Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Hard drives for 9600/500

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    North Bergen, NJ USA
    Posts
    13

    Default Hard drives for 9600/500

    Hi Guys,
    OK, I have a 9600 I want to use for digital audio (Digital Performer 3.11). I had a Miles 2 with 2 18g 10k Cheetahs striped which are no longer working (that story will be in a different thread in a day or so). Anyway, this system worked GREAT for me and I want something similar in performance to the Cheetahs. From what I've been reading here, these ATA/SATA drives look pretty interesting (the price is right, that's for sure) but can I use these in a 9600 for audio? Thanks in advance for the advice!

    Randy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Default

    While SATA works in OldWorld, and supports audio, it is 20MB/sec and affects PCI bus bandwidth. Why not just get a 36GB 10K SCSI if the Miles2 is in working order? They are cheap - if you remember when an 18GB 10K cost $300. In fact you could get one 73GB 10K drive for $235 and it would be as fast as your RAID was.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,044

    Default

    it is 20MB/sec and affects PCI bus bandwidth
    Really? New info for me TZ, thanks.
    I was thinking of a Tempo controller and such for my old 9600, but your post makes sense.
    And I rember all the stuttering problems from days of old.
    So perhaps for dumb storage on oldworld boxes only?(still could kill bandwidth)
    I had a Miles 2
    Randallx, I hope you still have it.
    To be honest , I embraced the Mac platform years ago for its recording capabilites.....but got sidetracked...
    Someday I will plug my guitar into my computer.
    Funny how life takes the wheel.
    Always learning...I hope!

    Dave

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Lightbulb

    Today's ATA drive controllers work if you need large amount of storage and it does deliver "acceptable" performance. Until you put one of today's 10K or 15K drives to use.

    I put a 10K Raptor 36GB in 7300 and like any Raptor, they tend to have optimized write, which was ~25MB/sec and 20MB reads.

    And I don't know how 9600 would take to it, to be honest. For all I know you could use two SeriTek cards (upper/lower) and RAID across just to see or for fun, like you could with a pair of U2 cards.

    I run SCSI on Beige, B&W, but on MDD those ATA drives are okay and 57MB/sec. I still prefer SCSI there, but external only, not internal. Fast disk drives make up for slow memory in older systems and you can't pry my hands off 15K drive even if it 'only' gets 45-55MB/sec, it runs OS X better.

    Also, the new Atlas 10K V is a lot quieter and cooler than prior generations, while maintaining a minimum 70MB/sec, 89MB/sec outer tracks, over 1100 I/O per sec I think... I am still waiting to get one to try. The Atlas 15K II delivers 98MB/sec (Cheetah 15K.4 is ~95MB/sec) and both are optimized more for desktop use. The Cheetah, you can change firmware or something, the Atlas optimizes the number of cache segments and drive characteristics during use.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default opps 1 minute late

    Remember there are two Miles host cards. A Miles UW? and the Miles U2W. was that just Ultra 160 vs. 320? or what was the difference between them?

    I have a Miles U2W with 2 - 18 gig 10K Cheetahs (on same ribbon) in my 7500 G3/400

    TZ... Kaye... any SCSI brains... ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Default

    Miles2 is Ultra80, they didn't offer Ultra160 though it supported U160 drives. Lightning!!!!!!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Ane Miles is UltraWide40. k

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    North Bergen, NJ USA
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TZ
    In fact you could get one 73GB 10K drive for $235 and it would be as fast as your RAID was.
    Who/where for above drive TZ? What brand, Seagate? Thanks everyone!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,044

    Default

    Who/where for above drive TZ? What brand, Seagate? Thanks everyone!
    to keep the thread alive;


    Dave

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,352

    Default

    8600 with G3 300/512KB cache and ATTO PSC (UW 40MB/s).

    Connected to a 10K6 Seagate Cheetah 36MB/s (ST336607LW).

    Same drive, same Mac connected to an ATTO UL2D 42MB/s

    Same drive connected to MDD/UL3D 70MB/s

    G2 8600/200 32Bit 33MHz : approximately 35MB/s

    G2 9500/132 32Bit 33MHz : approximately 32MB/s

    G2 9500/200 32Bit 33MHz : approximately 38MB/s

    So it depends on the CPU too.

    Regards

    Nicolas
    Custom Configurations! Rad Hacks and Mods!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •