Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: OS X - OS9 RAID

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Nashotah, WI, USA
    Posts
    85

    Default

    ...need a little help.

    I have Dual 800's that are all running OS 9.2.2 off the stock ATA drive.
    I also have a second ATA that has been formated and running OS X.
    The 800's also have scratch disks as follows:
    RAID 0
    2 internal - X15 Cheetahs and an ATTO ExpressPCI ProUL3D

    Everything is runs great under OS 9.2.2

    The Problem: When you reboot from the OS X drive the scratch disks go buh bye.

    The Question: How do I see the RAID's from both OS X and OS 9

    The Answer: ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Virginia... where one Democrat CAN make a difference
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    The answer

    You don't (sorry)

    BUT WAIT!!

    Softraid is coming soon and it is supposed to do that!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Grangeville, ID USA
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    Hey FT

    Where the ell ya been? Good to see you posting again.

    I just heard that SoftRAID may not have cross OS compatibility, booo. You can get your RAID cross OS now with ATTO ExpressStripe. I am not too impressed with the finished feel of ExpressSttripe but it is cross OS for sure.

    attotech.com, I think it costs around $30 .

    Rick

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Virginia... where one Democrat CAN make a difference
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    Hey Rick

    I read that PR on Softraid and the way it was worded was the the Softraid app will be either for OS X or OS 9 but not both. The wording did not mention anything about the driver itself so there might be a slim hope there

    In the past Softraid has been known for having the driver work perfectly but having the app break under an OS update so maybe....... (ever the optimist, thats me)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Nashotah, WI, USA
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Hello,

    Thanks for the tip. Once again the Gurus come through.

    As for where the ell I been.

    I've been mesmorized by iTunes visuals playing simultaneously
    on 8 - 22" cinema displays.

    These dual 800's have been flawless. My new giga network is crankin through data faster than an Arthur Anderson shredder goes through Enron documents.

    Life is good!

    Thanks again,
    FrozenTundra

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Mobius Strip
    Posts
    13,045

    Default

    Someone wanting to push more data, ATTO announced production of their Ul4D cards. Not sure who wants to be the guinea pig bleeding edge on first revision, but true Ultra320 with some new tricks up its sleeve...
    http://www.attotech.com/press/pressattolsi.html

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    7,056

    Default

    I looked on the ATTO store and they don't show the UL4D. Maybe someone needs to tell ATTO to ship some to their store. k

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •