Results 1 to 20 of 332

Thread: G5 2.7GHz

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Talking G5 2.7GHz

    Delivered yesterday to go with a 23" Cinema HD display. I purchased some extras but essentially 512MB RAM (CL3), Radeon 9650 w/ 256MB VRAM, and 250GB WDC WD2500JD-41HBC0 8MB cache drive.

    Last night and this morning. I ran some tests: Cinebench for G5(beta). Altivec Fractal Carbon, and Xbench.

    I then removed the OEM RAM and installed 4x Gurus 1GB sticks with stickers on the sticks that say CL2.5 and Tiger System Profiler confirms as 25330. What a deal at the Gurus Store. Thanks Rick, Gurus RAM works flawlessly. Again with the 9650 and now with 4GB RAM, I reran the three tests ending with an Xbench score of 399.86 running a RAM disk.

    Tomorrow I hope to install a Radeon X800 XT ME and run Cinebench and Xbench again. Altivec Fractal Carbon is a CPU intensive test and gives me the same score regardless of RAM amount. Will summarize results afterwards. But what a sweet machine.

    Then I plan install a UL4D. At some point will run Boot's Pshop Test with Pshop CS2. Have not decided on a SATA card yet. k

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Couldn't stand that Xbench score of 399.86 so I ran it again tonite and now 402.15. Posted to the Xbench G5 DB. k

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,352

    Thumbs up Congratulations!!!

    Tried to boot my new G5 at work today (arrived 8.10 am).

    No go

    After removing 2GB of RAM it booted up.
    Installed this RAM in an 1.8 single, there it was working.
    Installed the RAM from the 1.8 in the 2.7GHz and it was running.

    Config:
    G5 Dual 2.7GHz
    6GB RAM
    2x Atlas 15kII 73GB
    ATI 9650
    ATTO UL4S
    Fibre Channel
    2x 19" Xerox TFT

    OS 10.3.9 (had to install this on another G5 and moved the HD to the 2.7GHz afterwards)

    XBench score: 416.34! (Atlas) 422.15! (FC RAID)

    Regards

    Nicolas
    Custom Configurations! Rad Hacks and Mods!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    kaye,

    ATI posted a ROM update for the X800 last night.

    I assume that breaking 400 is some kind of record, guys!


    Kudos to 'Gurus for best endorsement and support for G5 2.7.

    rick has enough on his plate for the next couple... months... to keep busy without worrying about RAM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    That is super Nicolas. Post both to Xbench. Mention MacGurus in the comments. I think this OEM drive is holding me back.

    I got your email TZ about that and thanks. Yes we are the first ones to break 400. k

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,787

    Default

    Very nice gentleman.

    Hey Nic....was that FC setup as hard to install and configure as I warned you?
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,352

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by unclemac
    Very nice gentleman.

    Hey Nic....was that FC setup as hard to install and configure as I warned you?
    Yes, it was

    Completely painless, thanks again Unc!

    Sorry guys, no 400MB/s just 372MB/s (HW FC RAID0 two channels connected)
    RAID0 was configured for testing only, RAID5 scores are lower around 250MB/s.

    I want to try 6 of those Atlas drives with two UL3D's next week when the HD's arrive.

    The FC card is installed in the 133MHz slot right now.

    Don't have inet access on this beast.

    Two ? for you guys:

    Should I use 2 UL3D's or an UL3D and the UL4S?

    Do you think I can create a software RAID0 (using DU) with 4x Atlas and the FC HW (creating a volume with 73GB)?

    Regards

    Nicolas
    Custom Configurations! Rad Hacks and Mods!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Gimmie 5 bucks on Kaye to hit 425 first. xBench's Newest Top Dog - Kaye. Need to say powered by Guru's hardware and technical support. Ah I just read the RAM plug. Nice.

    Great job guys.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •