Page 1 of 17 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 332

Thread: G5 2.7GHz

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Talking G5 2.7GHz

    Delivered yesterday to go with a 23" Cinema HD display. I purchased some extras but essentially 512MB RAM (CL3), Radeon 9650 w/ 256MB VRAM, and 250GB WDC WD2500JD-41HBC0 8MB cache drive.

    Last night and this morning. I ran some tests: Cinebench for G5(beta). Altivec Fractal Carbon, and Xbench.

    I then removed the OEM RAM and installed 4x Gurus 1GB sticks with stickers on the sticks that say CL2.5 and Tiger System Profiler confirms as 25330. What a deal at the Gurus Store. Thanks Rick, Gurus RAM works flawlessly. Again with the 9650 and now with 4GB RAM, I reran the three tests ending with an Xbench score of 399.86 running a RAM disk.

    Tomorrow I hope to install a Radeon X800 XT ME and run Cinebench and Xbench again. Altivec Fractal Carbon is a CPU intensive test and gives me the same score regardless of RAM amount. Will summarize results afterwards. But what a sweet machine.

    Then I plan install a UL4D. At some point will run Boot's Pshop Test with Pshop CS2. Have not decided on a SATA card yet. k

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Couldn't stand that Xbench score of 399.86 so I ran it again tonite and now 402.15. Posted to the Xbench G5 DB. k

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,352

    Thumbs up Congratulations!!!

    Tried to boot my new G5 at work today (arrived 8.10 am).

    No go

    After removing 2GB of RAM it booted up.
    Installed this RAM in an 1.8 single, there it was working.
    Installed the RAM from the 1.8 in the 2.7GHz and it was running.

    Config:
    G5 Dual 2.7GHz
    6GB RAM
    2x Atlas 15kII 73GB
    ATI 9650
    ATTO UL4S
    Fibre Channel
    2x 19" Xerox TFT

    OS 10.3.9 (had to install this on another G5 and moved the HD to the 2.7GHz afterwards)

    XBench score: 416.34! (Atlas) 422.15! (FC RAID)

    Regards

    Nicolas
    Custom Configurations! Rad Hacks and Mods!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    kaye,

    ATI posted a ROM update for the X800 last night.

    I assume that breaking 400 is some kind of record, guys!


    Kudos to 'Gurus for best endorsement and support for G5 2.7.

    rick has enough on his plate for the next couple... months... to keep busy without worrying about RAM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    That is super Nicolas. Post both to Xbench. Mention MacGurus in the comments. I think this OEM drive is holding me back.

    I got your email TZ about that and thanks. Yes we are the first ones to break 400. k

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,785

    Default

    Very nice gentleman.

    Hey Nic....was that FC setup as hard to install and configure as I warned you?
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,352

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by unclemac
    Very nice gentleman.

    Hey Nic....was that FC setup as hard to install and configure as I warned you?
    Yes, it was

    Completely painless, thanks again Unc!

    Sorry guys, no 400MB/s just 372MB/s (HW FC RAID0 two channels connected)
    RAID0 was configured for testing only, RAID5 scores are lower around 250MB/s.

    I want to try 6 of those Atlas drives with two UL3D's next week when the HD's arrive.

    The FC card is installed in the 133MHz slot right now.

    Don't have inet access on this beast.

    Two ? for you guys:

    Should I use 2 UL3D's or an UL3D and the UL4S?

    Do you think I can create a software RAID0 (using DU) with 4x Atlas and the FC HW (creating a volume with 73GB)?

    Regards

    Nicolas
    Custom Configurations! Rad Hacks and Mods!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Gimmie 5 bucks on Kaye to hit 425 first. xBench's Newest Top Dog - Kaye. Need to say powered by Guru's hardware and technical support. Ah I just read the RAM plug. Nice.

    Great job guys.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    Two ? for you guys:
    Should I use 2 UL3D's or an UL3D and the UL4S?
    Do you think I can create a software RAID0 (using DU) with 4x Atlas and the FC HW (creating a volume with 73GB)?
    I have a hard enough time trying to figure what your thinking of doing. It's fun to watch. I must have no life....

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,352

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rwm
    I have a hard enough time trying to figure what your thinking of doing. It's fun to watch. I must have no life....


    And yes, I thing Kaye hits 400MB/s first too.

    The idea is, creating a RAID0 volume using 4 AtlasII's and a 73GB partitioned volume on the FC RAID (with Disk Utility).
    In theory I schould have 4x 90MB/s from the Atlas' and 350MB/s from the FC RAID. All in all around 700MB/s of total throughput.

    It was late last night the drives from the FC RAID as JBOD.

    Regards

    Nicolas
    Custom Configurations! Rad Hacks and Mods!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    This is what Hardware Monitor reports in Tiger at a room temp of 78F

    Some of it I don't yet understand. k

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    on the landline, Mr. Smith
    Posts
    7,785

    Default

    It sure is nice to have more than enough info though, wouldn't you agree Kaye?

    The G5 Xserves give all this (minus the radiator pump of coarse!) and even a bit more....in nice little app that will chart it over hours/days too. Very good stuff. Macs are finally getting all grown up.
    "Imagine if every Thursday your shoes exploded if you tied them the usual way. This happens to us all the time with computers, and nobody thinks of complaining." -- Jef Raskin

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Yes unc it is nice to have all of the info. Hardware Monitor has a graphing function as I recall. Will have to set it up. k

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,352

    Default

    Kaye,

    do you have this "fan cycling" on your G5 too?

    As soon as the CPU's reaching 60% the fans kick in at higher speed.

    If I try to convert some Images, you can count how much it is images by cuz on each image the fans are spinning up

    Regards

    Nicolas
    Custom Configurations! Rad Hacks and Mods!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Nicolas,

    I hadn't noticed that. Will pay more attention and report back. k

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Compilation of four bench tests I ran on the G5 2.7GHz DP, Altivec Fractal Carbon, Cinebench 2003 G5 (beta), Xbench, and Intech QuickBench, all with Apple 23" Cinema HD display at 1920x1200, Millions.

    Three different configurations except for the QuickBench test:
    C1: OEM as shipped with ATI 9650 XT w/256MB, 512MB RAM (CL3), WD2500JD 250GB 8MB cache SATA
    C2: RAM replaced with 4GB MacGurus RAM (CL2.5), 4x 1GB sticks, RAM Disk created for Xbench
    C3: 9650 replaced with ATI X800 XT w/256MB

    Altivec Fractal Carbon:
    0.7 sec - 18433.1 MegaFlops, default settings, all configs C1 thru C3, CPU bound app.

    Cinebench 2003 G5 (beta):
    CINEBENCH 2003 v1
    ************************************************** **
    Tester : kyum
    Processor : G5-2.7GHzDP
    MHz : 2700
    Number of CPUs : 2
    Operating System : 10.4

    Graphics Card :C1-9650, C2-9650, C3-X800
    Resolution : <1920x1200>
    Color Depth :
    ************************************************** **
    Rendering (Single CPU): C1 thru C3-385 CB-CPU
    Rendering (Multiple CPU): C1-705 CB-CPU, C2-705 CB-CPU, C3-709 CB-CPU

    Shading (CINEMA 4D): C1-360 CB-GFX, C2-361 CB-GFX, C3-361 CB-GFX
    Shading (OpenGL Software Lighting) : C1-1010 CB-GFX, C2-1020 CB-GFX, C3-1071 CB-GFX
    Shading (OpenGL Hardware Lighting) : C1-1642 CB-GFX, C2-1704 CB-GFX, C3-1809 CB-GFX
    ************************************************** **

    Xbench:
    C1-288.28, C2-402.15 (w/ RAM Disk), C3-402.73 (w/RAM Disk)

    QB2.1-100MB:
    WD drive with 10.4 and all iLife components and test utilities, mobo SATA
    Extended Test Size: 100 MB Read: 54.434 MB/sec Write: 62.156 MB/sec

    Maxtor MaxLine III 300GB 16MB cache, empty, mobo SATA
    Extended Test Size: 100 MB Read: 55.749 MB/sec Write: 71.874 MB/sec

    Keep in mind that everything is getting faster as they burn in. k

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Nicolas,

    I'm not getting that fan cycling at 60% CPU and above, even at 100%. Maybe because I have Processor Performance set at Highest in the Energy Saver pane in Options? This thing is really quiet and cool even when I let the room temp get up to 80F this afternoon. k

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    TZ suggested I take a look at the Apple QuickTime HD Gallery http://www.apple.com/quicktime/hdgallery/

    I looked at three with QT 7 Pro, Fantastic Four, wildlifeHD Reel, and BBC Motion Gallery Reel which I like the best. Best even with my DSL at T1 speed to let it load completely because the play catches up to the download very fast. But they are all stunning in full screen with Video codec H.264. The BBC also has a 1080 version. That one you download a zip file, unstuff and play the movie. Again stunning. k

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    This morning I succeeded in Pshop CS2 activation transfer to the G5 and since the installer couldn't find a previous version of Pshop or other qualifying product it did offer a previous Pshop serial number entry. I used 7.0.1 serial number and the installation completed.

    Good to go there. I also queried TZ for his recommendation for setting up my 2 SCSI Burlys and he said to use the UL4D (133MHz slot) for 4x drives and a UL3D-066 (100MHz slot) for the other 4x drives. The floor around me is going to get very crowded. That will be a few days away for a Pshop test. And 2 more 1GB sticks arrive Tuesday to bring the total to 6GB.

    Yesterday I ran the Apple Hardware Test v2.5, the Extended Test. With 2 HDs (250GB and 300GB) and 4GB RAM, the test took 1h:40m:03s. Everything passed but it did not recognize the Radeon X800 XT ME and would not do the video RAM test.

    The test also gives a more complete profile of the RAM sticks than Tiger System Profiler. For instance:

    DIMM0/J11 1024MB
    PC3200-25330, DDR SDRAM
    CL2.5:5., CL2: 6.0(ns)
    64-2, MDT 1GB PC400 CL2.
    Rev 3531, 0510, 31

    That is the punctuation exactly. Don't know what it all means. k

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    I have now been running the Radeon X800 XT ME for several days and the Xbench results continue to get faster, it seems mostly because the card's OpenGL And Quartz keep improving.

    Posted before 402.73, then day before yesterday 403.85, and this morning 406.50 with a large improvement in the OpenGL test. I may be reaching the limit now but will try again one or twice before I get it on the Xbench DB. k

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •