Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 70

Thread: GigaBump an MDD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Lightbulb GigaBump an MDD

    My MDD died a horrible death. One morning I went to boot up and got a black screen and no curser of any type. 28 seconds later, the main 120mm fan came on at a level I had never heard before, like a jet engine. The Gurus gave me a slew of tips. Tried them all with the same result. Jason at Giga offered to test my CPUs board. Rick and Jason collaborated to send me the Giga MDD upgrade. Still no go. Took the MDD to the local Apple Store Genius Bar, armed with my 3 year AppleCare, and the Genius Level 1 guy ran thru a whole series of tests while I watched. He concluded it was the logic board. Less than 24 hours later I received a call that the MDD was ready for pickup. Bill was just under $500, new version 3 mobo, my cost ZERO. AppleCare at $249 paid off very well. Both Rick and Jason were very kind and I bought the GigaBump.

    What I had: MDD G4-1.25GHz DP dual boot, FW400, 167MHz bus shipped 09/25/2002.
    Now: GigaBump MDD G4-1.42GHz DP

    Some pics of the GigaBump MDD upgrade installation. I dumbed down the size and resolution of the pics to keep them small. Anyway...

    Pic below shows what is inside the box. The foam packing inside is industrial strength. The CD is Drive 10 and has a serial number on the back side of the envelope. The power connectors can be used to connect the 120mm fan to the Giga board to allow the Giga to control and slow down the fan considerably. Instructions say that you do not have to do this, that you can leave the 120mm fan as OEM connected and I left it that way. Note also the two spacers in the plastic bag. They will be used later. The instructions are in color and on both sides of a heavy sheet.


    Pic below is of the OEM heatsink. Note how tall it is. 2 of the 4 Phillips screws for removing it are at the bottom, the upper two are obsured by the fins. On the lower right, just that one screw, don't mess with any other screws on that assembly. Save the screws for later.


    Pic below is the OEM CPU board. Between the two holes on the right you can see where the board connects to the mobo. Note the three silver spacers on the lower and upper left and the upper right. Those are where you unscrewed 3 of the 4 Phillips screws to remove the OEM heatsink. On the right, the entire assembly is still there. All that was removed was that 1 screw.


    This pic below is the real key to the operation of removing the OEM CPU board and installing the GigaBump. Don't mess with the black rail on the left. It is a frame that either CPU board slides into and out of. Raise the opposite end of the board, the right side, to disconnect the board from the mobo. Then continue to raise the board while pulling toward the right. Note that I have already partially raised the board and disconnected it from the mobo and the board has already partially slid out of the black rail.


    What could be easier. Following the instructions for the GigaBump, turn it over and remove the protective cap from the connector, then turn it right side up and spread apart those bracket fingers on the upper and lower right, angle the GigaBump right side up, slide it part way into the black rail and lower the GigaBump while continuing to slide left until the board contacts the mobo connector. Then once lowered and in the black rail all the way, push down on the right side of the assembly to mate the board with the mobo. You will hear and feel the the connection to the mobo is made. Those two spacers in the plastic bag slide over the OEM spacers on the left side. Screw the GigaBump down with the 4 screws you saved.


    Just another view of the GigaBump. Note its much lower profile.


    All of this is in the instructions. I did amplify somewhat on the CPU board removal and GigaBump installation. Big temptation to mess with the black rail or the other screws on the right side assembly.

    The much lower profile of the upgrade allows much more air to pass from the 120mm fan, between the upgrade and the vertical double drive bay, and out the back. I also cannot hear the Giga fan. The entire inside, the PCI slot area, the CPU area, and the vertical and horizontal drive bays are all much cooler. What could be finer, a well engineered upgrade. k

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Some tests tho the GigaBump has not burned in yet.

    All of these tests with GF4ti running 21" CRT monitor at 1152x870 at millions, 10.3.7 whereas OEM tests were 10.3.3.

    CINEBENCH 2003 v1
    ************************************************** **
    Tester : kyum

    Processor : G4-1.42 DP
    MHz : 1420
    Number of CPUs : 2
    Operating System : 10.3.7

    Graphics Card : GF4ti
    Resolution : <1152x870>
    Color Depth : <Millions>
    ************************************************** **
    Rendering (Single CPU): 134 CB-CPU, OEM 120 CB-CPU
    Rendering (Multiple CPU): 247 CB-CPU, OEM 221 CB-CPU

    Multiprocessor Speedup: 1.84

    Shading (CINEMA 4D) : 165 CB-GFX, OEM 149 CB-GFX
    Shading (OpenGL Software Lighting) : 457 CB-GFX, OEM 423 CB-GFX
    Shading (OpenGL Hardware Lighting) : 914 CB-GFX, OEM 892 CB-GFX

    OpenGL Speedup: 5.55
    ************************************************** **

    Altivec Fractal Carbon 1.2
    ************************************************** **
    1.2 sec, 11110.4MF, OEM 1.5 sec, 8912.7MF
    ************************************************** **

    Xbench 1.1.3
    ************************************************** **
    201.50, OEM 194.30
    ************************************************** ** k

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    On the way to Xbench, with all of its warts, I made a few discoveries. First my RAM, in adding a new 512MB Crucial to my existing two sticks of Crucial (before MacGurus started selling RAM) and one OEM Samsung, I discovered that the Memory Tests and RAM Disk tests were significantly slower with GigaBump than my previous Apple CPUs tests. Turns out the new Crucial stick is slower than the other memory. Also discovered, as far as Xbench is concerned, the RAM is accessed from slots J21, J22, and J23 before J20. So moving the new Crucial to J20 restored the Memory Tests and Disk Tests RAM Disk.

    The second discovery is that, given that Xbench is long in the tooth for G4s at least, running Xbench in 10.3.3 (my original Xbench tests were that OS before GigaBump) gave much better results.

    10.3.7 - 201.50 Giga 1.42GHz DP
    10.3.3 - 206.10 Giga
    10.3.3 - 194.30 Apple 1.25GHz DP

    This Giga is still burning in so every bench test should get faster but I have had enough of Xbench and 10.3.3. k

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Giga's Orchard
    Posts
    56

    Default

    Thanks for the awesome posts Kaye - where else can you find this quality other than the Guru's!!!!
    Jason Wolf
    Mac Technologist
    Giga Designs / Waypoint Dist.
    _________ _____ ____ ___ __ _

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,352

    Default

    Hello,

    I have some questions about this upgrade, maybe someone can answer them.

    A friend of mine has a MDD Dual 867 he OCed it to 1GHz running at 133MHz Bus now he wants my CPU board cuz the 867 board died yesterday.
    I thought my card would run at fixed at a 6x multyplierer so he would get only 798MHz right?

    I would buy one immediately if:

    1. it could be set for 133 and 167 Bus speeds.
    When faster upgrades hit the market I can sell it to all MDD users not only to someone with a MDD with the same bus speed.

    2. no drivers or firmware changes needed.

    3. it is available in Germany for a fair price. Example:
    The cheapest dealer in Germany wants 750 Euros!!! for the G-Celerator DUAL 1.33 GHz for 133 MHz G4s. The MDD upgrade is not yet listed.

    4. the CPU's are not being OCed 1.2GHz ones. But I think that is the same ol Moto thing, they can not deliver 1.4GHz CPU's at a good price.

    Most of my friends that have a MDD have the Single or the lower Dual models (like me, that is the price if you want something brand new and not waiting for a Rev. 2) and they can't make the switch to a only OSX running G5.

    It's like at work we bought 2 Canon CLC's 3220 and while in OS9
    everything is fine, in X we have serious problems getting PS errors also,
    with the film/plate setters (Agfa Avantra 44) not metioned the 2 scanners (Agfa XY15 and Heidelberg Tango) .

    Best Regards

    Nicolas

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Hi Nicolas,

    I'm rushing this because I have several appointments before I can get back to the forums.
    A friend of mine has a MDD Dual 867 he OCed it to 1GHz running at 133MHz Bus now he wants my CPU board cuz the 867 board died yesterday.
    I thought my card would run at fixed at a 6x multyplierer so he would get only 798MHz right?
    This one I don't know, maybe Jason does.
    1. it could be set for 133 and 167 Bus speeds.
    When faster upgrades hit the market I can sell it to all MDD users not only to someone with a MDD with the same bus speed.
    There are 2 tables in the instructions for setting the 5 dip switch settings for both 167MHz and 133MHz MDDs. So yes, GigaBump works for both MDDs. I need to take a pic of that and one of the actual dip switches. There is also a jumper block but you are not to change those settings.
    2. no drivers or firmware changes needed.
    Right, no drivers or firmware issue.
    4. the CPU's are not being OCed 1.2GHz ones. But I think that is the same ol Moto thing, they can not deliver 1.4GHz CPU's at a good price.
    My recollection is that these are 1.25GHz OCed. In a rush now.
    Most of my friends that have a MDD have the Single or the lower Dual models (like me, that is the price if you want something brand new and not waiting for a Rev. 2) and they can't make the switch to a only OSX running G5.
    GigaBump runs just fine in OS9.2.2 (I don't use Classic) and as a dual. Minimum 9.2.2 is a requirement. k

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,352

    Default

    kaye,

    thank you for the informations, much appreciated.

    So, if I could get one in Germany I would buy it

    Do you know if the Gurus selling to Germany?

    Best Regards

    Nicolas

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Nicolas, what the Giga Designs website sez:
    Dual M Series 1.4GHz G4 Processor Upgrade Recommended for Mirror Drive Door PowerMacs
    * Multi-Voltage Board Design
    * Compatible with Mac OS 9.2.1, 9.2.2, 10.1.x, 10.2.x (Jaguar), & 10.3.x (Panther)
    * 3 Year Limited Warranty
    * Powered by two Motorola 1250MHz 7455 Processors
    * Tested at 1.42GHz for 167MHz bus MDD PowerMacs
    * Tested at 1.4GHz for 133MHz bus MDD PowerMacs
    * 256KB L2 Cache operating at the processor speed
    * 2MB L3 Cache operating at 1:6 the processor speed
    * Includes Copper Cooler

    And those caches are per CPU.

    I wanted to post the pics taking the shots outside but it is so windy I can't keep the instructions still. So this is the best I can do and I dumbed down the resolution to keep the size down as much as possible.


    Hope this not too dark.


    These are the dip settings for my MDD. The jumper block are stock settings and should not be changed without consultation with Giga Tech Support.

    The GigaBump is in stock at the Gurus store. Shipping policy details for international orders is here http://www.macgurus.com/info/storepolicy.php k

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    I ran the MDD all day recently with a full compliment of cards:
    ATI 9800ME-slot 1
    Acard 6885M-slot 2
    SeriTek/1S2-slot 3
    M-Audio Revolution 7.1-slot 4
    UL4D-slot 5

    I ran some continuous stuff while working outside and ran some Cinebench tests when I could come inside. It takes a long time to boot, getting past the spinning gear while all of the addresses are being polled for the Acard, SeriTek, and UL4D.

    The 9800 shows some improvement with 10.3.7 in Cinebench compared to the GF4ti.

    Temperatures, I was trying to kill two birds with one stone and give Jason Wolfe some info on my box with 400W PS, original 120mm fan, and 9800 and a full compliment of cards including UL4D with its max operating temp of 45C and with UL4D in the worst slot for cooling, slot 5 with no open slot covers and no fan installed (my own kludge) to cool the PCI slots.

    Worst case was 41.5C at a room temp of 26.5C. I love it. I would sometimes hear the 120mm fan spool up a bit but still very quiet compared to the old CPUs and aluminum heatsink. I don't know what is controlling that fan because unlike the OEM CPU board, the Giga does not have a CPU temp reporting chip. The fan itself must have its own temp sensor. k

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Those Cinebench results posted to another thread:

    I ran some tests on my GigaBump MDD comparing my previous GF4ti with 10.3.7 and the 9800ME with 10.3.7. First a couple of considerations:

    The GF4ti has been out much longer so its software has had more time to be tweaked. And the 9800 will definitely add heat to the box. Even tho it is a shorter card, it is a hotter card and for me adds 5-6C inside, blowing directly on the RAM and CPU heatsink. Results are a mixed bag in 3D too.


    CINEBENCH 2003 v1
    **************************************************
    Tester : kyum

    Processor : G4-1.42 DP
    MHz : 1420
    Number of CPUs : 2
    Operating System : 10.3.7

    Graphics Card : GF4ti, 9800
    Resolution : <1152x870>
    Color Depth : < Millions >
    **************************************************
    Rendering (Single CPU): GF4ti-134 CB-CPU, 9800-134
    Rendering (Multiple CPU): GF4ti-247 CB-CPU, 9800-248

    Multiprocessor Speedup: GF4ti-1.84, 9800-1.85

    Shading (CINEMA 4D) : GF4ti-165 CB-GFX, 9800-164
    Shading (OpenGL Software Lighting) : GF4ti-457 CB-GFX, 9800-443
    Shading (OpenGL Hardware Lighting) : GF4ti-914 CB-GFX, 9800-931

    OpenGL Speedup: GF4ti-5.55, 9800-5.68

    Tiger will make use of the 9800's features. http://www.apple.com/macosx/tiger/core.html at the bottom of the page on the right, Core Image is not supported by the GF4ti if that is even important. k

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    The MacGurus Store now has three DP CPU upgrades to GigaBump an MDD http://www.macgurus.com/productpages...rades/Giga.php k

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    94

    Default

    double post

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    94

    Default

    i should get my 1,4 upgrade tomorrow

    1 question

    the black rail ...... should nothing touch it like a desktop etc... or just human hands ?

    also one more ....

    after I wait awhile and make sure the cpu runs good is there a market for the old cpu ? I have a g3 can I put it in there ?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    I don't understand your question about the black rail so let me describe it in more detail. It is plastic and its function is to hold the CPU board in position as well as help guide the CPU board when you lower it onto the CPU connector underneath. The rail is slotted on the CPU board side so that the board slides into the slot.

    The market for the old CPU board AFAIK would be for an MDD. And the bus of your MDD would have to be the same speed, either 167MHz or 133MHz. Giga Tech Support would know for sure. k

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    94

    Default

    I was confused I thought it was on the cpu board and not the mother board

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    OK, I understand your question. Yes the black rail is attached to the mobo. k

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    55

    Default Took the plunge...

    I ordered the upgrade for my DP 867 MDD last week. I have the 133 bus machine. I left the new processor OC'ed to 1.4 ghz.

    No heat sensors in the new processors I learned -- so I haven't been able to monitor heat inside the box other than the smart drive temps.

    Is there any way I can install a kit to read CPU temp?

    Been running the new processor for about a week really putting it through it's paces. Photoshop, Quark (via classic), Illustrator, etc.

    Plus a host of high end games. I'm really pleased. The ol' girl is very fast.
    I bought a 1.5 ghz powerbook a few months ago and it was starting to annoy me that it could crunch graphic files faster than my MDD.

    With the DP my desktop is a blur. In fact one of my G5-owner (SP) buddies was over the day left depressed because it appeared to him my MDD runs a bit faster. Can't be sure until we compare xbench notes.

    I only have one small complaint -- and it' s possible it's not the upgraded processor's fault. My favorite new mac game is Rise of Nations. Runs rock solid on my powerbook (and for everyone else from what I can tell). But it crashes to desktop on my upgraded MDD. I suspect the over-clocking is causing the problem.

    Then again maybe my stock Geforce4 MX video card?

    I haven't bothered sleuthing the problem (yet).

    Next thing I want to do is upgrade the AGP video card on my machine (I have a PCI card also and have two monitors).

    Can anyone recommend a new graphics card? I want one that will be compatible with Tiger when it comes out. I'd like to go with a 128 meg card.

    Anyway, I'm loving the new 1.4 upgrade. I'm feeling confident enough that I put my old processor (the DP 867) up on eBay.

    I'm going to put that money toward a new video card.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    Jollybgood,

    Welcome to the MacGurus Forums and thanks for your observations. Did you find the foldout instructions accurate? I am trying to keep Giga Tech Support up to date on any errors. I found none to complain about with my installation but there is a report on the xlr8yourmac DB of the switch settings being reversed for his MDD. Both Giga and I cannot figure that one out.

    My only complaint which I voiced to Giga was the lack of a CPU temp monitor chip on the CPU board. Both yours and my old CPU board have that chip, in my case in the upper center of the CPU board. I use a Radio Shack digital indoor/outdoor thermometer with the outdoor temperature probe inside the MDD. Numerous models, the model I have also has a memory so that I can select the highest and lowest readings and those can be reset. Highest readings would of course be after shutdown as temps inside the MDD rise until air convection from the 4 holes in the front start to have an effect.

    Since all of your apps run well and it is only Rise of Nations which plays well on your other Mac, maybe the game is corrupted and needs to be reinstalled. Or perhaps permissions need repairing in Disk Utility.

    Right now the best video card is the ATI 9800 Mac Edition, a 2x/4x with 128MB. The price recently came down and BareFeats has been tracking best prices, around $240 I think and it will be compatible with Tiger and its new feature, Core Image. My GF4ti was not on the list for Core Image until Apple removed the list of graphics cards that support it. Still the GF4ti will run Tiger without Core Image. You may want to wait on a new card until the list reappears or until we find out whether Core Image is important. Of course, if important and the Nvidia cards won't do it, then I suppose those ATI prices will increase with demand. My 2 cents. k

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Thanks for the welcome.

    I found the documentation to be excellent. Especially for a first-timer. I was bit nervous tampering with the processor. The full color photos/text took me step by step. I read that review about the dip switch photo being upside down. Seemed like a no-brainer to me. There was a red banner saying "Note: Your dip switch may be aligned differently".

    Maybe they added that on later. At any rate I didn't know what I was doing and it all came out good so the instructions were more than adequate.

    Yeah I may hold off on a new video card until need dicatates I upgrade. I'll probably wait til after Tiger is out and see what the winds indicate. Thanks for the advice.

    Never occured to me to reinstall the game. I'll try that. I just assumed since it was a fresh install everyting was in order. I did repair permissions but I didn't spend much time trying to problem solve it.

    Hopefully I can do some detective work this weekend and track down the problem.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    OK, I have the same note but in black. So Giga must have made a change. k

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •