Page 10 of 17 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 LastLast
Results 181 to 200 of 332

Thread: G5 2.7GHz

  1. #181
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Very good info TZ. Waiting for a response from George at FirmTek. But think I will look in your FAQs for a fast SATA drive and also PATA drive, both 300-400GB. Thanks. k

  2. #182
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Kaye

    I just purchased a Kill A Watt - (back around post 35) it's a fun little thing and a reasonable price too - ~$20. I have only tested a few things a TV and my damn window AC (Yowzer it's nearly 800 watts when cooling) .. have not hit the computers/UPS yet.

  3. #183
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    I love it Randy. Bought two and used both while setting up my UPS but with the longer term intent of giving one to my son. k

  4. #184
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    To start, I was curious about the various Oxford bridges. So I went to Oxford Semiconductor and found this page http://www.oxsemi.com/oxford/documen...394/index.html
    Digging a little deeper, the Oxford 912 is FW800/FW400. The Oxford 922 is FW800/FW400/USB2 and backwards compatible with USB1.1. Not an update to the 912 but rather another capability, USB.

    While I was at it, 911 is FW400 and ATA5. 911plus is still FW400 but ATA7 and other tweaks. None of this is the technical, but the overview.

    So I purchased an open box Other Elite-AL Pro FireWire 800/400 Drive Enclosure with Oxford912 at least satisfied that I'm not purchasing old technology.

    Next the drive. I've been purchasing Maxtor drives for both my GigaMDD and G5. So I decided to stick with that for the PATA drive in the enclosure. I have some PATA 300GB DiamondMax 10 7200RPM ATA/133 16MB Buffer HD's version 6B300R0. So I decided against the latest and purchased the RoHS Compliant version 6L300R0.

    The Elite-AL Pro case pros:
    1. Aluminum case, one big heatsink, no fan. Runs good, could not make it get hot.
    2. Easy install of the HD, but then I've done this before, some with much tighter space to install.
    3. Lots of screws.
    4. External bracket for vertical orientation or small rubber feet for horizontal positioning.
    5. Open box inexpensive price.
    6. 36" High Quality Double Shielded FireWire 800 connecting cable (9-9 Pin cable).
    7. Single blue LED for power on and drive activity (gets brighter).

    Cons:
    1. Open box so no instructions nor CD.
    2. Came with that high quality cable but FW400.
    3. I submitted an RMA yesterday about the cable, and received a response this morning that the FW800 cable would be shipped to me tomorrow.
    4. 12 screws of two sizes. Kind of a guessing game what went where but the picture on the box helped. Anyway, 4 screws left over. More HD screws.

    I now have 2 FW800 drives, this one and the Granite Combo Case. The Granite has a 120GB IBM 180GXP-8MB, fast in its time.

    Using QB3.0 in its basic no frills 20-100MB mode:
    Combo case, IBM drive, G5, and 10.4.6
    FW800
    Ext. Xfer Size*******Extended Read*******Extended Write
    100 MBytes*********54.526 MB/Sec*******51.555 MB/Sec
    FW400
    100 MBytes*********40.672 MB/Sec*******32.225 MB/Sec

    Elite-AL Pro case, Maxtor drive, G5, and 10.4.7
    FW800
    100 MBytes*********66.226 MB/Sec*******52.826 MB/Sec
    FW400
    100 MBytes*********40.812 MB/Sec*******33.847 MB/Sec

    Nothing verifies SMART for these FW800/FW400 drives. Only my Granite LCD cases and LCD hot swap cases automatically check SMART at intervals and report it on the LCD. Granite's SMARTVue also provides the extensive SMART readout shown before. But the Oxford bridge cases have no SMART readout or verification. k

  5. #185
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb Granite 2-drive bracket kit

    Complete Kit to Mount 2 new drives in you Mac G5

    SATA Dual Drive Mounting Kit with Host Adapter. Everything you need to get up and running fast. This kit includes the 5350 Mounting Kit plus your choice of either the PCI or PCI-e high performance host adapter card.

    5350 G5 Dual Drive Mount Kit ONLY $49.95
    6050 G5 Dual Drive Mount Kit w/ PCI Host 99.95
    2071 G5 Dual Drive Mount Kit w/ PCI-e Host 99.95

    OS Compatibility: Works with OS X
    (does not mention if it is bootable or not)

    The G5 SATA Dual Drive Mounting Kit with Host Adapters provides a compact, affordable solution to increasing the storage needs of any G5 Macintosh. Using the simple to install bracket and cables provided in the kit adding two drives takes only a few minutes.

    Cool operation is also provided with the unique aluminum bracket design. Support for older PCI G5s and newer PCI-e G5s is provided with two different SATA Host Adapters.
    http://granitedigital.com/catalog/pg...ualmounkit.htm

  6. #186
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb APC PowerChute 1.34

    just noticed APC now supports 10.4.4-.5 with PowerChute 1.34 and added support for MacIntels.

    Saw someone with a problem where SmartUPS where it will not do a full shutdown when pulling the power and shutdown on its own.

    Can't seem to find any extension or process in Tiger on its own to control UPS but it does. (I know it was there before.)

  7. #187
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    You lost me on that one. You mean Energy Saver -> UPS? I'm seeing it in Prefs and Menu Bar. Set for shutdown with 5 minutes left. Never tested whether it works though. k

  8. #188
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    You lost me on that one. You mean Energy Saver -> UPS? I'm seeing it in Prefs and Menu Bar. Set for shutdown with 5 minutes left. Never tested whether it works though.
    Me too. Mine is set on 4 minutes but I never tested it myself - I just trusted it would - humm so maybe I should test it and see if I have any problems. Do you mean a newer version of PowerChute?

  9. #189
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    The way Apple handles what happens when you have Energy Saver setting:
    Restart after power failure
    changes everything so that it does start to shutdown, but then waits.
    Despite the fact that, for who knows what reason, Apple doesn't seem to shut the system down, purposely hanging it (I guess to force the machine to auto-reboot?), it seems to work rather well.

    If one disables Automatically Restart after Power Failure, then the system goes off.

    The theory is that when the UPS turns back on, the G5 will automatically reboot because power was cut when the machine was still turned on. Thus, everything turns back on after a power-failure when the UPS is required to shut down.

    Graceful UPS Shutdown?

  10. #190
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    I checked my Energy Saver prefs for both Power Adapter and UPS and Restart automatically is not checked in either so I think I am OK, the G5 will shutdown at the time I have set in UPS, 5 minutes. k

  11. #191
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Kaye, I am setup the same way except (4 minutes). Before I had a UPS there were times electricity went off, computer went off and it never restarted. It has was always been set to "Do not restart after power failure" in the System prefs.

    TZ, Does APC's UPS mess/conflict with these settings? I could pull the plug and find out in 20 minutes what it does.

  12. #192
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Now that I have two FW800 drives, I emailed Kenny at Granite about my new concern. My G5 has only one FW800 port (on the rear right next to the FW400 port) and I am scared to death of losing it. Both MacAlly and D-Link have a history of frying their hubs on the G5. I don't know if true of their FW800 hubs. Some kind of voltage mismatch I'm told. And I don't know if anyone has lost their one FW800 port. I don't have an open PCI-X slot for a FW800 PCI card.

    Kenny called me back to say that their Granite 2380 3 Port 1394-B 800 Repeater/Hub has been flawless on the G5. They have a large contract with a company to supply that and other stuff. Anyway, after we talked Kenny sent me this:
    1. 2380 3 Port 1394-B 800 Repeater/Hub
    2. 1260 Optional 9 Volt 1000ma Power Supply
    3. 4198 9 Pin to 9 Pin 1394B 3 ft.

    Details, the Repeater/Hub is claimed to clean as well as regenerate the signal to allow for longer cable lengths. The 4198 cable does not have an LED on it. Only their FW800 to FW400 cable does. I could have daisy chained the FW800 drives thereby eliminating the need for the hub but I'm not a fan of that method with FW. The 3 ports include the input port from the mobo port and any of the 3 ports can be used as the input port. Even if both FW800 drives are shutdown and the hub power supply is disconnected, mobo FW800 power will power the Repeater/Hub evidenced by two LEDs coming on inside the hub. It comes with a 3 foot FW800 cable (not the Granite heavy duty cable). It also comes with six snap-on covers of various colors.

    Mobo FW800 port ->4198 cable->Powered 2380->two FW800 cables off of each of the remaining ports to the drive cases. Works great. k

  13. #193
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    More good news. The Other 36" High Quality Double Shielded FireWire 800 connecting cable (9-9 Pin cable) arrived yesterday. It is a step up from the FW800 cables that came with the Repeater/Hub and my original Granite FW800 ComboDrive case kit. Not as heavy duty as the 3 ft. 4198 Granite cable of course.

    Now the bad news. Since around 2003, Rob ART of BareFeats has complained about FW800 striped RAID low results when connected to the G5 FW800 port. Several subsequent tests of his still confirm poor results. A FW800 PCI/PCI-X card running two channels (rather than daisy chain) is the only solution.

    When I ran 2x Granite ComboDrives several years ago, one borrowed from Rick, on my MDD with a FW800 PCI card, both Apple RAID and SoftRAID 3.0.0 in 10.2.6 achieved 100MB results of 108MB/s read, 91MB/s write.

    On the G5 mobo FW800 port, striped RAID with either Apple RAID 64/128/256KB stripe units or SR 3.5 64/128KB stripe units made very little difference, results 100MB 83MB/s read, 54MB/s write. As Rob ART said, almost as if the mobo controller got confused and decided to run the FW800 port at FW400 speeds.

    So that G5 issue is still not fixed unless the G5 Intel desktop Macs do better. I don't plan to run the two FW800 drives in striped RAID anyway but thought I would check it out and see. k

  14. #194
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    Kaye said:
    FW800 RAID: 83MB/s read, 54MB/s write.
    Got me looking for FW800 speeds sans RAID.

    Elite-AL Pro case, Maxtor drive, G5, and 10.4.7
    FW800
    100 MBytes*********66.226 MB/Sec*******52.826 MB/Sec
    Which clocks in slower than MDD and 160GB T7K250.
    And shows the RAID barely inching in front of single drive!?

    I think those FW RAID Oxford 922? bridges that handle the RAID turn in a tad better.

    Of course running off PCI-X FW800 would be only way to see if it bypasses or "corrects" for motherboard issues.

    Almost reminds me of the G5 "Lite" and PCI bus stuck at 75MB/sec. What is up with the engineers at Apple?

    Makes it easy to endorse and recommend Serial ATA of course.

  15. #195
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Yup, slow G5 mobo FW800 port. I can live with that. Is there a PCI-X FW800 card tho? I've got that NitroAV FW800 card in my MDD but don't think it fast PCI-X. Will have to check. You know of something? k

  16. #196
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    On my GigaMDD yesterday with NitroAV FW800 card, the Elite-AL Pro FW800 hooked directly to a FW800 port tested slightly faster than the G5, 66MB/s reads, 56MB/s writes.

    However RAID was slower than the G5 with 2x FW800, each drive connected directly to separate FW800 ports on the NitroAV card. 75MB/s reads, 53MB/s writes.

    Where I achieved 108 and 91 with 2x FW800 was with 2x NitroAV cards, and 2x FW800 drives, each one on its own NitroAV. Very impractical.

    I think you gotta have one mobo FW800 port and one FW800 card, or two FW800 cards. BTW, more info from Kenny on the Granite FW800 Repeater/Hub:
    Green LED on means either power on from power supply or power coming from the FW800 internal bus.
    Amber LED on means a FW800 signal on the bus, not activity, just a signal.

    Finally, I have my drive/volume icons modified on the G5 similar to what I did on the MDD.


    Macintosh HD is the SATA drive I keep in a safe. The two FW drives are at the bottom. Still working on the FWComboDrive icon to make it larger. Currently it is a smaller size:

    k

  17. #197
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb Quad Interface SATA/FW drive case

    "Quad interface" eSATA + FW800/400 + USB"
    Includes QuickBench chart for each (except USB).
    Uses the Oxford 924 bridge.
    The above comes with 500GB (Hitachi? Seagate? WD?)
    'case-only' $109

  18. #198
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Yes, I am curious about what drive too. k

  19. #199
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    DUH, it's right on the page, Standard mechanism: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10, just above the benchmarks. k

  20. #200
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Updated the UPS diagram with changes that required widening (same length).

    k

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •