

    Kill A Watt, I have some perhaps interesting info:
    1. UPS running, G5 and all other items shutdown, 13-14W, battery charging and G5, tho shutdown, not completely so.
    2. Turn on FW400 drive, peak 39W down to 29W when idling. (This reading is additive in that the UPS and G5 draw is also in that peak and idling. The remainder results are also additive.)
    3. Startup G5, 368W peak down to 356W during early startup.
    4. Display on, 392W peak down to 310W as boot continues.
    5. At first appearance of Desktop, sudden 400W peak down to 305W once Desktop is complete.
    6. Open Mail, 365W peak down to 315W.
    7. Quit Mail, 330W peak down to 315W.
    8. Safari very similar to Mail.
    9. Open Pshop CS2, 370W peak down to 320W.
    10.Open Pshop CS2 Preferences, peak 401W down to 325W.
    11.Cancel Prefs, 380W peak down to 325W.
    12.Quit Pshop, 340W peak down to 320W at desktop.

    That is what I know so far along with the APC website info for this unit with my present config:

    300W - 20 minutes
    400W - 14 minutes
    432.5W - 12 minutes (Half Load)
    500W - 10 minutes
    600W - 8 minutes
    700W - 6 minutes
    865W - 4 minutes (Full Load)
    k

  15. #55
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,784

    Default

    Thanks for the info Kaye. Like the looks of that Kill-A-Watt doodad. Just what the doctor ordered....

    TZ nagging you could get old after awhile.

    If he wasn't right so bloody often!
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  16. #56
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    I plead guilty as charged!

    Just got APC magazine and see that they have an RS900 and RS1200 due in September. Those sound like Hershey's chocolate, same package, less chocolate, same price. that is one way to raise the price - and keep it the same I guess.

    Interesting numbers. G5 is really sensitive to the slightly load. Have to confess having never looked closely to see if OmniWeb was doing anything more than kicking cpu load to 80%+.

    If the wiring gets to be impossible, I use an older UPS or even a (gasp!) quality surge protector just for DSL/router/switch and those pesky AC-DC blocks they have to use (also, an older 350W UPS is on standby that I could put those and other small items on). Another trick is to use some heavy (think air conditioner) extension "cords" to reach equipment.

    I think the KAW should have come with back-lit, I miss that and have to poke around with a flashlight to see what is happening sometimes.

    Kaye, does this mean that this round of G5 "upgrades" is done? Wow, its been... a month? and a lot of testing and work. Not an "afternoon" project at all. And a lot of good numbers as a result.

    If anyone wants/needs more than 10-20 minutes, there is always the RS Battery Pack(s) which can add 1-3 hours of runtime (24v DC) that is identical in size and color to the RS1500.

    $15 for shipping is a steal. Less than $0.50-1/lb.

  17. #57
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Thumbs up Nice Kaye...

    Thats been very near the top of my "wish/want/need list" for a long time. I just hope my good quality "surge protector" works when needed. I live in the mountains with a lot of electrical storms and power surges and so far so good but...... Hopefully TZ won't have to tell me "Told you so"

    The past two years have brought so many changes with my health, working or lack of and re doing my financial situation has put it on a much lower priority on that.

    Take Care guys
    Randy

  18. #58
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Nice try TZ pest but I'm not biting on that RS Battery Pack(s). Would have to put my feet on it. I do have a 6ft. AC extension, 15A-125V-1875W coming from the wall outlet to the KAW with the APC unit plugged into the KAW. The KAW is on top of the Granite FW400 case which is on top of the G5. Still need something to light the LCD display besides the flashlight I'm using now. Working on that. Feel free to move that post to your FAQs UPS thread if you like.

    I do have the DSL/router/Ethernet on a good surge protector but want to get it all on the UPS. And yes, the G5 is very sensitive with wattage flucuations to everything. Yes, unless you talk me into something more, think I am done with this thread. k

  19. #59
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Thanks Randy. You take care of your health. k

  20. #60
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Thanks Kaye. Actually things have been looking and feeling good this spring. My physical health is great. I look better, feel better mentally and know what is going on. We assume the car accident I was in August 2003 started a tissue growth in my right hip that turned to bone. A normal thing - with that type of trauma and my condition. It has stopped growing but now I have this bone that is 3+ inches long and about 1 3/8" x 1 1/4" that lays next or on top/front of my femur. It has and does cause a lot of pain .... something I have never had to deal with. I have learned or adjusted to deal with it mostly. Still slows me down and thats tough to adjust to- I wanna go go go. Some wheelchair modifications and "pain meds" yuck.

    30 years in a wheelchair (after my diving accident), getting older it's just catching up with me.

    But I am good!
    Randy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •