Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Serious Problem w/ External HD

Exclamation Serious Problem w/ External HD

Well this is my 1st post here at Mac Guru's. Hopefully you guys can help me. Today I was consolidating my iTunes Library to my External Hardrive. In the middle of it my computer completely froze. I was forced to power off my powerbook by holding down the power button. When I turned the computer back on, the external would no longer mount. An error message popped up saying the drive/disc inserted had volumes that Mac OS can not read. I went to Disk Utilities and Verify/Repaired Disk. It came up with this.

1.Catalog file entry not found for extent. "in red"
    2.Volume check failed.

Im extremely worried because I have over 50 gigs of Pro Tools, Photoshop, Final Cut Pro, iPhoto, Basically EVERYTHING! Im very new to mac, and very worried. Someone please please help me.

Powerbook G4 867 MHZ 512 RAM.MAC OSX 10.2.8. OWC ELITE EXTERNAL HD 7200RPM OXFORD 911

Thumbs up Welcome to Gurus the best of mac

I suggest you go out and get a copy of Disc Warrior. This is somethin internal.
    It could be the block containing the mount fork went bad. If this is true the you may need to reinitialize the disc. How is this External disc connected to your PB?

You had no back up? Well DiskWarrior really is the best utility. Don't trust Norton. What if any trouble shooting software do you have now? Just the 1 drive in the computer and the External drive? There are some shareware utilities also. version tracker.com

DiskWarrior http://www.alsoft.com/DiskWarrior/ you can search it out on the web for a better price.

Randy

What type of connectors are you using? - Randy

A amazon search here for DiskWarrior here http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/AS...972606-1903864 It's saved a lot of peoples buns.

Randy

FireWire drives in particular don't like to have the plug pulled or power while writing and more likely to suffer catalogue and volume problems such as in this case.