Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Dual 867 Quicksilver processor card

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    79

    Default Dual 867 Quicksilver processor card

    If I want to swap a dual with a single, are there any other configurations that need to be changed or is it just plug and play?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,124

    Default

    Apple to Apple, nothing else to do.

    The entire swap should be contained within the change of processor units if both are from Quicksilver machines.

    Rick
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Thanks

    Is $85 excessive for this processor?

    Ebay has similar (MDD) duals for starting bids of $50 +shipping.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,124

    Default

    Maybe someone else can answer that. Only someone who has recently been looking at that particular component and the prices they have been carrying can tell you what they are selling for. I have never looked at those and have not the slightest clue.



    Rick
    molṑn labe'
    "I am a mortal enemy to arbitrary government and unlimited power. I am naturally very jealous for the rights and liberties of my country, and the least encroachment of those invaluable privileges is apt to make my blood boil."
--Ben Franklin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    220

    Default

    MMD daughter cards are not the same as the Quicksilver's. Why swap a dual for a single? I've never heard of anyone doing so.
    You can search here to see if it's been done and what the success rate is tho.
    http://forums.xlr8yourmac.com/cpureview.lasso

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    QS to QS --> Should be plug and go
    DA to DA --> Should be plug and go
    QS to DA --> Should be plug and go but you need to add 12 volts to the 4th bolt hole on processor card. People have done this a lot. Search here or Google.
    MDD to MDD --> Keeping the fsb at 133 or 167 should be plug and play. If you are up to some soldering. Some people have tweaked a 133MHz bus to a 167MHz bus. Stability always seems to be an issue and might be a lot of problems.
    MDD to QS/DA --> Very different processor cards so this is a no go.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Thanks for all the info:

    For Almaink: didn't intend to mislead: the swap is single to dual and I do understand that MDD and QS are different. I was only trying to draw some conclusion on the price even with the differences in the processors.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default Does this help?

    Hard to put a value on an older slower processor. What is the goal? A Surfing, emailing computer or graphics, photos, 3D Gaming? For the most a Dual 867 won't feel much faster if any than a single. It will however plow through multiple chores full blast. IMO - A dual seems to shift down a gear and always has extra power it's tougher to slow down. It will not feel like 2 x 867MHz. I'd say more like a single 1Ghz.

    How long do you expect 85 dollars until you need more computer? If you spend 85 now. How long do you expect to run it to be satisfied - a year? A month?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    79

    Default

    I just noticed that this processor is a 1GHz Dual (print too small to readily and easily see. Would it be plug and play QS to QS or is there something system-wise that would cause it not to work?
    Thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Thumbs up Yes it should

    The QS came with a Dual 1GHz in it's final days. Look at the Second row (QS 2002) and under processor info you'll see. From Apples tech pages http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=42739

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    NW Montana
    Posts
    8,197

    Default

    The Dual 867 was on the MDD only as I remember.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    79

    Default

    OK, I tried to install this 1 GHz DP into my QS. On one occasion it booted and ran normally. Most times it would not boot and gave me CPU failures and other codes.

    I checked this CPU on another OS and it did function normally so I guess something is wrong with my QS.

    Fresh battery installed, pulled all cards and reinstalled one-by-one, reset CUDA nothing worked.

    What did I miss?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •