Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: raid software - 040 based machines

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    Posts
    230

    Default

    title pretty much says it all. anybody know what and where one might acquire raid software for 040 based cpu's running OS8.1?

    i know, i know... don't ask. i feel the need to tinker.

    thanks
    kj

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    936

    Default

    Huh....no.

    I know Apple RAID needs a powerPC to run. SoftRAID won't do it either.

    Not sure what all you can use from here, but ... http://www.macworld.com/1994/10/news/1093.html .

    I will keep looking.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    kj,

    Take a look here for FWB RAID http://www.fwb.com/ts/hdt/matrix.html

    Charismac RAID (formerly Anubis RAID) check here http://charismac.com/Support/systemcomp.html

    I guess the question is, can you find one of these old versions, or, in the case of Charismac RAID, is the latest version compatible with an 040 mnachine and OS8.1? k

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Campbell, CA, USA
    Posts
    732

    Default

    Hey, Dogstarman, are you an Experimental Cinema buff? Only time I've come across 'Dog Star Man' was in an Experimental Cinema Criticism class back in '75. Brakhage did some strange, nearly psychedelic mind-bending in that one!

    (Sorry I haven't got anything constructive to pitch into the discussion -- I just sorta rocked back when I saw your handle!)

    Jazzbo

    [This message has been edited by Jazzbo (edited 21 August 2002).]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    936

    Default

    Well, yes. But the name initially came from a college affinity with Meat Beat Manifesto (a group of entertaining musical folk). But Stan Brackhage is an amazing man. One of my favorites is "The Act of Seeing With One's Own Eyes". Pretty obscure reference....kudos to you!

    On a different note, All that I can find about RAID SW tells about its OS8.1 compatibility...but nothing about having a 68k processor. This could be an interesting challenge.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    936

    Default

    Let me clarify....Meat Beat Manifesto has a song entitled "Dog Star Man". There...much better.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    Posts
    230

    Default

    speedy replies... nice!

    kaye, i have talked to charismac support and they don't have anything lying around to offer. as for FWB, HDT3 is the first version incorporating raid. before that was RaidToolbox. unfortunately i missed an ebay auction for HDT3 nib - only $12.

    i've done searches for Remus, Joule Raid, Anubis Raid, Charismac, and HDT. the only one i've had luck finding is HDT.

    perhaps we have a challenge here.

    since this is for an old Centris650 this may be more trouble than it's worth. my damn need to tinker. i suppose i could swap mobo's and go to a 7100 and use softraid, but that seems like cheating.

    kj

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    SoftRAID won't work on a NuBus PowerMac (PCI only) unless they have resurrected an old version of Apple RAID, I think it was called. k

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    SoftRAID sez this http://www.softraid.com/compfaqs.lasso#Q9 so maybe there is a way but not with a NuBus SCSI card. I also just looked, have HDT v2.06 but, as you say no RAID separate package, then jump to v4 with RAID included but does not work on your box. k

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    Posts
    230

    Default

    thanks kaye,

    i didn't see that about softraid. i did go back to charismac's page for one last look. they state on their supported hardware page the fwb jackhammer. i put in another post to their support crew. we'll see what they say.

    kj

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    936

    Default

    If you want to try Apple RAID, I've got versions 1.0.2, 1.1.1 and 1.5.3 , but they all say they require a PowerPC, but you are more than welcome to ask me for a burned copy of the SW for...ummm...evaluation. Otherwise, I am drawing a blank on help.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    Hey Kjay,

    ?I still have the FWB HDT 2.0.6 on floppies. I don't own a working floppy drive so I have no idea if it will do what you want it to. If you find out that it can build your 040 raid I'm happy to survey the disks to you.

    Rick

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    Posts
    230

    Default

    thanks for all the help.

    this one was quite a battle. i just got a reply from lacie tech support...

    Thanks for contacting LaCie Technical Support. Silverlining 6.4.5a will work with any processor--it is pur 68k code. It is recommended you have 8.6 or newer, but you should not see any problems with 8.1 except maybe some display issues. If you have this version and see problems, we can always back you up to a slightly earlier version which will support back to OS 7.5, but still have HFS+ support.
    --
    Regards,
    Technical Support

    looks like this may be the thing.

    Ricks - thanks for the offer. raid didn't show up in HDT until v.3.
    Dogstarman - I might take you up on that offer. I'm not sure if i want to upgrade the mobo. i'm kinda interested in seeing what that little 040 can do. I actually stumbled across a website where a dude ugraded a PM7100 with dual ATTO SEIV's. according to his screen shots he was haulin ass. ofcourse it was all in japanese.

    thanks again everybody
    kj

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,044

    Default

    I have a copy of HDT3 if you want to go that route
    Dave

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    Posts
    230

    Default

    hey Dave,

    thanks for the offer. Is it the PE version or the full HDT?

    Only the full version had any sort of raid capability. I'd be interested if it's the full deal.

    thanks
    kj

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Posts
    936

    Default

    Hey there,

    I was going through all my Mac CD's and there's a full version of HDToolkit 3.0 with user's guide and serial number. I forgot I used it a few years ago to stripe some old Cudas. The cool thing about the CD is that it is a bootable Mac OS CD. And right there in its requirements page is this:

    "Mac OS version 7.5.3 or later
    Any model of Mac with at least a 68030 processor"

    So there you go. If you want the CD and/or the AppleRAID to tinker with, email me privately and we can arrange it for the cost of shipping.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •