Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: purchasing RAM - where?

Well, I am going to go ahead and get the RAM I need, just can't wait indefinitely for the gurus store (sorry). I am torn between Other World Computing (supporting the xlr8yourmac site) or Crucial (they seem to really make a strong case for their quality control and claim everyone else at lower prices are selling the left overs and rejects). Can anyone support the justification to pay so much more for RAM from a distributor like Crucial or can I trust in the OWC Lifetime Guarantee?
    thanks.
    (sure wish the gurus site would open tomorrow)

If you are talking about RAM for a Vintage Mac, OWC, otherwise, Crucial for SDRAM or DDR.

tm311's thoughts are ... as long as he can send things back RMA... he purchases the cheaper RAM and keeps sending things back till things work...

HUH?? *LOL* those are MY thoughts? Me thinks you might have me confused with another poster...I am no expert when it comes to buying ram.
    I have bought from OWC and had no problems though..FWIW. I have also bought from crucial and had no problems.

Have installed lots (like, say 100?) sticks from Crucial in the last 2 years in various Macs that have been shipped all over US - and a few to England. These are work machines - mostly imacs - so returns are a bad thing, cracking them repeatedly is a bad thing, and downtime is a very bad thing. Never one problem yet with Crucial RAM.

Can't speak to OWC for memory as I have not purchased any, but from all I have read and learned, cheap RAM can be problematic over time. I don't know if OWC memory is "cheap" RAM or not, but I am not willing to find out by trial and error. Perhaps you have confidence in their quality, or don't mind testing the quality yourself... Other products I have seen from them have been just fine.

I always thought Crucial prices were reasonable...I guess I don't shop enough. Personally, I'll give em a couple % to never have to think about it again.